Siasia claims agent offered N91m to include Mikel in the squad for the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games
Re: Siasia claims agent offered N91m to include Mikel in the squad for the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games
Players don’t generally offer money. But if you think agents don’t, you don’t know sports. Agents do whatever they think would enhance their players status, and that includes, if need be, bribery - especially in the Nigerian context.felarey wrote: ↑Tue Jul 01, 2025 5:30 pm Don't see why Mikel would offer money to join that team. Sidelining players that didn't take part in the qualifiers was a stupid policy in the first place. No reason for it unless there's an impact to team dynamics. This is the type of policy that drives corruption while claiming fairness.
Re: Siasia claims agent offered N91m to include Mikel in the squad for the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games
Siasia is not making sense. Is that not exactly what he did in 2016?iworo wrote: ↑Tue Jul 01, 2025 2:40 pm 'He wasn't a starter at Chelsea' - Siasia claims agent offered N91m to include Mikel
Former Nigeria U23 coach Samson Siasia has revealed that he rejected a €50,000 (approximately ₦91 million based on current exchange rates) bribe offer from John Obi Mikel's agent to include the midfielder in the squad for the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games, claiming the former Chelsea star refused to participate in the qualifiers.
Siasia did not name Mikel's agent but it is known that UK-based Nigerian intermediary John Shittu was managing the former Super Eagles captain at the time of the incident.
Nigeria faced the risk of missing out on the 2008 Olympic Games and needed at least a draw against a star-studded Black Meteors side to stay in contention.
Siasia has claimed that Mikel turned down an invitation to travel with the Dream Team to Accra for the crucial clash against Ghana, alleging the midfielder was a benchwarmer at Chelsea.
However, that narrative doesn't align with the facts as Mikel had started four consecutive Premier League matches before the showdown with the Black Meteors, and another five immediately after the qualifier.
Siasia explained that Mikel was not part of the team during the crucial Olympic qualifying campaign and only showed interest in joining the squad once qualification was secured.
Speaking to Elegbete TV Sports, Siasia said: "Mikel's agent called that Mikel cannot come and he wasn't a starter at Chelsea then, he was on the bench.
Ahead of the Olympics proper, Mikel's camp made an effort to get him included in the final squad for the competition in China."I told him we only had one game against Ghana to play – please come and help us.
"I said if he doesn't come, he won’t go anywhere. But Mikel refused to come, saying he was playing in Chelsea.
"Then we went to Ghana and played a draw. They brought Asamoah Gyan, they needed that win.
"Nothing happened, we played very well, at the end of the day 0-0, we qualified."
Nigeria went on to win silver at the Beijing Games, with Siasia leading a squad that impressed en route to the final, where they narrowly lost to Lionel Messi's Argentina."Going to the Olympics, Mikel wants to come and play. His agent said he would give me €50,000 so Mikel should play.
"I said it’s not about €50,000. He didn’t play the qualifiers, so I will take out someone that qualified us and bring you in? It won’t happen. That’s why Mikel didn’t go," Siasia added.
https://www.allnigeriasoccer.com/read_n ... ?nid=56178
He is talking about 2008, Mikels career was just starting then.packerland wrote: ↑Tue Jul 01, 2025 2:49 pm O’boy
This thing Sia Sia is doing is not good. Sometimes our local coaches don't know when to shut up and when to speak up. Even if this allegation is true, how does it help him since he's coming off FIFA’s ban due to corruption? He will lose in the court of public opinion because it will look like he's using Mikel to clean up his image. He better have proof of this allegation. And yes, Mikel's career was at the end before the Olympics, but that doesn't prove anything.
I don't get your point? What does the article prove? Even if this really happened, did you expect Mikel to say" My agent even offered my coach 50k so that I can play in the Olympics "Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Tue Jul 01, 2025 3:05 pm again another rubbish from elegbe, this is a fake story, 2008 Olympics, ain't no 2016 Olympics
Nigerians are funny folks, FYI there are always two sides to a story. I do not get how folks do make a conclusion after hearing only one side of the story. Elegbe is trying so hard to be relevant . terrible individual
https://www.skysports.com/football/news ... ympic-snub
- TonyTheTigerKiller
Abeg help me explain it to him. If Siasia is telling the truth then one can only conclude that he must have accepted a bribe to include Mikel in his 2016 Olympic squad; otherwise, why did he take the same player he rejected 8 years previously even though he was offered a bribe… and if my memory serves me right, Mikel did not play the 2016 olympic qualifiers either. Like you said, it just doesn’t make any kind of sense but the iworos of CE want to run with that preposterous narrative anywaygochino wrote: ↑Wed Jul 02, 2025 4:59 amSiasia is not making sense. Is that not exactly what he did in 2016?iworo wrote: ↑Tue Jul 01, 2025 2:40 pm 'He wasn't a starter at Chelsea' - Siasia claims agent offered N91m to include Mikel
Former Nigeria U23 coach Samson Siasia has revealed that he rejected a €50,000 (approximately ₦91 million based on current exchange rates) bribe offer from John Obi Mikel's agent to include the midfielder in the squad for the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games, claiming the former Chelsea star refused to participate in the qualifiers.
Siasia did not name Mikel's agent but it is known that UK-based Nigerian intermediary John Shittu was managing the former Super Eagles captain at the time of the incident.
Nigeria faced the risk of missing out on the 2008 Olympic Games and needed at least a draw against a star-studded Black Meteors side to stay in contention.
Siasia has claimed that Mikel turned down an invitation to travel with the Dream Team to Accra for the crucial clash against Ghana, alleging the midfielder was a benchwarmer at Chelsea.
However, that narrative doesn't align with the facts as Mikel had started four consecutive Premier League matches before the showdown with the Black Meteors, and another five immediately after the qualifier.
Siasia explained that Mikel was not part of the team during the crucial Olympic qualifying campaign and only showed interest in joining the squad once qualification was secured.
Speaking to Elegbete TV Sports, Siasia said: "Mikel's agent called that Mikel cannot come and he wasn't a starter at Chelsea then, he was on the bench.
Ahead of the Olympics proper, Mikel's camp made an effort to get him included in the final squad for the competition in China."I told him we only had one game against Ghana to play – please come and help us.
"I said if he doesn't come, he won’t go anywhere. But Mikel refused to come, saying he was playing in Chelsea.
"Then we went to Ghana and played a draw. They brought Asamoah Gyan, they needed that win.
"Nothing happened, we played very well, at the end of the day 0-0, we qualified."
Nigeria went on to win silver at the Beijing Games, with Siasia leading a squad that impressed en route to the final, where they narrowly lost to Lionel Messi's Argentina."Going to the Olympics, Mikel wants to come and play. His agent said he would give me €50,000 so Mikel should play.
"I said it’s not about €50,000. He didn’t play the qualifiers, so I will take out someone that qualified us and bring you in? It won’t happen. That’s why Mikel didn’t go," Siasia added.
Overage players do not play qualifiers, only the tournament proper.TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: ↑Wed Jul 02, 2025 6:20 amAbeg help me explain it to him. If Siasia is telling the truth then one can only conclude that he must have accepted a bribe to include Mikel in his 2016 Olympic squad; otherwise, why did he take the same player he rejected 8 years previously even though he was offered a bribe… and if my memory serves me right, Mikel did not play the 2016 olympic qualifiers either. Like you said, it just doesn’t make any kind of sense but the iworos of CE want to run with that preposterous narrative anywaygochino wrote: ↑Wed Jul 02, 2025 4:59 amSiasia is not making sense. Is that not exactly what he did in 2016?iworo wrote: ↑Tue Jul 01, 2025 2:40 pm 'He wasn't a starter at Chelsea' - Siasia claims agent offered N91m to include Mikel
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
- TonyTheTigerKiller
True but Siasia’s main excuse for not taking Mikel back in 2008 was that he couldn’t exclude those who played qualifiers in favor of one who didn’t but now in 2016, he included Mikel at the expense of those who played the qualifiers. Can’t you see he’s just making things up as he goes alongLolly wrote: ↑Wed Jul 02, 2025 2:54 pmOverage players do not play qualifiers, only the tournament proper.TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: ↑Wed Jul 02, 2025 6:20 amAbeg help me explain it to him. If Siasia is telling the truth then one can only conclude that he must have accepted a bribe to include Mikel in his 2016 Olympic squad; otherwise, why did he take the same player he rejected 8 years previously even though he was offered a bribe… and if my memory serves me right, Mikel did not play the 2016 olympic qualifiers either. Like you said, it just doesn’t make any kind of sense but the iworos of CE want to run with that preposterous narrative anywaygochino wrote: ↑Wed Jul 02, 2025 4:59 amSiasia is not making sense. Is that not exactly what he did in 2016?iworo wrote: ↑Tue Jul 01, 2025 2:40 pm 'He wasn't a starter at Chelsea' - Siasia claims agent offered N91m to include Mikel
People like me demand proof, not because we do not know it happens, but because we want to see those individuals behind it exposed. It is also because some of us do not want one innocent person smeared because of an admittedly rampant practice.iworo wrote: ↑Tue Jul 01, 2025 4:01 pm I honestly don’t care much about Siasia or Mikel in this context. What truly stands out for me is the growing confirmation that many of our players backed by their agents bribe their way into the national teams. This isn’t a new allegation, it's something that's been raised on this forum countless times. Yet, some people always demand “proof” dismissing it as conspiracy.
Now, with Siasia seemingly confirming what many suspected, it lends serious weight to those claims. He has nothing to lose at this point, his coaching career at the national level is effectively over, so it’s not surprising he’s speaking freely now.
Sadly, I wouldn't be shocked if this corrupt practice is still ongoing, perhaps now routed more discreetly through the NFF’s so-called technical committee. It's a disgrace. Instead of selecting players based on merit and form, selections are influenced by connections and backdoor deals. This not only damages our football but also crushes the dreams of truly talented players who never get a fair shot.
Until we address this rot head-on, Nigerian football will continue to underperform, no matter how much potential we have on paper.
I have never asked for proof of corruption as a whole in Nigerian football. I only have this old fashioned notion that we should not accuse specific individuals without proof.
Does this old fashioned notion apply to our politicians like Tinubi, Atiku, Akpabio and others?aruako1 wrote: ↑Wed Jul 02, 2025 6:40 pmPeople like me demand proof, not because we do not know it happens, but because we want to see those individuals behind it exposed. It is also because some of us do not want one innocent person smeared because of an admittedly rampant practice.iworo wrote: ↑Tue Jul 01, 2025 4:01 pm I honestly don’t care much about Siasia or Mikel in this context. What truly stands out for me is the growing confirmation that many of our players backed by their agents bribe their way into the national teams. This isn’t a new allegation, it's something that's been raised on this forum countless times. Yet, some people always demand “proof” dismissing it as conspiracy.
Now, with Siasia seemingly confirming what many suspected, it lends serious weight to those claims. He has nothing to lose at this point, his coaching career at the national level is effectively over, so it’s not surprising he’s speaking freely now.
Sadly, I wouldn't be shocked if this corrupt practice is still ongoing, perhaps now routed more discreetly through the NFF’s so-called technical committee. It's a disgrace. Instead of selecting players based on merit and form, selections are influenced by connections and backdoor deals. This not only damages our football but also crushes the dreams of truly talented players who never get a fair shot.
Until we address this rot head-on, Nigerian football will continue to underperform, no matter how much potential we have on paper.
I have never asked for proof of corruption as a whole in Nigerian football. I only have this old fashioned notion that we should not accuse specific individuals without proof.
It should not make sense that Mikel offered money to make that team. He was one of our best players at the time. Siasia is indicting himself with his foolish policy that excludes players that didn't play in the qualifying. This was a national team not a members only club. Mikel should have been amongst the first names on the list if available.deanotito wrote: ↑Wed Jul 02, 2025 4:16 amPlayers don’t generally offer money. But if you think agents don’t, you don’t know sports. Agents do whatever they think would enhance their players status, and that includes, if need be, bribery - especially in the Nigerian context.felarey wrote: ↑Tue Jul 01, 2025 5:30 pm Don't see why Mikel would offer money to join that team. Sidelining players that didn't take part in the qualifiers was a stupid policy in the first place. No reason for it unless there's an impact to team dynamics. This is the type of policy that drives corruption while claiming fairness.
Yes. However in their cases, you only need to look at the budgets they signed as governors, for instance, for proof that they presided over criminality. And before we go on a long debate about budgets, this is only one example. With our politicians I see the proof on a daily basis. With our players, I only see how they play on the pitch.Lolly wrote: ↑Wed Jul 02, 2025 7:58 pmDoes this old fashioned notion apply to our politicians like Tinubi, Atiku, Akpabio and others?aruako1 wrote: ↑Wed Jul 02, 2025 6:40 pmPeople like me demand proof, not because we do not know it happens, but because we want to see those individuals behind it exposed. It is also because some of us do not want one innocent person smeared because of an admittedly rampant practice.iworo wrote: ↑Tue Jul 01, 2025 4:01 pm I honestly don’t care much about Siasia or Mikel in this context. What truly stands out for me is the growing confirmation that many of our players backed by their agents bribe their way into the national teams. This isn’t a new allegation, it's something that's been raised on this forum countless times. Yet, some people always demand “proof” dismissing it as conspiracy.
If you see proof on a daily basis with the politicians, what about the "proof" of players like Bameyi being called up to the senior national team for his performances playing for Yum Yum FC, the club that is not playing in any registered league?aruako1 wrote: ↑Wed Jul 02, 2025 10:05 pmYes. However in their cases, you only need to look at the budgets they signed as governors, for instance, for proof that they presided over criminality. And before we go on a long debate about budgets, this is only one example. With our politicians I see the proof on a daily basis. With our players, I only see how they play on the pitch.Lolly wrote: ↑Wed Jul 02, 2025 7:58 pmDoes this old fashioned notion apply to our politicians like Tinubi, Atiku, Akpabio and others?aruako1 wrote: ↑Wed Jul 02, 2025 6:40 pmPeople like me demand proof, not because we do not know it happens, but because we want to see those individuals behind it exposed. It is also because some of us do not want one innocent person smeared because of an admittedly rampant practice.iworo wrote: ↑Tue Jul 01, 2025 4:01 pm I honestly don’t care much about Siasia or Mikel in this context. What truly stands out for me is the growing confirmation that many of our players backed by their agents bribe their way into the national teams. This isn’t a new allegation, it's something that's been raised on this forum countless times. Yet, some people always demand “proof” dismissing it as conspiracy.
I think you will find that I called it out. I think you will find that I have never asked for proof of the corruption of any of our recent NFF chairmen. With players or coaches, I'm more reluctant to accuse them because for the players, sometimes it might be their agents calling in a favour without their involvement. For coaches, it might be an imposition.Lolly wrote: ↑Thu Jul 03, 2025 11:51 amIf you see proof on a daily basis with the politicians, what about the "proof" of players like Bameyi being called up to the senior national team for his performances playing for Yum Yum FC, the club that is not playing in any registered league?aruako1 wrote: ↑Wed Jul 02, 2025 10:05 pmYes. However in their cases, you only need to look at the budgets they signed as governors, for instance, for proof that they presided over criminality. And before we go on a long debate about budgets, this is only one example. With our politicians I see the proof on a daily basis. With our players, I only see how they play on the pitch.Lolly wrote: ↑Wed Jul 02, 2025 7:58 pmDoes this old fashioned notion apply to our politicians like Tinubi, Atiku, Akpabio and others?aruako1 wrote: ↑Wed Jul 02, 2025 6:40 pmPeople like me demand proof, not because we do not know it happens, but because we want to see those individuals behind it exposed. It is also because some of us do not want one innocent person smeared because of an admittedly rampant practice.iworo wrote: ↑Tue Jul 01, 2025 4:01 pm I honestly don’t care much about Siasia or Mikel in this context. What truly stands out for me is the growing confirmation that many of our players backed by their agents bribe their way into the national teams. This isn’t a new allegation, it's something that's been raised on this forum countless times. Yet, some people always demand “proof” dismissing it as conspiracy.
Besides, sometimes a coach may actually just make an unpopular selection of a player he likes.
- danfo driver
Nigerians truly have no shame!

ohn Shittu, a FIFA-licensed football agent, has strongly denied allegations made by former Super Eagles coach Samson Siasia that he offered a €50,000 (approximately ₦91 million) bribe to secure John Mikel Obi’s place in Nigeria’s men’s football squad for the 2008 Beijing Olympics.
In a recent interview with Elegbete TV, Siasia alleged that Shittu, who managed Mikel throughout much of his career, 'said he would give me €50,000 so Mikel should play.'
Siasia explained that he turned down the alleged bribe because Mikel did not participate in the qualification matches.
"Mikel wasn’t a starter at Chelsea then, he was on the bench," Siasia said.
"I told him we only had one game against Ghana to play – please come and help us. I said if he doesn’t come, he won’t go anywhere. But Mikel refused to come, saying he was playing in Chelsea."
Siasia added: "Going to the Olympics, Mikel wants to come and play. His agent said he would give me €50,000 so Mikel should play.
"I said it’s not about €50,000. He didn’t play the qualifiers, so I will take out someone that qualified us and bring you in? It won’t happen. That’s why Mikel didn’t go."
Speaking to The Cable, Shittu dismissed the claims, revealing that Siasia had already reached out ‘to apologise for the comment.'
Shittu insisted: I am one of the most respected agents in the game" and made it clear, "I don’t deal with damaged people."
He further added, "as far as I am concerned, it’s a forgotten issue."
Despite Mikel Obi’s absence, the Nigerian team managed to win a silver medal at the men’s football event of the 2008 Olympics in Beijing.
In 2019, FIFA found Siasia guilty of having accepted that he would receive bribes in relation to the manipulation of matches, a violation of its code of ethics.
As a result, he was handed a life ban from all football-related activities along with a fine of 50,000 Swiss francs ($54,000).
The sanction was later reduced to a five-year ban by the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS).
Neither Mikel Obi nor the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has commented publicly on the bribery allegation.
Wale Adejumo
In a recent interview with Elegbete TV, Siasia alleged that Shittu, who managed Mikel throughout much of his career, 'said he would give me €50,000 so Mikel should play.'
Siasia explained that he turned down the alleged bribe because Mikel did not participate in the qualification matches.
"I told him we only had one game against Ghana to play – please come and help us. I said if he doesn’t come, he won’t go anywhere. But Mikel refused to come, saying he was playing in Chelsea."
Siasia added: "Going to the Olympics, Mikel wants to come and play. His agent said he would give me €50,000 so Mikel should play.
"I said it’s not about €50,000. He didn’t play the qualifiers, so I will take out someone that qualified us and bring you in? It won’t happen. That’s why Mikel didn’t go."
Speaking to The Cable, Shittu dismissed the claims, revealing that Siasia had already reached out ‘to apologise for the comment.'
Shittu insisted: I am one of the most respected agents in the game" and made it clear, "I don’t deal with damaged people."
Despite Mikel Obi’s absence, the Nigerian team managed to win a silver medal at the men’s football event of the 2008 Olympics in Beijing.
In 2019, FIFA found Siasia guilty of having accepted that he would receive bribes in relation to the manipulation of matches, a violation of its code of ethics.
As a result, he was handed a life ban from all football-related activities along with a fine of 50,000 Swiss francs ($54,000).
The sanction was later reduced to a five-year ban by the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS).
Neither Mikel Obi nor the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has commented publicly on the bribery allegation.
Wale Adejumo
afc##
See this brown envelope report that is trying to deflect attention away from the issue on to Siasia’s bribe conviction.chuks69 wrote: ↑Thu Jul 03, 2025 3:50 pm ohn Shittu, a FIFA-licensed football agent, has strongly denied allegations made by former Super Eagles coach Samson Siasia that he offered a €50,000 (approximately ₦91 million) bribe to secure John Mikel Obi’s place in Nigeria’s men’s football squad for the 2008 Beijing Olympics.
Wale Adejumo
See this brown envelope report that is trying to deflect attention away from the issue on to Siasia’s bribe conviction.chuks69 wrote: ↑Thu Jul 03, 2025 3:50 pm ohn Shittu, a FIFA-licensed football agent, has strongly denied allegations made by former Super Eagles coach Samson Siasia that he offered a €50,000 (approximately ₦91 million) bribe to secure John Mikel Obi’s place in Nigeria’s men’s football squad for the 2008 Beijing Olympics.
Wale Adejumo
Mikel is busy being a pundit , running his podcast, elegbetv and SSS are busing talking about airplanes from 15 years ago. levels
- danfo driver
That 50K that Siasia is weeping about, Mikel made more than 2x that amount when he appeared on DAZN 2 days ago. And made 5x that again on youtube and sponsorship yesterday when his podcast dropped! Kaching! Kaching!Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Thu Jul 03, 2025 4:50 pm Mikel is busy being a pundit , running his podcast, elegbetv and SSS are busing talking about airplanes from 15 years ago. levels

- TonyTheTigerKiller
I just can’t help smh when some people act like they know what they’re talking about but really don’t. Every single quality that JFH said he admires about Nicholas Jackson, Victor Osimhen obviously has more of. So, I can’t help but wonder why he’s so high on Jackson but isn’t convinced about Osimhen. Anyway, to each his ownBigpokey24 wrote: ↑Thu Jul 03, 2025 4:50 pm Mikel is busy being a pundit , running his podcast, elegbetv and SSS are busing talking about airplanes from 15 years ago. levels