Obi's Performance at Lyn Oslo

mke1010 wrote:Whatever you think of Lyn, Obi is being highly unprofessional. Acting like a spoilt brat is not going to benefit him in any way. Show up with a good attitude, work hard and things will work themselves out.
There is a reason FIFA ruled you must go back to Lyn. Suck it up and be a man. Like I have said on numerous occassions, Obi continues to display such conduct that will make it difficult for him to succeed at the next level.
Look at his peers Mesi and Fabregas. They are the epitomy of professionalism. Granted they are in more condusive situations but Obi, or should I say Shittu, is the one who refused to move to Manu.
Maybe their next plot is to force the termination of their contracts with Lyn by Andersen, we'll never know. Obi is already set to be benched. :(

FrostyZ

Post by FrostyZ »

furiously frank wrote:They are talking only to Al-Habsi 'cos he is the only player who could relate to what these guys are going through. Anderson played him too. NO Norwegian player can go through this...in actual fact Anderson has shipped out more Norwegian Lyn players to Europe since the boys joined the team than at any other times. All of them with lucrative deals and agents in tow.
I guess hey are talking with Al-Habsi because he will not tend to speak Norwegian. :D

When you say that Andersen has played Al-Habsi - what do you mean?. That's just a lie.

And that Andersen has sold "more players" to Europe with lucurative deals that's not even close to true. I cannot remember to hear anyone else than Mikel have being sold. Al-Habsi will leave for Bolton when his contract expires 1/1-2006. No other players have as far as I remember been sold
Why you?
FrostyZ

Post by FrostyZ »

LynOslo wrote:The guys are showing up late for training and are not giving 100%

Obi's been substituted the last 2 games, and hasn't been playing very good.

Edu's been impressing, and will probably start sunday's game, with Al-Habsi as goalkeeper, and the rule of only 2 non-EU players in each match squad, Obi will probably be watching the game with Bala in the stands.
I disagree that Obi didn't play well. I only saw his first game, but then he was "king of the field" for 30 minutes. Then he got tackled hard and bled from his toe. I can understand that he wasn't 100% afterwards.

I didn't see the 2nd game, but as I have understood it Lyn in general, not only Obi played way below what they use top.

And regarding showing up late -. that's only 2 practices isnt it?
Why you?
mke1010

Post by mke1010 »

Can you imagine how far Obi might have come had he just gone to Manu without wahala. A foolish head will always lead one to a downfall. Obi has not accomplished anything and is acting as if he is owed the world. He does not realize that as quickly as he shot to eminence so can he disappear.

Humility is essential to success. It is evident this boy is doing everything he can to blow his chance.
Let us be truthful here. Obi appeared at a News conference with Manu flashing teeth anyhow. Now he wants us to beleive he was deceived, kidnapped and manipulated. Dude get a grip. You are lucky to be blessed with talent. Stop being such a moron.

One question to LynOslo and FrostyZ. You guys claim to be merely fans of Lyn but you know when a player shows up late to training and exactly how many times. What time do the training sessions commence? Are they during the day when you should likely be at work or do you work at Lyn? Perhaps you have insiders that provide you with every little detail or you are actually insiders with inside knowledge. What's up! Not accusing you but I guess you should be giving us a hourly dosage of what's happening to our players there. :P

Yummy

Post by Yummy »

Lynfan wrote:After what I've been told are the players not trying too be a part of the team.
They have come late to practise several times now.
They are jogging 20 meters behind the rest of the players during warm-ups.
They are hardly talking to anyone else of their teammates except of Ali Al-Habsi.
They are sitting by them self when the team is eating lunch together.
And it has also been said that the fire in Mikel's eyes are gone. And this is by the guy that has been serving them lunch, so he used see Mikel once or twice a week before he left for England.
I believe clubs should learn from the Essien saga ............ If u push a player to the brink then they retaliate with the only thing they've got and that's below par performances or even other acts such as truancy etc
I also reckon that it's not in the best interest of soccer to hold a player against his or her will..........

Lyn have done this guy in and all we can talk about here is dishing out blames on the guy or his agent, lets face facts Sir Alex knows his pulled a fast one on Obi and realises it's just about to backfire and that's why he keeps going back to Oslo for negotiations.....

Whatever the case maybe , i am a strong advocate of players determining there own future, where they want to ply there trade & for which club...
mke1010

Post by mke1010 »

Yummy wrote:
Lynfan wrote:After what I've been told are the players not trying too be a part of the team.
They are hardly talking to anyone else of their teammates except of Ali Al-Habsi.
And it has also been said that the fire in Mikel's eyes are gone. And this is by the guy that has been serving them lunch, so he used see Mikel once or twice a week before he left for England.
I believe clubs should learn from the Essien saga ............ If u push a player to the brink then they retaliate with the only thing they've got and that's below par performances or even other acts such as truancy etc
I also reckon that it's not in the best interest of soccer to hold a player against his or her will..........

Lyn have done this guy in and all we can talk about here is dishing out blames on the guy or his agent, lets face facts Sir Alex knows his pulled a fast one on Obi and realises it's just about to backfire and that's why he keeps going back to Oslo for negotiations.....

Whatever the case maybe , i am a strong advocate of players determining there own future, where they want to ply there trade & for which club...
I agree with you that players should decide their future. However, clubs have rights too. If you sign a player, pay his wages and own his rights then the player must abide by club rules.
Secondly, Obi signed a contract after he turend 18 and was in majority age. He has not given any significant evidence to back up allegations that the contract he signed was contrary to his will at the time of agreement.

Simply changing one's mind has not been a basis for backing out of a contract. Especially in this case where both Lyn and Manu will suffer detriment due to their reliance on Obi. Obi needs to live with the consequences of his actions and stop looking to appoint blame elsewhere.
Catalyst

Post by Catalyst »

So you arrived at all of this from a just a second hand account from a fan - a fan who said he serves food?

You folks here are amazing.

I do not want to even start with Yujam - his case of weird jealousy or whatever anyone chooses to call it is is simply ludicrous. Some of us do not even know how to hide our bias.

Carry go.....
General Trousers wrote:This is terrible. You have to know who butters your bread and what goes around comes around. For instance my colleague at work has had to take all manner of time off during the year. She will call me at the last minute and say such and such has happened can you cover for me, and I am like cool. Now that I have a long vacation coming, she is totally cool for covering for me ... dissing someone of the calibre of SIR Alex will not go down well with the English FA regardless if you are Abrahmovic or not ... Shittu has sold these guys out ...

Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.

http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif
mke1010

Post by mke1010 »

Fegwu u dey house?
Catalyst

Post by Catalyst »

mke1010 wrote:Fegwu u dey house?
Yes....for Sharpstown area......what about you? It is kinda calm over here.
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.

Mudi E

Post by Mudi E »

FrostyZ wrote:

Edu's been impressing, and will probably start sunday's game, with Al-Habsi as goalkeeper, and the rule of only 2 non-EU players in each match squad, Obi will probably be watching the game with Bala in the stands.
I disagree that Obi didn't play well. I only saw his first game, but then he was "king of the field" for 30 minutes. Then he got tackled hard and bled from his toe. I can understand that he wasn't 100% afterwards.

I didn't see the 2nd game, but as I have understood it Lyn in general, not only Obi played way below what they use top.

And regarding showing up late -. that's only 2 practices isnt it?
From experience, if you have an animosity against oyimbo, they will downplay your performance no matter how well you play. They're looking to ridicle you and make you look bad.
Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions
Elexus

Post by Elexus »

It boils down to youthful rashness pure and simple. His behaviour plumbs the depths of stupidity. Who is Obi to blow raspberry at the richest club in the world?
Martin

Post by Martin »

This Norwegian newspaper:

http://www.dagbladet.no/pls/dbprod/fotb ... 4&pliga=82

gave Obi ratings of 5,8,4 and 7 in the 4 matches he played for Lyn in April and May of this year (before the U-20 World Cup) then Obi went missing from the club and in the two matches since his return they've given him ratings of 6 and 4.
Catalyst

Post by Catalyst »

Elexus wrote:It boils down to youthful rashness pure and simple. His behaviour plumbs the depths of stupidity. Who is Obi to blow raspberry at the richest club in the world?
So basically you are buying a second-hand hearsay?

I will say your message in the post above aptly fits you.

:roll:

Mudi E

Post by Mudi E »

Martin wrote:This Norwegian newspaper:

http://www.dagbladet.no/pls/dbprod/fotb ... 4&pliga=82

gave Obi ratings of 5,8,4 and 7 in the 4 matches he played for Lyn in April and May of this year (before the U-20 World Cup) then Obi went missing from the club and in the two matches since his return they've given him ratings of 6 and 4.
Na waitin' Norway know for soccer sef?
Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions
LynOslo

Post by LynOslo »

felarey wrote:One question to LynOslo and FrostyZ. You guys claim to be merely fans of Lyn but you know when a player shows up late to training and exactly how many times. What time do the training sessions commence? Are they during the day when you should likely be at work or do you work at Lyn? Perhaps you have insiders that provide you with every little detail or you are actually insiders with inside knowledge. What's up! Not accusing you but I guess you should be giving us a hourly dosage of what's happening to our players there. :P
Not working for Lyn.

We've got a forum for Lyn Oslo at www.bastionen.no/forum

Supporter's are watching every Lyn Oslo training, and they often write a report from training at the forum or at www.bastionen.no

LynOslo wrote:
felarey wrote:One question to LynOslo and FrostyZ. You guys claim to be merely fans of Lyn but you know when a player shows up late to training and exactly how many times. What time do the training sessions commence? Are they during the day when you should likely be at work or do you work at Lyn? Perhaps you have insiders that provide you with every little detail or you are actually insiders with inside knowledge. What's up! Not accusing you but I guess you should be giving us a hourly dosage of what's happening to our players there. :P
Not working for Lyn.

We've got a forum for Lyn Oslo at www.bastionen.no/forum

Supporter's are watching every Lyn Oslo training, and they often write a report from training at the forum or at www.bastionen.no
K, fair enough... :)

Maybe that's how ya'll do in Gambia, but Nigerians don't 'work' that way. You think all these underhanded moves won't kill a guy's morale? Lyn Oslo, I'm sure you guys in Norway understand.
YUJAM wrote:Yeah but Papa K you should know betta! :P Work is work and you got to give it your all.

I fear for this boy!
PapaK wrote:

I'm sure no one in Oslo is expecting 100% from the boys after they have now realized how much Lyn want to exploit them.
Catalyst

Post by Catalyst »

Yeah........Just like that

--------------------------------------------------

http://fotball.aftenposten.no/nyhetsark ... leID=86252

Mikel kan bli vraket

Mot Brann kan John Obi Mikel for første gang i Lyn-karrieren bli plassert på tribunen.

Av Sindre J. Olsen , 23.09.2005 kl. 11:57

Før det nigerianske supertalentet returnerte til Norge etter over hundre dager på rømmen, hadde Lyn spilt seks kamper på rad uten tap.

Med Mikel på laget er det blitt to strake nederlag.

Tilfeldig?

- Ja, mener Lyn-trener Henning Berg.

Men på supporterklubbens diskusjonsforum på Internett begynner nå flere og flere å sette spørsmålstegn ved den manglende Mikel-effekten.

- Han var veldig god i 1. omgang mot Odd, men mot Ham-Kam var det hele laget som ikke fungerte, og da var det også lengre perioder mellom de gangene Mikel viste seg frem, sier Berg.

Lyn-treneren understreker imidlertid at det ikke er gitt at 18-åringen får tillit fra start mot Brann om to dager.

- Hvem som til enhver tid spiller, er basert på prestasjoner. Vi har en gruppe på 22 spillere, og vi velger dem som vi mener er bra. Det er ingen som har klippekort, sier han.

Lyn kan bare bruke to spillere som kommer fra land utenfor EU, og så langt er det Mikel og keeper Ali Al-Habsi som er blitt plukket ut i troppen. Henning Berg er imidlertid klar på at også de to andre nigerianerne, Ezekial "Easy" Bala og Chinedu "Edu" Obasi Ogbuke, er aktuelle til førstelaget.

Edu har imponert etter hjemkomsten, og etter det Aftenposten Aften erfarer er det blitt diskutert innad i Lyn om at han nå fortjener en sjanse. På gårsdagens trening så det nemlig ikke ut til at Mikel starter mot Brann.

- Vi får se. Det er en vurdering som vi gjør, sier Henning Berg.

I går kom for øvrig de tre nigerianerne for andre gang på rad for sent til trening.

Igugu

Post by Igugu »

Obi, Ogbuke, and others in that Lyn-Oslo need a very good councelling and handlers, (advisers if you would). These are kids mind you. I know what they are going thru and if we don't stand behind them and support them vis a vis the NFA, (NFA?) well they may have a hard time in Europe. My question still remained: Who witnessed the signing of the so called contract of Man U and Obi, on Obi's behalf? Who advised him to sign? Was he advised of the implication of writing your name on a dotted line? Even if it is "just for now?"
I hate to see a kids future being ruined because of greed of some low level FC. I have a seventeen year old myself an I will not wish to see him in a position such as this.
Last edited by Igugu on Sat Sep 24, 2005 2:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Fegwu wrote:Yeah........Just like that

--------------------------------------------------

http://fotball.aftenposten.no/nyhetsark ... leID=86252

Mikel kan bli vraket

Mot Brann kan John Obi Mikel for første gang i Lyn-karrieren bli plassert på tribunen.

Av Sindre J. Olsen , 23.09.2005 kl. 11:57

Før det nigerianske supertalentet returnerte til Norge etter over hundre dager på rømmen, hadde Lyn spilt seks kamper på rad uten tap.

Med Mikel på laget er det blitt to strake nederlag.

Tilfeldig?

- Ja, mener Lyn-trener Henning Berg.

Men på supporterklubbens diskusjonsforum på Internett begynner nå flere og flere å sette spørsmålstegn ved den manglende Mikel-effekten.

- Han var veldig god i 1. omgang mot Odd, men mot Ham-Kam var det hele laget som ikke fungerte, og da var det også lengre perioder mellom de gangene Mikel viste seg frem, sier Berg.

Lyn-treneren understreker imidlertid at det ikke er gitt at 18-åringen får tillit fra start mot Brann om to dager.

- Hvem som til enhver tid spiller, er basert på prestasjoner. Vi har en gruppe på 22 spillere, og vi velger dem som vi mener er bra. Det er ingen som har klippekort, sier han.

Lyn kan bare bruke to spillere som kommer fra land utenfor EU, og så langt er det Mikel og keeper Ali Al-Habsi som er blitt plukket ut i troppen. Henning Berg er imidlertid klar på at også de to andre nigerianerne, Ezekial "Easy" Bala og Chinedu "Edu" Obasi Ogbuke, er aktuelle til førstelaget.

Edu har imponert etter hjemkomsten, og etter det Aftenposten Aften erfarer er det blitt diskutert innad i Lyn om at han nå fortjener en sjanse. På gårsdagens trening så det nemlig ikke ut til at Mikel starter mot Brann.

- Vi får se. Det er en vurdering som vi gjør, sier Henning Berg.

I går kom for øvrig de tre nigerianerne for andre gang på rad for sent til trening.

Por Parvor? :shock:
Pa

Igugu wrote:Obi, Ogbuke, and others in that Lyn-Oslo need a very good councelling and handlers, (advisers if you would). These are kids mind you. I know what they are going thru and if we don't stand behind them and support them vis a vis the NFA, (NFA?) well they may have a hard time in Europe. My question still remained: Who witnessed the signing of the so called contract of Man U and Obi, on Obi's behalf? Who advised him to sign? Was he advised of the implication of writing your name on a dotted line? Even if it is "just for now?"
I hate to see a kids future being ruined because of greed of some low level FC. I have a seventeen year old myself an I will not wish to see him in a position such as this.
According to the Lyn Oslo fans who have ambushed us on this forum, Mikel happily fired his agent in order to cut him out of the deal and pocket an extra 30%. It makes sense when considered in a vaccum. But in light of today's commotion, it's obvious someone dropped the ball on this deal. Someone tried to be too smart with this deal and has left all man hanging. In any event, the bottomline is that Mikel does not want to play for ManU... good or bad. Essien once decided his time at Lyon was up long before his contract expired. Essien voiced his feelings and was even removed from Lyon's lineup... Why must Mikel's case be different? If Lyn (or ManU) wants a happy camper, they ought to sit him down and reassure him that they'll see to it that he gets his wish to move elsewhere. You can't do much else... or expect him to deliver world class performance when his spirit is not there.
Elexus

Post by Elexus »

Fegwu wrote:
Elexus wrote:It boils down to youthful rashness pure and simple. His behaviour plumbs the depths of stupidity. Who is Obi to blow raspberry at the richest club in the world?
So basically you are buying a second-hand hearsay?

I will say your message in the post above aptly fits you.

:roll:
Take note that I am a free agent. I can decide to sit on the fence and not commit myself to either side of the debate. On the other hand, I can take any position that I choose and I must say my doing so does not confer any benefit upon you neither does it hurt or harm your interest! Or does it? It is my blankety-blank prerogative!