GARBA LAWAL APPRECIATION THREAD
Anymore hating for Garba Lawal?
This guy has been a tireless workhorse for Nigeria, and now he scored in the final game of his international career, and the winning goal at that.
Thank you, Garba! I am proud to have your (replica) jersey!
May your rice and tuwo never burn!
This guy has been a tireless workhorse for Nigeria, and now he scored in the final game of his international career, and the winning goal at that.

"How can someone qualify his country for the World Cup and then, because he lost a match, everyone is saying they should sack him. Please allow the man to do his work. Nobody is perfect, but if someone can qualify his country for the World Cup, then he deserves some respect. I even heard that it is the second time he has qualified Nigeria for the World Cup. That is huge". - French legend Alain Giresse on Nigeria's Shuaibu Amodu, 2010
Lawal - Another great guy, well he has to go now , so we can face the future without much distraction. dont get me wrong, the ditraction here is knowing what options we have going forward, and not on the interim. I pray the system will accomodate this wonderful, humble guy, who saw that putting on the green jersey was a privilege and not a right. Thank you Mr Lawal , the future sure knows how to reward guys like you, "the labours of our heroes past like yourself, shall never be in vain" Amen.
Well thank God for listening to prayers, i posted this even b4 the match today, now this is one way to be rewarded for a selfless service. Thank you Lord for crowning this dedicated worker's effort with glory.
This is what experience is all about, you come in and do it, not go about shouting in the frigging newspapers that you are better than someone.
These loud mouths should borrow a leaf from this model of what professionalism is all about, you wait for your time no matter how long, and you take it when it comes. This is how to win respect, this is how to prove you deserve a jersey, and this how true sports men talk, not with microphone , they talk with their ability.
Mr Garba Lawal may God bless you.
[/quote]
Well thank God for listening to prayers, i posted this even b4 the match today, now this is one way to be rewarded for a selfless service. Thank you Lord for crowning this dedicated worker's effort with glory.
This is what experience is all about, you come in and do it, not go about shouting in the frigging newspapers that you are better than someone.
These loud mouths should borrow a leaf from this model of what professionalism is all about, you wait for your time no matter how long, and you take it when it comes. This is how to win respect, this is how to prove you deserve a jersey, and this how true sports men talk, not with microphone , they talk with their ability.
[/quote]
I am signing without even considering today's match.
This man has personified everything I would want my own son to be. He is humble yet confident. He is a tireless hard worker and remains a professional no matter the situation, time and circumstance. More than a few members of the old guard should have paid heed to Lawal's conduct while on duty. Lawal is the best captain Nigeria never had. And I have said on occassions before that had Nigeria had just 2 or 3 more Lawals on the team, we might have gone places not yet reached.
He personifies the heart, determination, resolve, selflessness, discipline and winning attitude that many of our talented players lack. Were it not for the fact that I have seen him numerous times in our Green jersies I would have thought he was Camerounian. Kudos to a great great career.
This man has personified everything I would want my own son to be. He is humble yet confident. He is a tireless hard worker and remains a professional no matter the situation, time and circumstance. More than a few members of the old guard should have paid heed to Lawal's conduct while on duty. Lawal is the best captain Nigeria never had. And I have said on occassions before that had Nigeria had just 2 or 3 more Lawals on the team, we might have gone places not yet reached.
He personifies the heart, determination, resolve, selflessness, discipline and winning attitude that many of our talented players lack. Were it not for the fact that I have seen him numerous times in our Green jersies I would have thought he was Camerounian. Kudos to a great great career.
Last edited by mke1010 on Thu Feb 09, 2006 7:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
DITTOmke1010 wrote:I am signing without even considering today's match.
He personifies the heart, determination, resolve, selflessness, discipline and winning attitude that many of our talented players lack. Were it not for the fact that I have seen numerous times in our Green jersies I would have thought he was Camerounian. Kudos to a great great career.
- Chief Ogbunigwe
- Mister Dolly
We know, but for his own good , now is the time to leave, knowing naija fans mmmmmmm, (shakes head), and ofcourse knowing that this game can be beautiful and ugly at the same time, wisdom simply says leave with ovation resounding from Cairo to Nigeria.Kenovski wrote:Mr Lawal never said he was retiring......![]()
- theYemster
Once he retires from footie altogether, this guy should be given a non-playing role in the team.
Or better still he should be deployed to any of the youth teams as a welfare officer or mentor cos they will definitely benefit a lot learning from his humble and professional attitude.
Knowing us we'll most likely kick him to the curb.
Or better still he should be deployed to any of the youth teams as a welfare officer or mentor cos they will definitely benefit a lot learning from his humble and professional attitude.
Knowing us we'll most likely kick him to the curb.
© ɹ ǝ ʇ s ɯ é ʎ ǝ ɥ ʇ" ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
- Dr. Wazobia
I understand how you feel, Kenovski - but although I am a huge fan, I believe his bus has come to its final destination.
I hope after he finishes his playing career he would take some coaching courses, and be available as a future national manager (regardless of age level).
I do hope today was his last game for Nigeria.
I hope after he finishes his playing career he would take some coaching courses, and be available as a future national manager (regardless of age level).
I do hope today was his last game for Nigeria.
"How can someone qualify his country for the World Cup and then, because he lost a match, everyone is saying they should sack him. Please allow the man to do his work. Nobody is perfect, but if someone can qualify his country for the World Cup, then he deserves some respect. I even heard that it is the second time he has qualified Nigeria for the World Cup. That is huge". - French legend Alain Giresse on Nigeria's Shuaibu Amodu, 2010
Nagode, Uncle Garba. We sabi say the 'MR' wey dey add for your name na computer wey look your face come vex say this guy don old... lol. But you have served us with all your might. We love you.
God bless GL 11!
JJ Okocha will take this freekick... curls it in! Oh! ...curls it right in!! What a goal?!! What a moment of magic from JJ Okocha?!! And its 1-1!!
Reading through this thread has brought tears to my eyes.
Garba Lawal - You are a true professional. You were never involved in the non-football scandals. You are a true example of selfless service to ones country.
Thank you. Thank you.. Thank you!!!
no more Buran Uba!
Garba Lawal - You are a true professional. You were never involved in the non-football scandals. You are a true example of selfless service to ones country.
Thank you. Thank you.. Thank you!!!
no more Buran Uba!
In the Abundance of Water, the Fool is Thirsty!
- cic old boy
- Flying Eagle
OLOYE wrote:
Surely deserves a National honor for unflinching loyalty and impeccable character.
A MOVING TESTIMONIAL to one of the greatest gentlemen to don the G-W-G.Lawal - Another great guy, well he has to go now , so we can face the future without much distraction. dont get me wrong, the ditraction here is knowing what options we have going forward, and not on the interim. I pray the system will accomodate this wonderful, humble guy, who saw that putting on the green jersey was a privilege and not a right. Thank you Mr Lawal , the future sure knows how to reward guys like you, "the labours of our heroes past like yourself, shall never be in vain" Amen.
Surely deserves a National honor for unflinching loyalty and impeccable character.
CAPTAIN HAWKINS
Those sour grapes sure taste bitter in your mouth!cic old boy wrote:I will appreciate it if this chronically limited player never comes anywhere near the national team again. I will also appreciate it if the coaches cease and desist from picking players like him that cannot pass the ball to someone wearing the same colour of shirt.
Re: GARBA LAWAL APPRECIATION THREAD
The guy has been good in general and if he decides to retire, may all be well for him.kulu wrote:Anymore hating for Garba Lawal?
Kai!, ...una see bad-belle so?cic old boy wrote:I will appreciate it if this chronically limited player never comes anywhere near the national team again. I will also appreciate it if the coaches cease and desist from picking players like him that cannot pass the ball to someone wearing the same colour of shirt.
Chief CIC, shine-shine apart, aside from Kanu, can you name a more complete personage on the SuperEagles than Garba Lawal in the last decade? I'm sure you love to shrine all the 'yanga kwarikwata' players that are always creating unnecessary drama on and off the field. Oya, name them make we hear the names of all the late comers to camp, inconsistent performers, back-biters, and generally undisciplined players you deem better than GL.
Abeg, CIC, why you dey yarn opaks these last few days now? Abi senility don come???
I sabi some real Naija herbs wey go cure the thing o!!!

The meek shall inherit the earth, but they will not hold the mineral rights!!!