GARBA LAWAL APPRECIATION THREAD

kulu

Post by kulu »

SSTAR wrote:Abi senility don come???
I sabi some real Naija herbs wey go cure the thing o!!!
:?: :roll: :?: :roll: :?: :roll: :shock: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
E don land like lander brothers...
"How can someone qualify his country for the World Cup and then, because he lost a match, everyone is saying they should sack him. Please allow the man to do his work. Nobody is perfect, but if someone can qualify his country for the World Cup, then he deserves some respect. I even heard that it is the second time he has qualified Nigeria for the World Cup. That is huge". - French legend Alain Giresse on Nigeria's Shuaibu Amodu, 2010

Make una continue to celebrate mediocrity. This is why we have played crap football for the past 10 years.
SSTAR

Post by SSTAR »

cic old boy wrote:Make una continue to celebrate mediocrity. This is why we have played crap football for the past 10 years.
This is what's expected from those who have not point to buttress their position with.
C'mon CIC, at least shame me with one name other than Kanu that has done more for the various national teams than Garba Lawal in the last decade. GL epitomise what is generally lacking in our society, and you are here insinuating that there are better players which you can't name. Well, I guess they should remain anonymous to the forum, as they are purely your sentimental choices.

I dey wait o!!!
:idea: :!: :idea: :!: :arrow: :!: :idea: :!: :arrow: :!: :idea: :!: :arrow: :!: :!: :!:
The meek shall inherit the earth, but they will not hold the mineral rights!!!
sarkin doya

Post by sarkin doya »

Did Lawal say he was moving on?

Depending on what level they are at, Lawal, Kanu and
Oruma might still be relevant to the team as subs
in the next ACN - 2 yrs from now ... it will all depend
on what they do.

Those who called for the exclusion of Oruma, Kanu and Lawal
from this team were clearly wrong! I was not particularly
a fan of Oruma prior to this tournament because of his
behavioural issues. However, if he can keep those issues
in check and keep his current level of play, he might
continue to have a role in the SE for another 2 yrs.

Garba Lawal deserves to be part of the NFA when he retires. I cannot think of a more patriotic giant that has served Nigeria so very well over the last decade. I remember his hard work in that Olympics semi-final against Brazil 10 years ago. I remember him equalising for us against Zubizarreta of Spain in France 8 years ago. Yet, years after and only yesterday, he saved our blushes by helping us to beat Senegal for the second time in a matter of days.

GARBA LAWAL IS THE MAN AND HE DESERVES A SPECIAL NATIONAL AWARD!
You can control your choice, but not necessarily the consequences

SSTAR wrote:C'mon CIC, at least shame me with one name other than Kanu that has done more for the various national teams than Garba Lawal in the last decade. GL epitomise what is generally lacking in our society, and you are here insinuating that there are better players which you can't name. Well, I guess they should remain anonymous to the forum, as they are purely your sentimental choices.

I dey wait o!!!
:idea: :!: :idea: :!: :arrow: :!: :idea: :!: :arrow: :!: :idea: :!: :arrow: :!: :!: :!:
All Lawal has ever done is give the ball to opposition whenever he got it. I don't need to name better players. All that needs to be said is that he was one of the worst and had no business playing for Nigeria. If effort was all that was required, perhaps I should also be in the national team!

Kudos to the Garba Lawal and was happy to see him score today. The guy is even fitter than some of the young players in the team.. A great service to the nation and wish him all the best... He still has it and will still be around for a long time...
Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

I am happy Lawal is getting the recognition and praise his dedication and selfless attitude to the SE deserve..

Mr Garba Lawal, thank you very much. :D :D :D
To God be the glory
GIN

Post by GIN »

Much respect to the one and only Garba Lawal. 8-) 8-) 8-)
Samson Siasia speaking FACTs about 2008.
“I have been waiting for this job for almost three years now and that was before the 2008 Beijing Olympics. I was to be the coach of the Super Eagles after the interview conducted for the job. But that time I said no, I wasn’t ready. Now that I am ready, I am not intimidated at all. I am ready for this job,” he declared matter-of-factly" http://africanfootball.mtnfootball.com/ ... m_ID=36099
ikwerreman

Post by ikwerreman »

Garba thanks you all but he says he will quit after the 2010 world cup which he thinks Nigeria will win on the green grass in South Africa
goldfeet2

Post by goldfeet2 »

Great son of Nigeria will be missed. He has paid his dues to his fatherland. GIVE HIM NATIONAL HONOURS

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
our future is in our hands

SSTAR wrote:C'mon CIC, at least shame me with one name other than Kanu that has done more for the various national teams than Garba Lawal in the last decade. GL epitomise what is generally lacking in our society, and you are here insinuating that there are better players which you can't name. Well, I guess they should remain anonymous to the forum, as they are purely your sentimental choices.

I dey wait o!!!
All Lawal has ever done is give the ball to opposition whenever he got it. I don't need to name better players. All that needs to be said is that he was one of the worst and had no business playing for Nigeria. If effort was all that was required, perhaps I should also be in the national team!
Go back to rant and rave. You have missed road. UP LAWAL!!!!!!!

Kenovski

Post by Kenovski »

ikwerreman wrote:Garba thanks you all but he says he will quit after the 2010 world cup which he thinks Nigeria will win on the green grass in South Africa
Otio!!!! That is 4 years from now. Does he think his prostate will survive till then?
Everyday you can choose to the happy or sad, good or bad, full of joy or filled with anger. It takes the same amount of effort to acheive either.....

Anonymous

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:Go back to rant and rave. You have missed road. UP LAWAL!!!!!!!
Et tu, Chief?? Na you follow dey celebrate mediocrity like this?

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:Go back to rant and rave. You have missed road. UP LAWAL!!!!!!!
who contributed more to our 2006 Golden Bronze, Lawal or Okocha? what about 2002 ANC? *hint....quarter finals against a troublesome Ghana*.

Who pocketed the "evil" Geremi during the 2004 demolition of Cameroun. My bro, I used to bash Lawal back in 96 & 98, but the man has tried.

When it is all said and done, the man has cruicial ANC goals, as well as a WC goal (hello, Okocha, kanu?), plus a WC assist (hello, Okocha, wey you?).

Globero

Post by Globero »

GL for president ! :P :P :P

.... Arsenal for life ! :D
From this day forth, I stand by the entity that is ARSENAL.
I'm in despair when we lose, I rejoice when we win and I become emotional for all that happens in between
but may no one dare say I was not there when its all said and done - Globero

He is the most underappreciated player of his generation. He just turns up, and does his quietly. He is the sedate foil that over the years allowed the showmen like Okocha, Kanu, Jag, Martins and Utaka to do their tricks.

If our "superstars" has his quiet work ethic and humble demeanour, we'd have qualified for the WC. You don't hear of his "getting lost" on the way to training or no showing a friendly, or refusing to train because the coach didn't play him up front and kiss his a**.
TD

Post by TD »

Let's introduce some perspective to this thread. True, Garba has been a consumate professional in the national colours and in that capacity, deserves to be lauded but it is also true that he had passed his sell-by date even before the likes of the unlamented Sunny Oliseh, being dragged along by coach after coach PRIMARILY on account of the place of his birth and our coaches lack of imagination ( an euphemism, in this case, for lack of common sense).

Don't get me wrong, he was not a "bad" footballer by any means,and at the peak of his powers, which spanned 2 or 3 years in the late 90s, I would agree he was deserving of the limited role he played in the national team, but it made no sense 5 years after the fact for Garba to be such a prominent member of this team, and thus retard the development of a potentially more competent player in the role which was again and again thrust upon him.

Goodbye Garba, it's been real and we will remember him as part of when the SE were an SE to be proud of, but he will also indelibly be associated with the stagnation that has enveloped the SE in the last half-decade.
Cristao

Post by Cristao »

who contributed more to our 2006 Golden Bronze, Lawal or Okocha? what about 2002 ANC? *hint....quarter finals against a troublesome Ghana*.

Who pocketed the "evil" Geremi during the 2004 demolition of Cameroun. My bro, I used to bash Lawal back in 96 & 98, but the man has tried.

When it is all said and done, the man has cruicial ANC goals, as well as a WC goal (hello, Okocha, kanu?), plus a WC assist (hello, Okocha, wey you?).
KPOM!!!!