Weder Bremen join the list of clubs chasing Taiye Taiwo

Yiba

Post by Yiba »

Taribo was raw and physical with little regard for rudimentary defending when he was in Nigeria.I remember our friendly match with Sweeden,prelude to world cup.The guy almost destroyed Stefan Schwarz's leg.

Dammy, you sef dey drink all this garbage about inter.

Ribo played against fiorentina and had a good game....but made an awful tackle on kanchelskis(one of the worst I have seen) and the italian media savaged him...they called him an animal....Inter players decided to go on a media strike,claiming that the media was unfair.

I dont remember west being benched for the next game but even if he was, what you're trying to say is that Simone transformed him into a world class defender in the space of 2 weeks???Thats like saying Bobby Robson transformed Ronaldo into a world class striker.....BALONEY!!!!!!

Ribo made a rash tackle in his first game.....thats it!

Yiba wrote:Taribo was raw and physical with little regard for rudimentary defending when he was in Nigeria.I remember our friendly match with Sweeden,prelude to world cup.The guy almost destroyed Stefan Schwarz's leg.
A little problem with that thesis...
Taribo was already based at Aiuxerre then!
:oops:
<
realplayer

Post by realplayer »

deanotito, I wonder why you can't make your point without rude comments to Ayo. You don't have to get personal to prove your point.

Ayo, thanks for keeping to the point and the useful info.
Talent can only blossom with hard work!

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Taiye's frailties just show how little he was taught in Nigeria. How can a player who plied his trade in Nigeria's premier league not have been taught basic things like positioning yourself next to the centreback to mop up behind him?

Nigerian coaches are pathetic man!
Funny...
Considering that Taiwo's coach in Nigeria (at Gabros and Lobi)...
Was actually NOT a Nigerian coach, but the Belgian Maurice Cooreman! :oops:

<
realplayer

Post by realplayer »

TT is a very RAW talent.
He needs to go to an Italian club to refine him.
As at now, the guy is running WILD like a headless chicken.

realplayer, the man calls nigerian coaches "pathetic" and uses imaginary information to back that assertion and you are asking me about rude comments while thanking him???

Your last comment proves my point.....you share his opinions and are therefore willing to overlook his own slights.

realplayer wrote:deanotito, I wonder why you can't make your point without rude comments to Ayo. You don't have to get personal to prove your point.

Ayo, thanks for keeping to the point and the useful info.
When people start getting personal, you can tell they are losing the argument. Our people know the truth but just refuse to accept it.

They know that it is not just Taribo. Over 95% of our players have very limited technical know-how when they get to Europe and the coaches have to work overtime on them to cut out all their schoolboy habits.

Even JJ overworked the Eintract Frankfurt technical crew who had to cut out his primary school boy antics. In comparison, players from Francophone African countries like Cameroon, Ivory Coast and Senegal who went to French-run academies had a much more technical grasp of the game.
realplayer

Post by realplayer »

Ayo is right.

Many of our coaches are pathetic. On many occasions, he has proven his point/s despite a lot of hostilities.

As much as you might be right, when a neutral person looks at your post, it gives the impression that your aggression is as a result of an inferior position.
realplayer

Post by realplayer »

There are only 2 Nigerian coaches who in my opinion, have shown a hint of technical know - how

1. Broadricks Imasuen
2. Amodu

The rest are as good as PE teachers. (apologies to Siasia who is still developing)

realplayer and akinfe,
I am not talking about "impression" here. Follow the course of the debate between myself and ayo until you get to the point where he makes a reference to "amodu" and if you're so neutral, you would see who has the inferior position or who is "losing" the argument.

Thank you for acknowledging your fidelity with ayo's position.

Again he talks about JJ and frankfurt...AND HE IS WRONG AGAIN.....The single country that deserves a lot of praise for JJ becoming a more marture player is TURKEY....not Germany....The frankfurters were clueless as to how to help JJ and resorted to yelling at him and nothing more. In turkey, his coach put him on a special training regime....In turkey, he became a good shooter of the ball....That is why when he unleashed in france 98, everybody was like WHOA! .....and by the way, turkey is not known for its technical acumen.

My only rejoinder to his original argument was that there are scores of HORRIBLE european players and nobody ever calls european coaches pathetic. Observe how he conveniently sidestepped that to keep on arguing about something he does not know...Gigi simone, my butt!
Last edited by deanotito on Mon Feb 20, 2006 8:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

deanotito wrote:realplayer and akinfe,
I am not talking about "impression" here. Follow the course of the debate between myself and ayo until you get to the point where he makes a reference to "amodu" and if you're so neutral, you would see who has the inferior position or who is "losing" the argument.

Thank you for acknowledging your fidelity with ayo's position.

My only rejoinder to his original argument was that there are scores of HORRIBLE european players and nobody ever calls european coaches pathetic. Observe how he conveniently sidestepped that to keep on arguing about something he does not know...Gigi simone, my butt!
Just imagine where Nigerian football would be today if we have five or six Gux Roux's in the country. Imagine how great out boys would go on to be if they were at the level Taribo was when he left Auxerre when they leave Nigeria.

Listening to the history of the careers of players like Geremi Njitap, Pierre Wome, Samuel Eto'o, Idris Kameni and Marc Vivien-Foe, they were trained up to a very decent level before they left Cameroon at the Hadji Sports Academy. Our most criminal negligence is in the area of goalkeeping.

Our keepers like Enyeama, Ejide, Etafia, Rotimi and Ettah, were taught absolutely nothing. How can a professional goalkeeper not have been taught how to shuffle his feet across the goal line?????

Broda, okay...Guy roux is a very good developer....one of the best in the world.

But the level that Geremi Njitap, Pierre Wome, Samuel Eto'o, Idris Kameni and Marc Vivien-Foe left Cameroon at is very similar to that of our own players....I have watched cameroon play and they aint pretty....so I nor sabi ya own with hadji sports academy.
realplayer

Post by realplayer »

I am only in agreement with Ayo on the assessment of Nigerian coaches and our players.

Everyone will acknowledge the fact that our players technical know how improves tremendously the moment they go abroad.

There is a clear difference between Nigerian and Franco- phone countries that groom most of their players in French sponsored academies. It is no surprise that these teams always tend to be better organised than Nigeria despite our numerous talents.

It is true that there are many crap players in Europe and I will not waste my time watching some Bundesliga matches as I have wondered how on earth some of them managed to play for the teams. However, despite their lack of skill, they are much more technically gifted than our players.

An example is a talent like TT who doesn't know his primary role in a team and forgets himself in the attack. Compare him with Udeze and Babayaro and you will agree that Drogba would not have scored that cheap goal had these other defenders had played. (Don't get me wrong- TT is the player of the future who needs to learn from his mistakes and hopefully will be a world class player like Roberto Carlos)

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Just imagine where Nigerian football would be today if we have five or six Gux Roux's in the country. Imagine how great out boys would go on to be if they were at the level Taribo was when he left Auxerre when they leave Nigeria.
AYO:
With all due (and deserved) respect to Mr. Roux...
But two extremely talented Nigerian junior internationals (Albert Michael Yobo and Phillip Aniekan Enyeama) underwent Guy Roux's tutelage at Auxerre for several years and were turned from promising young international prospects to pedestrian journeymen.

<
realplayer

Post by realplayer »

Hopefully, Westefhoffs academy will produce some desired results

realplayer, oh please...you're being more than generous to babyaro and udeze...I have seen people score cheaper goals when these 2 played, so ease up. Drogba's goal was enaks/yobo's fault. This is the first time I am seeing TT being accused for it.

And I am still saying that there are many bad players in europe (technically) in europe...In fact, most of them fail in the technical department alone because skill was never a factor.

I am by no means saying that Nigeria is on par with europe in coaching, but as far as this forum is concerned, we are all interested in seeing views backed up by sound logic and facts and not by agendas.

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Just imagine where Nigerian football would be today if we have five or six Gux Roux's in the country. Imagine how great out boys would go on to be if they were at the level Taribo was when he left Auxerre when they leave Nigeria.
AYO:
With all due (and deserved) respect to Mr. Roux...
But two extremely talented Nigerian junior internationals (Albert Michael Yobo and Phillip Aniekan Enyeama) underwent Guy Roux's tutelage at Auxerre for several years and were turned from promising young international prospects to pedestrian journeymen.

<
Of course not everyone will succeed but what you have to look at is his success rate. Just watching Ivory Coast's Kanga Akale at the recently-concluded Nations Cup tells you everything you need to know.
realplayer

Post by realplayer »

As far as I am concerned, the Ivorien goal was as a result of Drogba observing that TT was always missing in the defence as he was too attack minded. He easily drifted to the hole left by TT's absence. All that was needed was a simple long ball over the Nigerian defence and Drogba was 1 on 1 with Enyeama!

TT strolled back to pick the ball from the net.

Yes, there was a lack of communication in the Nigerian defence as Yobo and Enak's should have covered the gaps left by TT and be more watchful of Drogba.

Compare the Nigerian defence and that of the Ivorian's and you will agree the difference was VERY clear. Kolo Toure and the back 4 were compact and most desciplined. They hardly passed the centre line!

The point I am making regarding Babayaro and Udeze is that they are more descipline and groomed defenders than TT. I am not saying they have not been subject to blunders or mistakes. All defenders make mistakes.

The point here is, at the level at which TT is, he should be much more technically sound and know how to do basic defending.

Goodness me! Take it easy bro. Yobo went on and on about marking drogba before the match...he started the match marking Drogba but was not there when Drogba scored. The only person in the vicinity was enaks....Please, strikers use any space they see....all goals are scored due to voids....defenders do the best they can, but TT no be machine....and though I agree that his performance in the tourney wasnt great, I totally disagree that that goal had anything to do with him...primarily or even secondarily.

realplayer wrote:As far as I am concerned, the Ivorien goal was as a result of Drogba observing that TT was always missing in the defence as he was too attack minded. He easily drifted to the hole left by TT's absence. All that was needed was a simple long ball over the Nigerian defence and Drogba was 1 on 1 with Enyeama!

TT strolled back to pick the ball from the net.

Yes, there was a lack of communication in the Nigerian defence as Yobo and Enak's should have covered the gaps left by TT and be more watchful of Drogba.

Compare the Nigerian defence and that of the Ivorian's and you will agree the difference was VERY clear. Kolo Toure and the back 4 were compact and most desciplined. They hardly passed the centre line!

The point I am making regarding Babayaro and Udeze is that they are more descipline and groomed defenders than TT. I am not saying they have not been subject to blunders or mistakes. All gefenders make mistakes.

The point here is that, at the level at which TT is, he should be much more technically sound and know how to do basic defending.
Enyeama too should have spotted that and reacted quicker. He should have been out of his box sweeping that ball up long before Drogba got anywhere near it.

Defensively, we were a calamity. Coaches like George Graham, David Moyes, Martin O'Neil and Jose Mouriniho spend hours going through such eventualities with their defence.

Graham used to spend at least half of his time with Seaman, Dixon, Winterburn, Adams and Bould. That was a schoolboy goal to conced and it was clear that the boys did not know what to do and Eguavoen was relying on natural talent to see them through.
realplayer

Post by realplayer »

Yobo can not chase Drogba all over the pitch. I have blamed Yobo's role in our central defence as I expect him to be the most experienced defender and so the organizer or our defence.

I have watched that match over 3 times as well as our other matches and was not surprised at that goal. That type of cheap goal will continue to hunt Nigeria as long as we are not technically desciplined.

From what I saw, TT was playing like an attacking midfieder and hardly defended. So we were technically playing 3-4-3 while the Ivoriens were playing 4-5-1. That was why we found it diffficult to break down the Ivoriens as they always seemed to out number us and were compact. The danger to Nigeria was that we were prone to counter attacks, isolation of defender on a dangerous 1 to 1 situation as well as gaps in the defence as most of our attackers and midfielders do not defend!

Drogba is one of the fastest strikers in the world and needs just a yard by your side and the rest is history. It was from TT's hole that Drogba sneaked through. If our defence was desciplined, TT would have been back with Drogba and not in the Ivorien half of the pitch.

I want to believe TT is a defender (Left full back). His primary role is to defend, secondary to help the attack and lastly to score. From the way he plays, it is the other way round!

In the weak Nigerian defence, TT is minus one! Again, this shows the pathetic state of our coaches who rely on the individual talents of our players to see them through.

Remember what the Swedish scout in the last world cup said about the SE. "They are a talented bunch but the interesting weakness is their individual defending!" We have not learn anything since then and do not mass defend like Cameroun and other countries at our level.

That is why we are not in the WC and did not win the ANC. Our coaches are technically pathetic!

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

deanotito wrote:Again......in Taribo's first game for Inter, he was eager to impress.....made a rash tackle while trying to chase down kanchelskis...apart from that tackle, he had an AWESOME game....Gigi Simone can go and die....he did nothing to make him a great defender....Even Guy Roux doesnt deserve all the praise...It was his loaning of Taribo to a lower division side that did the magic. When Ribo got back to auxerre, Roux built on him.

If what you're tryna say is that Taribo never made anymore rash tackles after that, then the stuff you're drinking is stronger than once thought.

Dont go losing your mind here.
Maybe na Amodu make Taribo!