In all honesty do Nigerians want Ghana to fall at WC?

jinx
In all honesty do Nigerians want Ghana to fall at WC?

Post by jinx »

Ghana and Nigeria have had a rivalry that goes way back, and it was heated up more with both teams being in the same group at the ANC. The ANC is now over and the storm has settled, but I still get the sense that Nigerians are just wishing for Ghana's downfall at the WC. Is it jealousy, bitterness or actual fears that Ghana will disgrace Africa? The fact of the matter is that Nigeria is not going to world cup because she didn't make the grade, and so I hope Nigerians will throw their weight behind all the African candidates including Ghana. The least you can do is to be neutral and not eagerly seek the fall of the Black Stars.

With all that said, I can promise you that you will see a transformed Black Stars at the Mundial. I won't promise that we will make the next round since we are in an extremely tough group, but all the same I expect the boys to give a good account of themselves. Don't read too much into the ANC and the recent loss. We will hopefully have the full complement of our team for the first time since last July, and you might be pleasantly(or unpleasantly) surprised. I am thinking that our opponents may probably rule us out based on our recent performance and that's what will work in our favor. Who thought Senegal could beat France in 2002, or that Cameroon will beat a Maradona led Argentina in 1990?

Am all for Africans team at the WC,but its only Nigeria I have seen that had some disastrous WC campaign losing to Germany 1-0,Yugoslavia 3-0 and Holland 5-1 and we went and beat the crap outta Spain and even made it easy on ourselves for RND 2.But Ghana,that couldnt even beat Zimbabwe will transform?To what?Voltron?Negro please,no sign of improvement at all.I highly doubt any changes but i still sih Ghana the best of luck.

In all honesty you are dead wrong!!!

Chief Gabtigab

Post by Chief Gabtigab »

Are you as Ghanaian or Nigerian?.

If you're a Nigerian, the answer is no. I for one will support Ghana with all my heart and even money (cable subsription :lol: ). I really hope they do well. Ghana supported Naija when we went to the last 3 WC. Our brotherly rivalry is a healthy one and not one of hatred.

If you're a Ghanaian, the question I have for you is; are you begging for support?. Abeg go chop kenkey and try to grow 2 more inches. Ewu kumasi :lol:
PT Teacher Oni aka Backstabber. The NFA aka Thieves. Betty "Sisi" Vogts aka Fraudster.
CRIME: Destroying Nigerian Football. VERDICT: GUILTY AS CHARGED. SENTENCE: Na God Go Punish Them.
amafolas

Post by amafolas »

Mr Osei Kenkey Boateng,

I am sorry you are very wrong. Nigerians by and large want Ghana to succeed. However, your outing at the just concluded ANC including the disastrous loss to Zimbabwe in a must win game gives us reasons for concern. Also, our Ghananian bredas since qualifying for WC have yarning too much okpata, hence the negative vibe you get from Nigerians. You guys should just shut up and start producing on the green grass and watch Naija people support you en masse. In summary lets just say Nigerians are being cautiously optimistic about Ghana's chances. And closing your collective oral and buccal cavity would earn you guys more fans outside your kenkey-eating nation.
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.
Elexus

Post by Elexus »

Considering that Ghana were in the same group with SA and Congo DR, Ghana really deserve to be Africa's representatives from that Group. So they are worthy representatives. Neither SA nor Congo DR would have done better. I really think that Ghana, CIV, Angola, and Tunisia will do well in Germany.

absolutely not
goldfeet2
Re: In all honesty do Nigerians want Ghana to fall at WC?

Post by goldfeet2 »

jinx wrote:Ghana and Nigeria have had a rivalry that goes way back, and it was heated up more with both teams being in the same group at the ANC. The ANC is now over and the storm has settled, but I still get the sense that Nigerians are just wishing for Ghana's downfall at the WC. Is it jealousy, bitterness or actual fears that Ghana will disgrace Africa? The fact of the matter is that Nigeria is not going to world cup because she didn't make the grade, and so I hope Nigerians will throw their weight behind all the African candidates including Ghana. The least you can do is to be neutral and not eagerly seek the fall of the Black Stars.

With all that said, I can promise you that you will see a transformed Black Stars at the Mundial. I won't promise that we will make the next round since we are in an extremely tough group, but all the same I expect the boys to give a good account of themselves. Don't read too much into the ANC and the recent loss. We will hopefully have the full complement of our team for the first time since last July, and you might be pleasantly(or unpleasantly) surprised. I am thinking that our opponents may probably rule us out based on our recent performance and that's what will work in our favor. Who thought Senegal could beat France in 2002, or that Cameroon will beat a Maradona led Argentina in 1990?

you are wrong my broda bicos after the Nigeria/Ghana game at the ANC, Nigerians generally supported and routed for Ghana against Zib & Senegal. Our rivalry is more brotherly love than hatred, you fool.
our future is in our hands

Meeeeeehn Shaaaaaraaaaaap!
kulu

Post by kulu »

I be Naija!

My wholehearted support is for Ghana, Cote d'Ivoire, Angola, and Tunisia. Of course, a small part of me does not hope for any of them to win the world cup for obvious reasons - but if they do, I know it is for the continent anyways!

The Nations Cup is the Nations Cup, and the World Cup is the World Cup.

However, I will cheer those four teams as if it was Nigeria playing (I have always done that since 1982 when Cameroon and Algeria represented Mama Africa).

My advice is for the football associations of the WC-bound countries mentioned above not to take the friendly results too seriously (especially Ghana) and act as rashly as the other, stupid, idiotic, [insert your own expletive] football association.

After all, as omey2k4 mentioned earlier, friendlies are not an accurate barometer of progress in the mundial. Nobody wants to get injured before the big dance!
"How can someone qualify his country for the World Cup and then, because he lost a match, everyone is saying they should sack him. Please allow the man to do his work. Nobody is perfect, but if someone can qualify his country for the World Cup, then he deserves some respect. I even heard that it is the second time he has qualified Nigeria for the World Cup. That is huge". - French legend Alain Giresse on Nigeria's Shuaibu Amodu, 2010
jinx

Post by jinx »

Thanks for the support for Ghana from our Naija bros. But there are some bad apples like airwolex and omey2k who just want to plot Ghana's downfall, we will serve them some humble pie at the mundial :D
Kenovski

Post by Kenovski »

jinx wrote:Ghana and Nigeria have had a rivalry that goes way back, and it was heated up more with both teams being in the same group at the ANC. The ANC is now over and the storm has settled, but I still get the sense that Nigerians are just wishing for Ghana's downfall at the WC. Is it jealousy, bitterness or actual fears that Ghana will disgrace Africa? The fact of the matter is that Nigeria is not going to world cup because she didn't make the grade, and so I hope Nigerians will throw their weight behind all the African candidates including Ghana. The least you can do is to be neutral and not eagerly seek the fall of the Black Stars.

Brethren, how can a husband have ill will for his favourite wife? It is not scriptural.........
Everyday you can choose to the happy or sad, good or bad, full of joy or filled with anger. It takes the same amount of effort to acheive either.....

Anonymous

jinx wrote:Thanks for the support for Ghana from our Naija bros. But there are some bad apples like airwolex and omey2k who just want to plot Ghana's downfall, we will serve them some humble pie at the mundial :D
Plotting Ghana's downfall and being realistic are two different things.

Winning is a habit and so is losing. Ghana has not shown good form going to the WC. A bookie will look at your form and give you bad odds of doing well, it's got nothing to do with hate but form.

You hardly lost a game last year and the reward was a WC ticket. You've hadly won a game this year so what do you think the reward would be?

We all still hope, for the sake of Africa that Ghana can turn things around and be the darling of the WC.

HOPE IS TALKING NOW, BUT THE REALIST IN ME IS STILL A BIT SCEPTICAL BASED ON FORM BUT ALL THE SAME AFRICA SHOULD UNITE AS ONE AND GHANA WILL HAVE MY UNWAVERING SUPPORT

jinx wrote:Thanks for the support for Ghana from our Naija bros. But there are some bad apples like airwolex and omey2k who just want to plot Ghana's downfall, we will serve them some humble pie at the mundial :D
Meeehn you still dey here? Ghana should play to the best of their limited abilities, natin concern me.
Schillachi

Post by Schillachi »

Why would a husband want his wife to fail?
NIGERIAN BADBOY!

when i'm not on the forum, i'll be happpy for ghana, buy having all these ghana men running their mouth here......... :evil:

Molue Conductor wrote:when i'm not on the forum, i'll be happpy for ghana, buy having all these ghana men running their mouth here......... :evil:
KPOM! i couldnt have said it better. With people like tacci and mardingoho running their mouth its hard to support Ghana. Also on the rare occasion that i read the vile crap people on Ghanaweb say about Nigerians, it becomes harder to support ghana.
chendosplastic

Post by chendosplastic »

Ghana will definitely fall, whether we want it or not.
"The history book on the shelf is always repeating itself" - ABBA.
"Facts, Logic, truth is the way....stop ranting via emotions; seeing things through the prism of ethnicity is comfortable but ultimately a road to perdition." - airwolex.
YoungLion

Post by YoungLion »

In all honesty, I want GHANA to fall flat on their faces at the World Cup and I'm not even Nigerian...they need to tchop some serious "zip it" pie. 8-)
The indomitable Lions of Cameroon.
kk

Post by kk »

ma 9JA bredas,
Ghana football is in disarray right now. I hear rumors that DUYA will be fired on monday, which will mark the turn around of the BS. No matter who becomes the next coach, he will have full confidence and commitment of the players, unlike DUYA who's relationship with his players is atrocious!!.
We will not disgrace Africa. Neither will we disgrace ourselves!! The group of death (E) will live up to its hype and at the end of the day luck will determine the best teams. Weather Ghana will be in the lucky 2 I don't know, but we will be competitive. So I say onto all ye To jump on the band wagon now b4 u look stupid come JULY!!

Sorry my Ghanian breda. Ghana is in the same group with my second team, United States. I can only rule for Ghana when they play the other teams. But against US.....sorry mehn....I'm gonna have to wish otherwise!

kk

Post by kk »

kolinzo wrote:Sorry my Ghanian breda. Ghana is in the same group with my second team, United States. I can only rule for Ghana when they play the other teams. But against US.....sorry mehn....I'm gonna have to wish otherwise!
Well then too bad for u.
Remember ur words today!! and don't say u didn't get an invitation to join the band wagon!!

kk wrote:
kolinzo wrote:Sorry my Ghanian breda. Ghana is in the same group with my second team, United States. I can only rule for Ghana when they play the other teams. But against US.....sorry mehn....I'm gonna have to wish otherwise!
Well then too bad for u.
Remember ur words today!! and don't say u didn't get an invitation to join the band wagon!!
Check out my USA USA thread. I put my money where my mouth is so I ain't never scared. Comes June Ghana go hia wen from the US, that's a promise!