Nigeria vs Benin (3-0) Lookman x2 , Osimhen FT

Re: Nigeria vs Benin (3-0) Lookman x2 , Osimhen FT

Important win for the Super Eagles to stem the tide of poor results. The foul stench of the NFF still persists though.

On to Rwanda.
Re: Nigeria vs Benin (3-0) Lookmanx2 , Osimhen

COOKING SPOON wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:36 pm This brings home how bad Finidi was
nothing more to add

Shadams

Post by Shadams »

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:32 pm Game was won on the individual brilliance of a couple players not the game plan. It's still a poorly managed game.
Those two things are not always mutually exclusive. The best game plans still need key actors for execution, right? The changes in the second half made a significant difference.
Comment is free, but facts are sacred-- C.P Scott

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:32 pm Game was won on the individual brilliance of a couple players not the game plan. It's still a poorly managed game.
I agree.

Let's not get carried away with the scoreline. It was individual talent more than anything.

The play overall was average. I didn't see much different with SE teams of the past.
Re: Nigeria vs Benin (2-0) Lookman , Osimhen

ikemba wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:39 pm
bushboy wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:26 pm The guy sabi miss chances sha!! Haba!!
Yes, Victor Boniface need to do better
mapet
Re: Nigeria vs Benin (1-0) Lookman 2H

Post by mapet »

Tobi17 wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:10 pm When will these coaches see that Ndidi just isn't good enough, the guy is a walking liability in any team set up.
I tot I was the only one with that opinion....
We need to start with younger boys with more pace and power....
Re: Nigeria vs Benin (1-0) Lookman HT

txj wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:34 pm
wanaj0 wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:31 pm
txj wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:28 pm
wanaj0 wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:27 pm
txj wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:23 pm
wanaj0 wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:19 pm
Lolly wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:07 pm Egu shouldn’t have replaced Bassey when the defence were holding their own. I don’t get it.
So that he can play 10 vs 11? Na wa o

And Lookman wo's also on a YC?

Thats just a stupid explanation...
Here comes the insult from the ATF :taunt:

Lookman gave you the desired answer :taunt:

No sir!

Loookman gave YOU the answer.
Experienced players can play with a YC...
And the coach that know the players make a call that the ATF is finding difficult to understand.

I see its no longer the excuse of a YC...
:blushing:
Yes many factors are being considered It is how decision-making works. You have two players on a yellow card, an attacker and a central defender. Which would you replace first?

vancity eagle wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:39 pm
I agree.

Let's not get carried away with the scoreline. It was individual talent more than anything.

The play overall was average. I didn't see much different with SE teams of the past.
The victory must have destroyed your prepared bad write up! Kpele.
nzeogwu

Post by nzeogwu »

It’s not about coaching or tactics. Players play and coaches coach. It’s about management.

Egu is one hell of a manager. Period.
mapet

Post by mapet »

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:10 pm You see why i like Dele, direct running
What our middle had lacked for almost 7yrs... a box-2-box player that can run at the opposition, not all the nonsense turning and back passes we've been making...

fabio wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:41 pm
I agree.

The victory must have destroyed your prepared bad write up! Kpele.

I agree.

Your white Massas struggled against teams like this at home and even failed to beat them...Zimbabwe, Guinea Bissau, CAR etc

Don't do this right now VE.
Last edited by Tobi17 on Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
mapet

Post by mapet »

lacidi wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:15 pm Shouldn't have replaced Iwobi. Midfield has collapsed
Iwobi offered less to the attack today and barely fed Boniface
Re: Nigeria vs Benin (1-0) Lookman HT

wanaj0 wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:36 pm
Lolly wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:33 pm
wanaj0 wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:31 pm
txj wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:28 pm
wanaj0 wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:27 pm
txj wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:23 pm
wanaj0 wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:19 pm

So that he can play 10 vs 11? Na wa o

And Lookman wo's also on a YC?

Thats just a stupid explanation...
Here comes the insult from the ATF :taunt:

Lookman gave you the desired answer :taunt:

No sir!

Loookman gave YOU the answer.
Experienced players can play with a YC...
And the coach that know the players make a call that the ATF is finding difficult to understand.
Yea and it worked. But we played much better in the first half until we scored the second goal. Osimhen coming on was the right sub and he scored.
The coach was there with the players. He was watching the match and feeling the pulse of the game. The arrogance sometimes!
We were all watching the game and saw how we lost shape and momentum when the subs were made. Biko, I don't watch football for goals alone. I watch every aspect of the game. Feel free to call it arrogance.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
nzeogwu

Post by nzeogwu »

My suggestions going forward: One of Onyedika or Onyeka needs to bench Ndidi. Simon needs to bench the better talented but ineffective Chukwueze and FDB needs to split time with Iwobi.
davidbam14

Post by davidbam14 »

vancity eagle wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:40 pm
I agree.

I agree, against teams like Benin and low ranked European teams individual talent works. So 3:0 is good but we need tactics and quicker ball movement.

I agree.

Everyone including myself can see that you have an agenda. Good team tactics with a solid defensive set up gives us the platform for our superior team and individual skill set to shine.
Yes, we are not carried away- ours is for the right reasons.

nzeogwu wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:45 pm My suggestions going forward: One of Onyedika or Onyeka needs to bench Ndidi. Simon needs to bench the better talented but ineffective Chukwueze and FDB needs to split time with Iwobi.
Good suggestions but I would still start Ndidi and sub him around the 60th minute. He played really well in the first half.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
mapet

Post by mapet »

Lolly wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:47 pm
nzeogwu wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:45 pm My suggestions going forward: One of Onyedika or Onyeka needs to bench Ndidi. Simon needs to bench the better talented but ineffective Chukwueze and FDB needs to split time with Iwobi.
Good suggestions but I would still start Ndidi and sub him around the 60th minute. He played really well in the first half.
But offered little in moving ball quickly out of the back...

waka-man wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:33 pm
I agree.
I agree.

highbury wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:46 pm
I agree.

Everyone including myself can see that you have an agenda. Good team tactics with a solid defensive set up gives us the platform for our superior team and individual skill set to shine.
Yes, we are not carried away- ours is for the right reasons.
If it was a Non-Nigerian coach, we would have read.... How defensively organised the SE was. When was the last time we didn't concede a goal, I have never seen such organisation in the SE in a long time....etc, etc, etc

Tobi17 wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:44 pm
I agree.

Your white Massas struggled against teams like this at home and even failed to beat them...Zimbabwe, Guinea Bissau, CAR etc

Don't do this right now VE.
I am not going all emotional because of a win that was due mainly to the quality of certain players (Lookman, Osimehn) rather than the gameplan.

There was NOTHING different today than MANY matches I have seen SE play under many coaches. The ball bounced our way today.

You will be the one to cry foul the second Egu has a disappointing result.

I am just tempering your optimism. Let's see how we do in our next match, because today I saw many of the same annoying things I have come to expect from SE.
ikemba

Post by ikemba »

mapet wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:44 pm
lacidi wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:15 pm Shouldn't have replaced Iwobi. Midfield has collapsed
Iwobi offered less to the attack today and barely fed Boniface
Boniface doesn't look hungry at all. He seems well fed.