Nigeria vs Benin (3-0) Lookman x2 , Osimhen FT
Re: Nigeria vs Benin (3-0) Lookmanx2 , Osimhen
Yes we needed a result and we got it.txj wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 8:02 pmfabio wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:52 pmIf it was a Non-Nigerian coach, we would have read.... How defensively organised the SE was. When was the last time we didn't concede a goal, I have never seen such organisation in the SE in a long time....etc, etc, etchighbury wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:46 pmEveryone including myself can see that you have an agenda. Good team tactics with a solid defensive set up gives us the platform for our superior team and individual skill set to shine.vancity eagle wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:40 pmI agree.EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:32 pm Game was won on the individual brilliance of a couple players not the game plan. It's still a poorly managed game.
Let's not get carried away with the scoreline. It was individual talent more than anything.
The play overall was average. I didn't see much different with SE teams of the past.
Yes, we are not carried away- ours is for the right reasons.
If you subject the game to proper analysis, he's not wrong in his overall point.
However, that point is trite and completely unimportant atm.
We NEEDED a result. By whatever means.
Plus the performance was ALWAYS going to be iffy as we have a new manager with little time to implement his ideas.
On the balance we did very well and can move on to the next one...
Hopefully the boys can turn things around. Egu didn't have much time with the team so overall it was a decent outing. Let's see how they progress on the road vs Rwanda.
We will get a better understanding of things after that .match.
We often play to the level of our opposition in Africa. Morocco will have an extremely tough game if they play us.vancity eagle wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 7:59 pmBro I watched Morocco the other day.Tobi17 wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 7:41 pmWhen last did we actually play perfect,.flawless and stainless football? You sound as if it's not the same team we've all been watching together for the past couple of years now. Do you really think there's a special coach out there that we haven't seen yet who will come in and suddenly turn us into prime Barca? Bro stop living in your unicorn on a cloud fantasy world, champagne football isn't your birthright especially in a brutal, tricky and crunchy African football atmosphere where the quality of so called minnow teams have leveled up. All we need right now is efficiency, compactness and getting the job done by taking our chances when presented...even other big African teams aren't particularly just walking over the supposedly minnow teams based on the games I've watched so far.vancity eagle wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 7:09 pmKeep playing that game.Tobi17 wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:58 pmOk VEvancity eagle wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:52 pmI am not going all emotional because of a win that was due mainly to the quality of certain players (Lookman, Osimehn) rather than the gameplan.Tobi17 wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:44 pmYour white Massas struggled against teams like this at home and even failed to beat them...Zimbabwe, Guinea Bissau, CAR etcvancity eagle wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:39 pm
I agree.
Let's not get carried away with the scoreline. It was individual talent more than anything.
The play overall was average. I didn't see much different with SE teams of the past.
Don't do this right now VE.
There was NOTHING different today than MANY matches I have seen SE play under many coaches. The ball bounced our way today.
You will be the one to cry foul the second Egu has a disappointing result.
I am just tempering your optimism. Let's see how we do in our next match, because today I saw many of the same annoying things I have come to expect from SE.
NFF will get you the world class European journeyman coach that you want so you can be happy. Maybe you also didn't notice how all the white massas we were linked to have struggled with the NTs they got hired to... African football is a brutal affair, we're among the only top few teams that have posted impressive wins so far in the qualifiers.
It's not about journeyman or not, I am talking about what I saw TODAY, on the pitch.
Solid shape, solid defensively, though the team started to falter for a few minutes after the initial subs.
My problem is the attack. It's the same as I've seen it before (despite the goals) Same slow build up and lack of movement etc. It wasn't poor but it wasn't great either. Above average I would say. Is that good enough to qualify us for 2026 WC ? Because that is the standard. So far I would say no, it's not good enough. If we were starting from scratch it would probably suffice, but to dig us out of this hole we are in , I have serious doubts.
Let's see how they play on the road against Rwanda. That will be the real test of Eguavoens mettle.
That is a high quality team that knows how to attack, pass the ball and move into space.
Nigeria is far from that. Is it the players or the coach, I cannot tell you, but we are far from their quality. That is what we should be striving for, not the same old stale attack. You guys act like Rohr lead SE have not scored 3 goals in a game before.
We often play to the level of our opposition in Africa. Morocco will have an extremely tough game if they play us.vancity eagle wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 7:59 pmBro I watched Morocco the other day.Tobi17 wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 7:41 pmWhen last did we actually play perfect,.flawless and stainless football? You sound as if it's not the same team we've all been watching together for the past couple of years now. Do you really think there's a special coach out there that we haven't seen yet who will come in and suddenly turn us into prime Barca? Bro stop living in your unicorn on a cloud fantasy world, champagne football isn't your birthright especially in a brutal, tricky and crunchy African football atmosphere where the quality of so called minnow teams have leveled up. All we need right now is efficiency, compactness and getting the job done by taking our chances when presented...even other big African teams aren't particularly just walking over the supposedly minnow teams based on the games I've watched so far.vancity eagle wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 7:09 pmKeep playing that game.Tobi17 wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:58 pmOk VEvancity eagle wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:52 pmI am not going all emotional because of a win that was due mainly to the quality of certain players (Lookman, Osimehn) rather than the gameplan.Tobi17 wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:44 pmYour white Massas struggled against teams like this at home and even failed to beat them...Zimbabwe, Guinea Bissau, CAR etcvancity eagle wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:39 pm
I agree.
There was NOTHING different today than MANY matches I have seen SE play under many coaches. The ball bounced our way today.
I am just tempering your optimism. Let's see how we do in our next match, because today I saw many of the same annoying things I have come to expect from SE.
NFF will get you the world class European journeyman coach that you want so you can be happy. Maybe you also didn't notice how all the white massas we were linked to have struggled with the NTs they got hired to... African football is a brutal affair, we're among the only top few teams that have posted impressive wins so far in the qualifiers.
It's not about journeyman or not, I am talking about what I saw TODAY, on the pitch.
Solid shape, solid defensively, though the team started to falter for a few minutes after the initial subs.
My problem is the attack. It's the same as I've seen it before (despite the goals) Same slow build up and lack of movement etc. It wasn't poor but it wasn't great either. Above average I would say. Is that good enough to qualify us for 2026 WC ? Because that is the standard. So far I would say no, it's not good enough. If we were starting from scratch it would probably suffice, but to dig us out of this hole we are in , I have serious doubts.
Let's see how they play on the road against Rwanda. That will be the real test of Eguavoens mettle.
That is a high quality team that knows how to attack, pass the ball and move into space.
Nigeria is far from that. Is it the players or the coach, I cannot tell you, but we are far from their quality. That is what we should be striving for, not the same old stale attack. You guys act like Rohr lead SE have not scored 3 goals in a game before.
Gabon missed a PK and wasted so many chances in that game, stop lying! The Morocco performance was far from a perfect one...they scored 3 of their goals from the spot as well. Are you sure you even watched the game?vancity eagle wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 7:59 pmBro I watched Morocco the other day.Tobi17 wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 7:41 pmWhen last did we actually play perfect,.flawless and stainless football? You sound as if it's not the same team we've all been watching together for the past couple of years now. Do you really think there's a special coach out there that we haven't seen yet who will come in and suddenly turn us into prime Barca? Bro stop living in your unicorn on a cloud fantasy world, champagne football isn't your birthright especially in a brutal, tricky and crunchy African football atmosphere where the quality of so called minnow teams have leveled up. All we need right now is efficiency, compactness and getting the job done by taking our chances when presented...even other big African teams aren't particularly just walking over the supposedly minnow teams based on the games I've watched so far.vancity eagle wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 7:09 pmKeep playing that game.Tobi17 wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:58 pmOk VEvancity eagle wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:52 pmI am not going all emotional because of a win that was due mainly to the quality of certain players (Lookman, Osimehn) rather than the gameplan.Tobi17 wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:44 pmYour white Massas struggled against teams like this at home and even failed to beat them...Zimbabwe, Guinea Bissau, CAR etcvancity eagle wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:39 pm
I agree.
Re: Nigeria vs Benin (3-0) Lookman x2 , Osimhen FT
Good job by the boys, we had to be patient and stay compact in the first half.
Kudos to Egu, managed the pressure to start the game with Osimhen, got the boys playing quick one touch passing, kept a clean sheet and he outfoxed Rohr. Good confidence starter
Watching the Dutch purring in Koeman's hybrid 3-back formation.
Its a far cry from the shambles when he started..
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Notice I never said anything about Morocco's defence.Tobi17 wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 8:10 pmGabon missed a PK and wasted so many chances in that game, stop lying! The Morocco performance was far from a perfect one...they scored 3 of their goals from the spot as well. Are you sure you even watched the game?vancity eagle wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 7:59 pmBro I watched Morocco the other day.Tobi17 wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 7:41 pmWhen last did we actually play perfect,.flawless and stainless football? You sound as if it's not the same team we've all been watching together for the past couple of years now. Do you really think there's a special coach out there that we haven't seen yet who will come in and suddenly turn us into prime Barca? Bro stop living in your unicorn on a cloud fantasy world, champagne football isn't your birthright especially in a brutal, tricky and crunchy African football atmosphere where the quality of so called minnow teams have leveled up. All we need right now is efficiency, compactness and getting the job done by taking our chances when presented...even other big African teams aren't particularly just walking over the supposedly minnow teams based on the games I've watched so far.vancity eagle wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 7:09 pmKeep playing that game.Tobi17 wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:58 pmOk VEvancity eagle wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:52 pmI am not going all emotional because of a win that was due mainly to the quality of certain players (Lookman, Osimehn) rather than the gameplan.
I said they know how to attack, pass the ball and move into space.
There is not a team in Africa that comes anywhere close to them in this regard. In fact few teams in the world.
Very ironic that Benin
had 2 Yoruba players (Tosin Aiyegun and Junior Olaitan). It demonstrated how artificial the colonial borders are, and how they randomly split people from the same ethnic group into “different nationalities”.
Then in the Eire
v England
match, each team had 2 players of Nigerian origin in its squad. Eire had Idah and Ogbene, while England had Eze and Saka.
Then in the Eire
Last edited by wiseone on Sun Sep 08, 2024 12:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
I see Morocco is the new Cote D’Ivoirevancity eagle wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 9:18 pmNotice I never said anything about Morocco's defence.
There is not a team in Africa that comes anywhere close to them in this regard. In fact few teams in the world.

Re: Nigeria vs Benin (3-0) Lookman x2 , Osimh
They’re not just Yoruba but Nigerian (or part-Nigerian)…wiseone wrote: ↑Sun Sep 08, 2024 2:10 am ]Very ironic that Beninhad 2 Yoruba players (Tosin Aiyegnuba and Junior Olaitan). It demonstrated how artificial the colonial borders are, and how they randomly split people from the same ethnic group into “different nationalities”.
Then in the Eirev England
match, each team had 2 players of Nigerian origin in its squad. Eire had Idah and Ogbene, while England had Eze and Saka.
Olaitan’s (Ishola) dad is Nigerian, while Aiyegun (not Aiyenugba) is from Lagos - just as Muri Ogunbiyi, who’s from Ogun State.
Gotti wrote: ↑Sun Sep 08, 2024 5:36 amI see Morocco is the new Cote D’Ivoirevancity eagle wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 9:18 pmNotice I never said anything about Morocco's defence.
There is not a team in Africa that comes anywhere close to them in this regard. In fact few teams in the world.![]()

Dem plenti.Gotti wrote: ↑Sun Sep 08, 2024 5:44 amThey’re not just Yoruba but Nigerian (or part-Nigerian)…wiseone wrote: ↑Sun Sep 08, 2024 2:10 am ]Very ironic that Beninhad 2 Yoruba players (Tosin Aiyegnuba and Junior Olaitan). It demonstrated how artificial the colonial borders are, and how they randomly split people from the same ethnic group into “different nationalities”.
Olaitan’s (Ishola) dad is Nigerian, while Aiyegun (not Aiyenugba) is from Lagos - just as Muri Ogunbiyi, who’s from Ogun State.
We all remember Seyi Emmanuel ‘Baby Kanu’ Adebayo(r) of Togo.

Thanks for the additional info. This is really interesting. Although both of them lived in Nigeria, Olaitan was born in Benin (Porto Novo), while Aiyegun played for the same Nigerian club team as Victor Boniface.
I remember Muritala Ogunbiyi (a member of Enyimba's back to back African Champions League winning team). He realistically had to choose Benin as his career overlapped with Okocha and Oruma. No chance of him playing for Nigeria.
Gotti wrote: ↑Sun Sep 08, 2024 5:44 amThey’re not just Yoruba but Nigerian (or part-Nigerian)…wiseone wrote: ↑Sun Sep 08, 2024 2:10 am ]Very ironic that Beninhad 2 Yoruba players (Tosin Aiyegnuba and Junior Olaitan). It demonstrated how artificial the colonial borders are, and how they randomly split people from the same ethnic group into “different nationalities”.
- oluwaseye the 1st.
Good confidence booster win for the boys, going forward i believe the trio of Aina, Ndidi and Iwobi, if we can get quality upgrades should no longer be starters for the team...sounds controversial but i genuinely believe with better quality in those positions we might be looking at a very strong Super Eagles. Let our scouts do more.
Truth needs no support system, it can stand firmly on its legs!!
COYS
COYS
Oluwaseye, good to read from you. I was just wondering about you today that you have not posted in a long time!oluwaseye the 1st. wrote: ↑Sun Sep 08, 2024 12:15 pm Good confidence booster win for the boys, going forward i believe the trio of Aina, Ndidi and Iwobi, if we can get quality upgrades should no longer be starters for the team...sounds controversial but i genuinely believe with better quality in those positions we might be looking at a very strong Super Eagles. Let our scouts do more.
Iwobi should be moved to the wings and Ndidi to central defence. Aina played well IMO
- oluwaseye the 1st.
Oluwaseye, good to read from you. I was just wondering about you today that you have not posted in a long time!
Iwobi should be moved to the wings and Ndidi to central defence. Aina played well IMO
I lost interest in our football for a while and the incompetence of Gusau worsened my apathy, but apart from that am good bro and watched our match in full yesterday for a change. Yeah, maybe Aina was actually good in hindsight but it's either they find new roles for Iwobi and Ndidi though i suspect for the latter, he is now coasting through the few matches he turns up for. Pot-bellied Kelechi, he needs to up his game or soon he won't get call ups.
Truth needs no support system, it can stand firmly on its legs!!
COYS
COYS
- airwolex
Aina didn't play well yesterday but he was fabulous in the Afcon, he is allowed an off day. Ndidi also played well. His passing really surprised me and he seems more comfortable playing forward, I am not so sure he makes a good pair with Iwobi though.
I dont think anyone was poor yesterday other than Boniface.
Ndidi was ok, he did pass the ball well and often was more advanced than Iwobi.
Maybe people want a more energetic .midfielder.
- Undertaker
Boniface, Iwobi, Ajayi, Aina and Bassey all were below average.vancity eagle wrote: ↑Sun Sep 08, 2024 7:09 pmI dont think anyone was poor yesterday other than Boniface.
I disagree on Ajayi, I think many will say he had a quietly good game.Undertaker wrote: ↑Sun Sep 08, 2024 8:23 pmBoniface, Iwobi, Ajayi, Aina and Bassey all were below average.vancity eagle wrote: ↑Sun Sep 08, 2024 7:09 pmI dont think anyone was poor yesterday other than Boniface.
But long term we need to start integrating younger players into that defence cause Ajayi and Ekong are already in their twilight years.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Good team win.
Glad to see the AFCON Silver-winning team doing their thing.
It is good to see a manager who understands that team chemistry is a tool to be used in achieving results.
The difference between a coach and a manager.
It has been a minute since we've had a win.
Glad to see the AFCON Silver-winning team doing their thing.
It is good to see a manager who understands that team chemistry is a tool to be used in achieving results.
The difference between a coach and a manager.
It has been a minute since we've had a win.