Nigeria vs Benin (3-0) Lookman x2 , Osimhen FT

Re: Nigeria vs Benin (0-0) 11AM CT 5pm Nigerian Time

Agbako wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 4:17 pm I no deh house driving… any link to game starting soon.. Biko ….

If Boniface no scatter that Benin defense today. He will hear from me…😂😂😂😂😅😅😅😅
E no score.

Re: Nigeria vs Benin (3-0) Lookmanx2 , Osimhen

davidbam14 wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:45 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:40 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:32 pm Game was won on the individual brilliance of a couple players not the game plan. It's still a poorly managed game.
I agree.

Let's not get carried away with the scoreline. It was individual talent more than anything.

The play overall was average. I didn't see much different with SE teams of the past.
I agree, against teams like Benin and low ranked European teams individual talent works. So 3:0 is good but we need tactics and quicker ball movement.

nzeogwu
Re: Nigeria vs Benin (3-0) Lookman x2 , Osimhen FT

Post by nzeogwu »

I guess when Argentina wins because of Messi it’s not individual brilliance. When Naija beat Argentina is 2017, pre World Cup and without Messi, it was a huge win.

When Argentina beat Naija and Messi split Omeruo and Uzoho for that one in a million goal, I guess we should call it either a fluke or exceptional heads up team play between Banega and Messi.

ROHR vs Benin: 2-1, 1-0
Finidi vs Benin: 1-2
Egu: 3-0

Last time I checked results get you through and not quality of play. When you qualify, modify.
Really?!!! INDIVIDUAL BRILLIANCE

fabio wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:52 pm
highbury wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:46 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:32 pm Game was won on the individual brilliance of a couple players not the game plan. It's still a poorly managed game.
I agree.

Let's not get carried away with the scoreline. It was individual talent more than anything.

The play overall was average. I didn't see much different with SE teams of the past.
Everyone including myself can see that you have an agenda. Good team tactics with a solid defensive set up gives us the platform for our superior team and individual skill set to shine.
Yes, we are not carried away- ours is for the right reasons.
If it was a Non-Nigerian coach, we would have read.... How defensively organised the SE was. When was the last time we didn't concede a goal, I have never seen such organisation in the SE in a long time....etc, etc, etc
:thumbs:

nzeogwu

Post by nzeogwu »

Egu’s philosophy is the SPINE. The spine is not individual.

Nwabali
Ekong
Ndidi
Lookman
Osimhen
Simon

There you have it.

vancity eagle wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:52 pm
Tobi17 wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:44 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:39 pm
I agree.

Your white Massas struggled against teams like this at home and even failed to beat them...Zimbabwe, Guinea Bissau, CAR etc

Don't do this right now VE.
I am not going all emotional because of a win that was due mainly to the quality of certain players (Lookman, Osimehn) rather than the gameplan.

There was NOTHING different today than MANY matches I have seen SE play under many coaches. The ball bounced our way today.

You will be the one to cry foul the second Egu has a disappointing result.

I am just tempering your optimism. Let's see how we do in our next match, because today I saw many of the same annoying things I have come to expect from SE.
Ok VE

NFF will get you the world class European journeyman coach that you want so you can be happy. Maybe you also didn't notice how all the white massas we were linked to have struggled with the NTs they got hired to... African football is a brutal affair, we're among the only top few teams that have posted impressive wins so far in the qualifiers.
Last edited by Tobi17 on Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
nzeogwu

Post by nzeogwu »

Let’s be crystal clear, Lookman, Osimhen, Ekong, Boniface and Simon have missed at least three months of playing time this year and at different times. Additionally, half of them are not even playing.

Please, put things in perspective.

Gotti wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:54 pm
davidbam14 wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:45 pm
I agree.

I agree, against teams like Benin and low ranked European teams individual talent works. So 3:0 is good but we need tactics and quicker ball movement.

fabio wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:41 pm
I agree.

The victory must have destroyed your prepared bad write up! Kpele.
He has saved the draft though!

Good first half, shakey second even though we scored more goals. Team should be built around Osimhen and Lookman.

Boniface plays like his personality, too eccentric and immature for now but plenty of natural ability.

Gotti wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:57 pm
I agree.

Everyone including myself can see that you have an agenda. Good team tactics with a solid defensive set up gives us the platform for our superior team and individual skill set to shine.
If it was a Non-Nigerian coach, we would have read.... How defensively organised the SE was. When was the last time we didn't concede a goal, I have never seen such organisation in the SE in a long time....etc, etc, etc
:thumbs:
:thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

airwolex wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 7:01 pm Good first half, shakey second even though we scored more goals. Team should be built around Osimhen and Lookman.

Boniface plays like his personality, too eccentric and immature for now but plenty of natural ability.
His club coach needs to work on him. I hope he has not lost the hunger he had before he started getting all the praises and player of the month awards.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Gotti wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:51 pm
waka-man wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:33 pm
I agree.
I agree.

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Na dia way. If the coach was their preferred nationality it would have been a solid win. Wakaman is not like that though. He probably would have said the same irrespective of the manager.

Gotti wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:51 pm
waka-man wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:33 pm
I agree.
I agree.

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Na dia way. If the coach was their preferred nationality it would have been a solid win. Wakaman is not like that though. He probably would have said the same irrespective of the manager.

Tobi17 wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:58 pm
I agree.

Your white Massas struggled against teams like this at home and even failed to beat them...Zimbabwe, Guinea Bissau, CAR etc

I am not going all emotional because of a win that was due mainly to the quality of certain players (Lookman, Osimehn) rather than the gameplan.

There was NOTHING different today than MANY matches I have seen SE play under many coaches. The ball bounced our way today.

I am just tempering your optimism. Let's see how we do in our next match, because today I saw many of the same annoying things I have come to expect from SE.
Ok VE

NFF will get you the world class European journeyman coach that you want so you can be happy. Maybe you also didn't notice how all the white massas we were linked to have struggled with the NTs they got hired to... African football is a brutal affair, we're among the only top few teams that have posted impressive wins so far in the qualifiers.
Keep playing that game.

It's not about journeyman or not, I am talking about what I saw TODAY, on the pitch.

Solid shape, solid defensively, though the team started to falter for a few minutes after the initial subs.

My problem is the attack. It's the same as I've seen it before (despite the goals) Same slow build up and lack of movement etc. It wasn't poor but it wasn't great either. Above average I would say. Is that good enough to qualify us for 2026 WC ? Because that is the standard. So far I would say no, it's not good enough. If we were starting from scratch it would probably suffice, but to dig us out of this hole we are in , I have serious doubts.

Let's see how they play on the road against Rwanda. That will be the real test of Eguavoens mettle.
COOKING SPOON

Post by COOKING SPOON »

Semi Ajayi needs to get more recognition for what he does on the pitch. He keeps it simple, is absolutely solid as a defender, reads the game well, hardly ever gets booked and is surprisingly fast.
They seek him here.
They seek him there.
Moderators seek him everywhere.
They seek him at night
And even at noon
That damn elusive cooking spoon

COOKING SPOON wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 7:16 pm Semi Ajayi needs to get more recognition for what he does on the pitch. He keeps it simple, is absolutely solid as a defender, reads the game well, hardly ever gets booked and is surprisingly fast.
Hence why all the coaches play him, notwithstanding his club level. He seems to fit in well with how we play.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
Re: Nigeria vs Benin (1-0) Lookman HT

niyi wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:41 pm
txj wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:34 pm
wanaj0 wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:31 pm
txj wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:28 pm
wanaj0 wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:27 pm
txj wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:23 pm
wanaj0 wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 6:19 pm

So that he can play 10 vs 11? Na wa o

And Lookman wo's also on a YC?

Thats just a stupid explanation...
Here comes the insult from the ATF :taunt:

Lookman gave you the desired answer :taunt:

No sir!

Loookman gave YOU the answer.
Experienced players can play with a YC...
And the coach that know the players make a call that the ATF is finding difficult to understand.

I see its no longer the excuse of a YC...
:blushing:
Yes many factors are being considered It is how decision-making works. You have two players on a yellow card, an attacker and a central defender. Which would you replace first?

Actually, that's not how such decisions are made.
Plus you do not have to automatically sub a player b/c he got a YC...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

vancity eagle wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 7:09 pm
I agree.

Ok VE

Keep playing that game.

It's not about journeyman or not, I am talking about what I saw TODAY, on the pitch.

Solid shape, solid defensively, though the team started to falter for a few minutes after the initial subs.

My problem is the attack. It's the same as I've seen it before (despite the goals) Same slow build up and lack of movement etc. It wasn't poor but it wasn't great either. Above average I would say. Is that good enough to qualify us for 2026 WC ? Because that is the standard. So far I would say no, it's not good enough. If we were starting from scratch it would probably suffice, but to dig us out of this hole we are in , I have serious doubts.

Let's see how they play on the road against Rwanda. That will be the real test of Eguavoens mettle.
When last did we actually play perfect,.flawless and stainless football? You sound as if it's not the same team we've all been watching together for the past couple of years now. Do you really think there's a special coach out there that we haven't seen yet who will come in and suddenly turn us into prime Barca? Bro stop living in your unicorn on a cloud fantasy world, champagne football isn't your birthright especially in a brutal, tricky and crunchy African football atmosphere where the quality of so called minnow teams have leveled up. All we need right now is efficiency, compactness and getting the job done by taking our chances when presented...even other big African teams aren't particularly just walking over the supposedly minnow teams based on the games I've watched so far.

Tobi17 wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 7:41 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 7:09 pm
I agree.

Ok VE

Keep playing that game.

When last did we actually play perfect,.flawless and stainless football? You sound as if it's not the same team we've all been watching together for the past couple of years now. Do you really think there's a special coach out there that we haven't seen yet who will come in and suddenly turn us into prime Barca? Bro stop living in your unicorn on a cloud fantasy world, champagne football isn't your birthright especially in a brutal, tricky and crunchy African football atmosphere where the quality of so called minnow teams have leveled up. All we need right now is efficiency, compactness and getting the job done by taking our chances when presented...even other big African teams aren't particularly just walking over the supposedly minnow teams based on the games I've watched so far.
Bro I watched Morocco the other day.

That is a high quality team that knows how to attack, pass the ball and move into space.

Nigeria is far from that. Is it the players or the coach, I cannot tell you, but we are far from their quality. That is what we should be striving for, not the same old stale attack. You guys act like Rohr lead SE have not scored 3 goals in a game before.

I agree.

If you subject the game to proper analysis, he's not wrong in his overall point.

However, that point is trite and completely unimportant atm.

We NEEDED a result. By whatever means.
Plus the performance was ALWAYS going to be iffy as we have a new manager with little time to implement his ideas.

On the balance we did very well and can move on to the next one...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp