Let's DISCUSS: which players need to be called up for the play offs?
Re: Let's DISCUSS: which players need to be called up for the play offs?
...well, you are not doing the 2 things simultaneously. You are 90-95% invested in foreign born/foreign based so far.vancity eagle wrote: ↑Wed Nov 17, 2021 5:00 amjust shut up with your junk home based players who cannot even qualify for CHAN.
SE could field 3 squads of 23, and goalkeepers would be the only home based players called.
and since you are so dense, scouting for players in Europe in no way stops investment in the local league. Its as if you think the two things cannot be done simultaneously.
It is not the duty of SE, or a SE coach to develop or promote the local league.
but one IS NOT impeding the other.mcal wrote: ↑Wed Nov 17, 2021 6:17 am...well, you are not doing the 2 things simultaneously. You are 90-95% invested in foreign born/foreign based so far.vancity eagle wrote: ↑Wed Nov 17, 2021 5:00 amjust shut up with your junk home based players who cannot even qualify for CHAN.
SE could field 3 squads of 23, and goalkeepers would be the only home based players called.
and since you are so dense, scouting for players in Europe in no way stops investment in the local league. Its as if you think the two things cannot be done simultaneously.
It is not the duty of SE, or a SE coach to develop or promote the local league.
Going hard after foreign nationals does not stop you from investing in the league.
You act as if the person trying to bring in foreign nationals is the guy who will single handedly improve the league if he just stopped going after foreign borns.
Such a childish argument.
CD is a major headache and for me is the only dept with no better options out there.
That’s the problem.
The full back and wingback positions have options. The midfield has options. The strike force same thing.
But our CENTRAL defence ….nah.
That’s the problem.
The full back and wingback positions have options. The midfield has options. The strike force same thing.
But our CENTRAL defence ….nah.
Akpoguma, Awaziem, Ajayi
All of these would be better than Troost, who is declining rapidly before our very eyes. He's been poor for a while, but it's getting worse.
We also should go back to 433 so we don't need to be playing 3 centrebacks.
433 has always been our best formation.
Rohr is just stuck on autopilot with his "Oyibo wall"
Too many call-ups. I’d keep your list minus Ajayi (just as bad or even worse than what we have), Dennis (too many better players in his position) and Nwobodo (not sure what he has to offer but then I’m not too familiar with him atm).vancity eagle wrote: ↑Tue Nov 16, 2021 10:32 pm Callup
Ejaria, Lookman, Alhassan, Onyedika, Dennis, Sadiq, Ajayi, Awoniyi, Ebuehi, Kalu, Nwobodo
Drop
Musa, Shehu, Ighalo, Onuachu,
Relegate to deep bench
Simon, Collins, Troost,
I agree with all your ‘droplets’. Let’s drop them quickly and permanently after thanking them for their services.
I’d have added Troost but we have no better alternatives at the moment, so we just have to stick with him until.
A bit like Rohr himself tbh.
So your deep bench is in order.
I’m sold on Awaziem until proven otherwise. Akpoguma I’ve really not seen enough of and am wary of making assumptions based on what we’ve not seen.vancity eagle wrote: ↑Wed Nov 17, 2021 7:05 amAkpoguma, Awaziem, Ajayi
All of these would be better than Troost, who is declining rapidly before our very eyes. He's been poor for a while, but it's getting worse.
Is he as good as we hope mainly because we haven’t seen enough of him? Hopefully he really is better than what we have.
Forget Ajayi. He has no confidence and projects none, whether to his co-defenders or his opponents.
Watching Canada play better than Nigeria you see that a clear part of attack is the wingbacks. They get very far forward, put in decent crosses and dribble into the box.
How often do we see Simon and Collins doing that ? How often do our players flood the opposing box getting forward ?
That is how you score goals, not simply lobbing the ball for Osimehn to chase.
How often do we see Simon and Collins doing that ? How often do our players flood the opposing box getting forward ?
That is how you score goals, not simply lobbing the ball for Osimehn to chase.
Damunk I think you are being unfair to Ajayi.Damunk wrote: ↑Wed Nov 17, 2021 7:31 amI’m sold on Awaziem until proven otherwise. Akpoguma I’ve really not seen enough of and am wary of making assumptions based on what we’ve not seen.vancity eagle wrote: ↑Wed Nov 17, 2021 7:05 amAkpoguma, Awaziem, Ajayi
Is he as good as we hope mainly because we haven’t seen enough of him? Hopefully he really is better than what we have.
Forget Ajayi. He has no confidence and projects none, whether to his co-defenders or his opponents.
The guy has had ONE bad game. ONE. And you want to cast him aside. Remember that he has manned our defence both against Brazil and Ukraine and did very well.
We cannot cast him aside for ONE mistake against Sierra Leone, when the "oyibo wall" continue to make blunders every match and have lost us cheap games on more than one occasion.
Also the fact is that Ajayi offers a decent option as DM, and for all those citing Shehu as a "utility player" Ajayi is a player who we can legitimately use in multiple capacities.
Why call up Bonke when you can call Ajayi instead.
Ajayi cannot seriously be worse than Troost ATM.
Ebuehi, Eze (if he’s made his mind up about representing us)
Last I checked the African Cup of Nations is our next challenge. You may want to rephrase your question.
Ok, which players in the expanded AFCON list would you want to see invited? the AFCON team will more or less form the foundation of the team that will play in the World cup play offs.
- airwolex
They are all decent players, but not one of them will make a major difference on their own without a change of management
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Rohr has actually capped abi na invited some players who should be looked at again.
Ighalo certainly should not be starting and playing 77 minutes in an important world cup qualifier. Moffi and Awoniyi should be ahead of him.
Musa was called up even when he was with out a club. Ighalo played 77 men's against CV. Rohr has his favorites and he is conservative. Won't shock me if he drops Osimhen and goes back to starting Ighalo which is what he wants to do.
Mikel, Ogu, Uchebo…..
We need the experience and they will compliment Ighalo
Nigeria could face one of the following teams. Mali, Egypt, Cameroon, Ghana and DR Congo. I think Ghana would be my choice based on current form.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
I really don't know why Damunk can't stand the guy.
Regardless, I think he is no worse that Troost, to be honest. I would rank him in our top 4 CDs.
Nothing wrong in calling all of them to camp and let them slug it out over a week before the final squad is named.
I mean, if a Div 2 player from Spain can be on the team (Omeruo), why can't Ajayi?
Regardless, I think he is no worse that Troost, to be honest. I would rank him in our top 4 CDs.
Nothing wrong in calling all of them to camp and let them slug it out over a week before the final squad is named.
I mean, if a Div 2 player from Spain can be on the team (Omeruo), why can't Ajayi?
vancity eagle wrote: ↑Wed Nov 17, 2021 7:38 amDamunk I think you are being unfair to Ajayi.
The guy has had ONE bad game. ONE. And you want to cast him aside. Remember that he has manned our defence both against Brazil and Ukraine and did very well.
We cannot cast him aside for ONE mistake against Sierra Leone, when the "oyibo wall" continue to make blunders every match and have lost us cheap games on more than one occasion.
Also the fact is that Ajayi offers a decent option as DM, and for all those citing Shehu as a "utility player" Ajayi is a player who we can legitimately use in multiple capacities.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
On recent form, he is not doing well at WBA. The fans were eviscerating him for his performance.Otitokoro wrote: ↑Wed Nov 17, 2021 8:44 pm I really don't know why Damunk can't stand the guy.
vancity eagle wrote: ↑Wed Nov 17, 2021 7:38 amDamunk I think you are being unfair to Ajayi.
But I do agree that he should be in the mix... at least to compete. CD is not a position you typically mix and match... they have to have chemistry. Me, if it is not a team that uses the long ball or sprays crosses into our box, I will rather have a ball playing CD partnership. I really would have loved to see Akpoguoma play one of the 3 CD slots in a back 3. But Ajayi should be in the mix.
Ndidi and Shehu should be the wing backs/FB and Onyeka the DM. Ndidi is no good in the middle in a fast paces game. Simon is too easily outmuscled off the ball. Hope Rohr recalls Victor Moses and Ozeonwafor.
Warrahel did I just read?