OFFICIAL SQUAD AGAINST GHANA RELEASED
- maceo4
Re: Eguavoen releases SQUAD against Ghana
You are always too emotional, pretend you are a logical person and try to reason. Would you prefer to go to war with tested or untested soldiers? Would you take a NT rookie who will not have time to get up to speed and so will likely not be able to provide what the missions requires if your neck is on the line? Or are these rookies are just some wizkids way more talented and gifted than the existing soldiers we currently have? I mean we are talking about players in Belgium, Turkey, Denmark, Championship etc, these aren't some phenoms that we can risk in a crucial WCQ. Worse thing is your are blaming an interim coach who has zero games to feel these guys out and see what they can offer, rather than the real culprit who spent umpteen years ignoring our midfield dilemma...vancity eagle wrote: ↑Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:03 pmSo you can call Onazi ?maceo4 wrote: ↑Fri Mar 04, 2022 4:22 pmI wouldn’t risk too many new faces for such a crucial match. The real issue is why these guys never got a look in over the previous umpteen years with many friendlies so we can have an understanding of who fits in and who can be trusted to do a good job at the NT level, it’s not this kind of game that you will be taking those risks, so you can’t really blame Egu here. He’s working within the confines of the mess he inherited and hasn’t had the opportunity of friendlies to really try and address those issues.vancity eagle wrote: ↑Fri Mar 04, 2022 4:16 pmWe do not lack options in midfield.maceo4 wrote: ↑Fri Mar 04, 2022 3:32 pmEbuehi is currently injured. Etebo has only been playing with the U-23's so its interesting seeing his name on the list, guess it underlines our lack of proper midfield options.Lolly wrote: ↑Fri Mar 04, 2022 2:55 pm Our coaches must have a special strong drink that causes them to make boneheaded decisions.
Etebo hasn’t played competitive football in almost 6 months. Shehu Abdulahi over
Ebuehi? Collins dropped for who? Sadiq over Awoniyi? Onazi? And 10 attackers and wide midfielders as against 4 central midfielders. A typical Nigeria squad.
We are just plagued with clueless coaches.
Alhasan Yusuf and Obinna Nwobodo are waiting to be called.
They play week in week out and have good numbers, yet Egu would rather call 10 strikers and have Onazi on standby.
Kai
These clowns are not serious.
Amoo, Lookman, Dennis, are they not new faces ?
Same with Bassey.
The "new face" excuse does not hold.
Egu like Rohr and other SE coaches before them continue to fail woefully when it comes to handling our midfield .
Such disrespect WILL be punished.
Re: OFFICIAL SQUAD AGAINST GHANA RELEASED
8 defenders 9 forwards and 4 midfielders wow. Amoo is not a midfielder, more like a forward ala Moses
as usual we ignore midfield and flight balls to strikers until we get found out and confusion starts
all the best to the SE, hoping they find a way to qualify for the big dance
as usual we ignore midfield and flight balls to strikers until we get found out and confusion starts
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli
Re: Eguavoen releases SQUAD against Ghana
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Fri Mar 04, 2022 2:20 pm Onazi on standby?
[/quote
That was a surprise to me.![]()
We have better players why occupy space with old dogs?
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
I hope they all remain healthy.
I also hope that the best team get to play... and not an issue of player profile.
Sabb.sabb wrote: ↑Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:43 pm 8 defenders 9 forwards and 4 midfielders wow. Amoo is not a midfielder, more like a forward ala Moses
It is time we call a spade a SPADE. You are really writing about central midfielders and not midfielders in general. Let that be clear. There is a decided difference.
Are there midfielders on that list. Yes. A TON OF THEM are listed. Many are widefielders and for areason because Egu chooses to use the wide areas. Moses Simon is a wide midfielder. Chukwueze is and there are others.
Let that be clear.
Now if you choose to write on CENTRAL midfielders then perhaps you have a debate. But there is none to be had if you are writing about midfielders in general. There are a ton of them listed.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
The ANC squad was good too. The problem then was the goalkeepers and with this squad, it still is. If they put Maduka in goal, their chance of a win drops significantly.
- airwolex
Ghana's goalie plays in D3 or something, so it all balances out
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
No, it doesn't!
Nkunku has agreed to play for Dr Congo? Thats a massive coupbret- hart wrote: ↑Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:10 pm Tobi stop this nonsence new faces talk. Other countries are bringing in reinforcements. Mali with Dacore Congo with Nkunku and Bisakka etc. If Ghana could the likes of Lamptey and CHO would be in their squad today. There is no reason why Yusuf Nwadike Adeleye Nwobodo etc should not be in the squad including the standby list. WTF is Onazi & Abdulahi doing there?
I can't find any info on that anywhereBigpokey24 wrote: ↑Fri Mar 04, 2022 6:26 pmNkunku has agreed to play for Dr Congo? Thats a massive coupbret- hart wrote: ↑Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:10 pm Tobi stop this nonsence new faces talk. Other countries are bringing in reinforcements. Mali with Dacore Congo with Nkunku and Bisakka etc. If Ghana could the likes of Lamptey and CHO would be in their squad today. There is no reason why Yusuf Nwadike Adeleye Nwobodo etc should not be in the squad including the standby list. WTF is Onazi & Abdulahi doing there?
I think the crew went with familiarity for the new faces.
Egu has been enamored with Amoo and had gone out of his way to mention him prior to the AFCON. Iwobi's absence was the perfect excuse to bring him in from the Coach's stand point. If you look around we dont have a replacement for Iwobi. Eze is not Nigerian, Tosin Kehinde has been largely ignored...heck he would have been a newbie as well.
Etebo has been training for over a month and is trying to get match fit. Will he be ready in 3 weeks? That's plenty of time, so it's a risk worth taking because of his pedigree and FAMILIARITY with the squad. Nwobodo, Yusuf and Nwadike are having good seasons. I just don't think the coaching staff knows anything about them. NO FAMILIARITY.
Lookman, Bassey, Dennis though newbies, have been all over our TV screens putting up top performances week in week out. I can wager you this exposure is what lead to their invitation. Once i saw Dennis and Lookman in those pics, I knew for a fact they'll be invited. Again FAMILIARITY.
As for Onazi....well might as well put John Ogu there too. They took the familiarity thing too far because I doubt Egu or Amuneke has seen 1 Onazi game this season in the Saudi second division.
If I am to gripe about the main list, its the inclusion of Shehu over Akpoguma and the absence of Ejuke. Seems Lookmantook his place. I would have found room for him.
Egu has been enamored with Amoo and had gone out of his way to mention him prior to the AFCON. Iwobi's absence was the perfect excuse to bring him in from the Coach's stand point. If you look around we dont have a replacement for Iwobi. Eze is not Nigerian, Tosin Kehinde has been largely ignored...heck he would have been a newbie as well.
Etebo has been training for over a month and is trying to get match fit. Will he be ready in 3 weeks? That's plenty of time, so it's a risk worth taking because of his pedigree and FAMILIARITY with the squad. Nwobodo, Yusuf and Nwadike are having good seasons. I just don't think the coaching staff knows anything about them. NO FAMILIARITY.
Lookman, Bassey, Dennis though newbies, have been all over our TV screens putting up top performances week in week out. I can wager you this exposure is what lead to their invitation. Once i saw Dennis and Lookman in those pics, I knew for a fact they'll be invited. Again FAMILIARITY.
As for Onazi....well might as well put John Ogu there too. They took the familiarity thing too far because I doubt Egu or Amuneke has seen 1 Onazi game this season in the Saudi second division.
If I am to gripe about the main list, its the inclusion of Shehu over Akpoguma and the absence of Ejuke. Seems Lookmantook his place. I would have found room for him.
I KPOM the above. Let me add that I understand Shehu over Akpoguma. If you go back to the pre-AFCON, it appears there had been an attempt to call Akpoguma as a replacement but he declined. As for Shehu, he was actually on Egu's initial list for AFCON. On that basis, I see where Egu is on those two.Ugbowo wrote: ↑Fri Mar 04, 2022 6:53 pm I think the crew went with familiarity for the new faces.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
- danfo driver
Yea, i feel you. But just imagine how much Eguavoen will hate you if he knew of your rotten existence.
Ugbowo wrote: ↑Fri Mar 04, 2022 6:53 pm I think the crew went with familiarity for the new faces.
Problem though is that Amoo plays more from wide to the middle, rather than from a central position, which is how his role as a #10 has been defined so far.
I am often hesitant to quibble with lists and prefer to focus on role definition and organization.
Its a good list in a very predictable way. In my mind's eye, I can almost picture how we will play and on the same index of predictability, I expect a superior squad to prevail.
All things being equal...
Still something missing for me about all this...
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
I am just now hearing rumblings of the Akpoguma issue pre AFCON. I have not been able to confirm. Maybe that was the case. With Ebuehi's injury and Akpoguma's perceived reluctance, Shehu was the logical choice for these games.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 04, 2022 7:17 pmI KPOM the above. Let me add that I understand Shehu over Akpoguma. If you go back to the pre-AFCON, it appears there had been an attempt to call Akpoguma as a replacement but he declined. As for Shehu, he was actually on Egu's initial list for AFCON. On that basis, I see where Egu is on those two.Ugbowo wrote: ↑Fri Mar 04, 2022 6:53 pm I think the crew went with familiarity for the new faces.
Completely agree with you on the predictability of the team. However, I am curious on how he will use Dennis. Support striker? Sub for Osimhen? Outside on the flanks? We'll see.txj wrote: ↑Fri Mar 04, 2022 7:41 pmUgbowo wrote: ↑Fri Mar 04, 2022 6:53 pm I think the crew went with familiarity for the new faces.
Problem though is that Amoo plays more from wide to the middle, rather than from a central position, which is how his role as a #10 has been defined so far.
I am often hesitant to quibble with lists and prefer to focus on role definition and organization.
Its a good list in a very predictable way. In my mind's eye, I can almost picture how we will play and on the same index of predictability, I expect a superior squad to prevail.
All things being equal...
Still something missing for me about all this...
As for Amoo, I am using Egu's logic because I doubt Egu watched a full Hammarby game. May have seen some highlights and had familiarity with the kid in the national team youth set up. In his mind, with no Iwobi, I'll invite Amoo and list him as a central midfielder. From what I know, he really likes the kid. I doubt he will see game action but you never know.
- bret- hart
You can invite Nwobodo Yusuf and Nwadike and still have Etebo in the squad. I hope you guys know who we are playing agaisnt. Ghana is a midfield heavy team. If they lock up the middle we are screwed. What happens if God forbid Ndidi gets injured?Tobi17 wrote: ↑Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:20 pmYou don't get it, I'm not arguing against the fact that all these guys you listed don't deserve to be invited, but do they really stand out so prominently that they would make any significant difference in that team- especially in the midfield compared to the players we currently have? Nwobodo plays in a position Etebo effectively thrives in, even Bassey who is very versatile can play as a defensive-mid; ditto Ajayi... Yusuf and Nwadike are satellite players who aren't any different from Innocent Bonke (whom I actually prefer over those players) cause he plays in a better league at least... This team remains the best we could have had and I trust Egu/Amunike to handle the business!bret- hart wrote: ↑Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:10 pm Tobi stop this nonsence new faces talk. Other countries are bringing in reinforcements. Mali with Dacore Congo with Nkunku and Bisakka etc. If Ghana could the likes of Lamptey and CHO would be in their squad today. There is no reason why Yusuf Nwadike Adeleye Nwobodo etc should not be in the squad including the standby list. WTF is Onazi & Abdulahi doing there?
Same midfield over ran by Comoros?bret- hart wrote: ↑Fri Mar 04, 2022 8:09 pmYou can invite Nwobodo Yusuf and Nwadike and still have Etebo in the squad. I hope you guys know who we are playing agaisnt. Ghana is a midfield heavy team. If they lock up the middle we are screwed. What happens if God forbid Ndidi gets injured?Tobi17 wrote: ↑Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:20 pmYou don't get it, I'm not arguing against the fact that all these guys you listed don't deserve to be invited, but do they really stand out so prominently that they would make any significant difference in that team- especially in the midfield compared to the players we currently have? Nwobodo plays in a position Etebo effectively thrives in, even Bassey who is very versatile can play as a defensive-mid; ditto Ajayi... Yusuf and Nwadike are satellite players who aren't any different from Innocent Bonke (whom I actually prefer over those players) cause he plays in a better league at least... This team remains the best we could have had and I trust Egu/Amunike to handle the business!bret- hart wrote: ↑Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:10 pm Tobi stop this nonsence new faces talk. Other countries are bringing in reinforcements. Mali with Dacore Congo with Nkunku and Bisakka etc. If Ghana could the likes of Lamptey and CHO would be in their squad today. There is no reason why Yusuf Nwadike Adeleye Nwobodo etc should not be in the squad including the standby list. WTF is Onazi & Abdulahi doing there?

We will beat Ghana home and away. It will be our easiest win in the 2022 world cup qualifying series.
Bret Fart is not concerned about any midfield. He is trying to make a case for his clients.

naijaguy wrote: ↑Fri Mar 04, 2022 10:09 pmSame midfield over ran by Comoros?bret- hart wrote: ↑Fri Mar 04, 2022 8:09 pmYou can invite Nwobodo Yusuf and Nwadike and still have Etebo in the squad. I hope you guys know who we are playing agaisnt. Ghana is a midfield heavy team. If they lock up the middle we are screwed. What happens if God forbid Ndidi gets injured?Tobi17 wrote: ↑Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:20 pmYou don't get it, I'm not arguing against the fact that all these guys you listed don't deserve to be invited, but do they really stand out so prominently that they would make any significant difference in that team- especially in the midfield compared to the players we currently have? Nwobodo plays in a position Etebo effectively thrives in, even Bassey who is very versatile can play as a defensive-mid; ditto Ajayi... Yusuf and Nwadike are satellite players who aren't any different from Innocent Bonke (whom I actually prefer over those players) cause he plays in a better league at least... This team remains the best we could have had and I trust Egu/Amunike to handle the business!bret- hart wrote: ↑Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:10 pm Tobi stop this nonsence new faces talk. Other countries are bringing in reinforcements. Mali with Dacore Congo with Nkunku and Bisakka etc. If Ghana could the likes of Lamptey and CHO would be in their squad today. There is no reason why Yusuf Nwadike Adeleye Nwobodo etc should not be in the squad including the standby list. WTF is Onazi & Abdulahi doing there?![]()
We will beat Ghana home and away. It will be our easiest win in the 2022 world cup qualifying series.