Nigeria vs South Africa (1-1) Ekong, Mokoena 4-2 PK
Re: Nigeria vs South Africa (0-0)
danfo driver wrote: ↑Wed Feb 07, 2024 6:31 pm At the water break, Brooz changed his tactics. Moved Tau to the space between Ajayi and Osayi. And they are dropping over head passes in that space, with their number 9 hanging around for second balls.
He did change the press/shape also
I think we need Omeruo so he can move Aina to right
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
Great recovery by Victor to prevent that long range shot
yes we are. big time
How can you as a team give all the initiate to your opponent and we said we have the superior players.
Osayi lacks positional awareness
As e dey vex you, e dey sweet us.
Where is the goal? Eagles, please give us a goal before half time
- Field Marshall Ogolo
I agree! How old is Ahmed Musa?

I never LOSE, I either WIN or LEARN. – Nelson Mandela
Re: Nigeria vs South Africa (0-0) HT
Lol we will beat South Africa
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
They are not "giving" anything. This is a semi final match for crying out loud. Did yall expect SA to come here and bend over?
Is Saidou injured? We are missing him badly. He give the team balance.
He surely did not cover himself in glory in the opening half. Missing a header from almost halfway line that nearly let RSA in was awful.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
- airwolex
Can't get much worse. We were pretty much embarrassed. I think Bruno needs to come in and Osayi out. Omeruo in and Bassey to the left.
Then Ajayi and Ekong need to win that first ball.
Osayi is the major problem
What a terrible 1st half. We seem confused on how curtail the fast movements of the South Africans
Tactically, Osayi's been a problem.
Without Zaidu the balance of the team is not there.
I would bring in Omeruo for Osayi and return Aina to the right, with Bassey as LWB..
Without Zaidu the balance of the team is not there.
I would bring in Omeruo for Osayi and return Aina to the right, with Bassey as LWB..
He should not come out his game is not matured at all. Aina too dwells too much on the ball for my liking.
- danfo driver
What is Bruno doing on the team? Is there something we dont know about?txj wrote: ↑Wed Feb 07, 2024 6:35 pmdanfo driver wrote: ↑Wed Feb 07, 2024 6:31 pm At the water break, Brooz changed his tactics. Moved Tau to the space between Ajayi and Osayi. And they are dropping over head passes in that space, with their number 9 hanging around for second balls.
He did change the press/shape also
I think we need Omeruo so he can move Aina to right
Personally, I think its less so about the players. Our coach is below average. I watched SA's last two games and this is how they play. They are very good with moving the ball around. A smart coach would have sat back and hit them on counter in the first half. Then in the second half (they always get tired after the 70th minute, thats how Morocco and CV got those 1v1 chances), I will change strategy and hit them ferociously.
But our coach who has coached only 2 great games in 1 year (and the natives were twerking for him), looks clueless
This is what I meant by drilled sequences. South Africa'song balls are not speculative. That is pure tactics. The way they deliver their long balls is dangerous. They loft it rather than direct it. Over the defense and the striker times the point of interception.
A Nigerian long ball would be hit more direct and easily cut out.
This South Africans are playing with a lot of intelligence.
A Nigerian long ball would be hit more direct and easily cut out.
This South Africans are playing with a lot of intelligence.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
the way tension dey hold me , i just dey shake. I am going for a quick walk ..
Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Wed Feb 07, 2024 6:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
I tire...the arrogance and entitlement of Nigerians is a case study of its own.metalalloy wrote: ↑Wed Feb 07, 2024 6:38 pmThey are not "giving" anything. This is a semi final match for crying out loud. Did yall expect SA to come here and bend over?
- green4life
Easily our worst performance so far in this tournament. South Africa is playing as I expected but our levels have dropped from previous games. Osimhen is playing like he's saving his energy unless the stomach cramps early in the game is slowing him down. The effort is there from the players but they aren't playing well as a team compared to the prior 2 or 3 games which has allowed SA to string some passes together. Also, we need to keep an eye out on their long passes from the back.
- airwolex
They all played poorly. I think SAs quality surprised them. This is a dogfight