Benin 2 (Dossou, Mounie) Nigeria 1(Onyedika)
Re: Benin 2 (Dossou, Mounie) Nigeria 1(Onyedika)
People have their biases and they won’t accept criticism of their favourite players.Damunk wrote: ↑Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:56 pmEnyi wrote: ↑Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:46 pmBut Benin did…TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: ↑Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:42 pm We must now face the truth. The SuperEagles are subpar. How are any of the forwards who played today better than Iheanacho? They are clearly not but some of us would want to single out a scapegoat instead of admitting the barefaced truth. We really don’t have the depth we thought we had
The level of depth that Benin has is so great that I think they can match any team in the world!!
Am sure Boniface will struggle to get into the Benin side? So would Lookman, Chukwueze, and of cos Osimhen….!!
Iheanacho must be TTTK’s nephew or something.
His love for the guy is unflinching.
Leave matta.![]()
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
Our next game is against Rwanda in Rwanda. They beat SA 2 - 0 there.
It is not the coach. The blame goes to NFF first, and then the players. The NFF lack organizational skill. Cannot organize friendlies, lack ability to plan ahead. They know that the contract for the former coach was approaching and yet did not make decision to retain or look for a future coach if they decided not to keep him. The players were so relaxed as if there were playing pickup games. And again, those long balls are annoying, could it be that they think they know better than the coach. Do they trust their tactics going into the game. Do they have sense of playing for one another. They supposed to be playing for Nigeria not self, cover for each other and do whatever is necessary to win a game. Do they watch the time while playing. It is a Nigerian problem; we think we know better than the next guy and always trying to bully our way through. It does not work when it matters. Someone said we should look in the mirror and agree to that.
Well said my brother.icee wrote: ↑Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:40 pm I said yesterday - My strategy had turned into hoping and prayer because on the merits of key decisions made from ANC, we do not deserve success if the world is just. I love my eagles so still hopefully but I braced myself for this one. Somethings in life are easy and straightforward but we do more work to impose complexity and chaos.
One thing I'll touch on later. The players did not believe Finidi is a component coach. Finidi has been with this team a while you know so they know what they were getting. Rumour had it that players did want the change. Maybe that's why some of them didn't go out of there way to play injured. At Afcon, we had at least 4 players who played with injuries. Ekong played injured from the second game. The believed in the project, and they can tell when everyone has a defined role - it was clear to see.
Dammy wrote: ↑Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:46 pmYou dey mind am! He’s trying to use wayo to exonerate himself. He criticised both Rohr and Peseiro and supported the hiring of local coaches and it failed each time!

How is that possible bro?airwolex wrote: ↑Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:57 pm It was blatantly obvious that Benin were tactically better. I think Munie won all his aeriel duels.
I have had it with this Onuachu fella. I always defend him but what's the use being :LeBron James height when shorter guys are winning balls over you? A lot of guys simply need to go.
They had a “clueless journeyman” of a coach who is too old and forever “learning” but never quite delivering anything. He was unceremoniously sacked from his last job for failing to….Uhm…uhm…
Sorry, I’ll have to get back to you on that one.

Meanwhile, we have a young, fresh, winning coach of the NPFL.
So it can’t be that.
It must be juju or something more rational
Cellular wrote: ↑Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:40 pmZero sense of urgency by everyone involved.green4life wrote: ↑Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:37 pmLittle to do with the players and everything to do with the manager & NFF. We just finished second in the ANC months ago with the same players who were organized and developed a culture of work ethic on and off the ball. Then we blew that up for an inexperienced rookie manager and we want to act surprised? Really?Enugu II wrote: ↑Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:28 pm Incredible.....1-2 down and no energy, no push. Just incredible. For me Manager has to go but several of these players should simply be cut. Get players who can give us all out effort. We have been getting this low effort for months now but simply changing managers has not cured it.....NFF must find a manager who is ready to clear house and lay down the hammer.![]()
Starting with the NFF and Sports Ministry with the drama of choosing a coach.
Preparations for the game.
Players not taking the games as seriously as they should have taken it.
Even them couldn't overcome bad coaching.
Oh well.
Finidi just put the death nail on any talk of a local coach handling the Eagles in the foreseeable future.![]()
Motivating a team to reach their maximum potential is crucial for any coach's success. This skillful endeavor requires a blend of leadership, communication, and transparency. From the get-go, it was evident that Coach Finidi lacked these qualities. However, some people were sentimentally blind to these obvious facts.
Damunk wrote: ↑Mon Jun 10, 2024 7:10 pmHow is that possible bro?airwolex wrote: ↑Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:57 pm It was blatantly obvious that Benin were tactically better. I think Munie won all his aeriel duels.
I have had it with this Onuachu fella. I always defend him but what's the use being :LeBron James height when shorter guys are winning balls over you? A lot of guys simply need to go.
They had a “clueless journeyman” of a coach who is too old and forever “learning” but never quite delivering anything. He was unceremoniously sacked from his last job for failing to….Uhm…uhm…
Sorry, I’ll have to get back to you on that one.
Meanwhile, we have a young, fresh, winning coach of the NPFL.
So it can’t be that.
It must be juju or something more rational

I hope this conspiracy theory is not true... This would be transferring what players do in the Premiership to get coaches sacked to the SE.icee wrote: ↑Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:40 pm I said yesterday - My strategy had turned into hoping and prayer because on the merits of key decisions made from ANC, we do not deserve success if the world is just. I love my eagles so still hopefully but I braced myself for this one. Somethings in life are easy and straightforward but we do more work to impose complexity and chaos.
One thing I'll touch on later. The players did not believe Finidi is a component coach. Finidi has been with this team a while you know so they know what they were getting. Rumour had it that players did want the change. Maybe that's why some of them didn't go out of there way to play injured. At Afcon, we had at least 4 players who played with injuries. Ekong played injured from the second game. The believed in the project, and they can tell when everyone has a defined role - it was clear to see.
If the players didn't want a change, they should have gone a whip round and paid for the coach, they wanted, cos Nigerians economy is not smiling.
At the end of the day, the players are the ones who will not go to the WC.
But this was never an issue during AFCON, was it?Striker wrote: ↑Mon Jun 10, 2024 7:04 pm It is not the coach. The blame goes to NFF first, and then the players. The NFF lack organizational skill. Cannot organize friendlies, lack ability to plan ahead. They know that the contract for the former coach was approaching and yet did not make decision to retain or look for a future coach if they decided not to keep him. The players were so relaxed as if there were playing pickup games. And again, those long balls are annoying, could it be that they think they know better than the coach. Do they trust their tactics going into the game. Do they have sense of playing for one another. They supposed to be playing for Nigeria not self, cover for each other and do whatever is necessary to win a game. Do they watch the time while playing. It is a Nigerian problem; we think we know better than the next guy and always trying to bully our way through. It does not work when it matters. Someone said we should look in the mirror and agree to that.
Nigerians rightly gave them a Pat on the back.
The team is essentially the same.
So how do you think your suspicions pan out with all that in mind?
This time around, Naija cannot blame Ghana, so no more bad belle.
Anyway, Ghana will play in 15mins.
Watch out for the following players
Anyway, Ghana will play in 15mins.
Watch out for the following players
- World Class: Kudus(better that Messi), Partey(Vieira reincanation), Djiku(Fenerbache)
EPL Stars: Lamptey(Brighton), Ayew(Crystal Palace), Fataw(ask Ndidi & Iheano), Suelaman(Southampton)
It's obvious without Victor Osimhen, Simon Moses, Zaidu, Ahmed Musa et al SE no be team.
Hope springs eternal

"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."

"We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope" (Martin Luther King, Jr)
He was derided here by some because he didn't score 10 goals at the AFCON. We can only appreciate his contribution if he scores 10 goals as an AFOY. In any case, I don't think he could have made much of a difference to this sinking ship.
Nigerians do not appreciate what they have, so they'll continually be placed in situations where they're forced to appreciate what they have. I can understand replacing a coach when he has failed. But we sacked Rohr when he was achieving his objectives and replaced him with someone less experienced, and we saw the results of that action. It is poetic that the same Rohr has defeated us with a team we've traditionally dominated—certainly when you look out our H2H with Benin.
Peseiro knew this was a sinking ship, so he bailed. NFF should have moved quickly to replace him with an experienced coach capable of qualifying the team for the WC. But they messed up.
I told you guys that Perseiro knew this team will not qualify for the worldcup from a group that has SA after AFCON - he almost had a heart attack. The guy realized that these payers are crap and ran away.
Are you saying that things you do not know, do not exist, just because you do not know that they exist?
Wow! So we lost to Benin Republic in a NEUTRAL country, or land? We lost to Rohr? Hmmmmmmmmmmm!
IMO, Peseiro already knew this even before the AFCON. Getting to the AFCON final did not convince him that we would qualify. Which coach doesn't want to be at the WC? If he thought he could get Nigeria there, he would have stayed.Goalgetter wrote: ↑Mon Jun 10, 2024 7:39 pm I told you guys that Perseiro knew this team will not qualify for the worldcup from a group that has SA after AFCON - he almost had a heart attack. The guy realized that these payers are crap and ran away.
- bret- hart
Orion wrote: ↑Mon Jun 10, 2024 7:45 pmIMO, Peseiro already knew this even before the AFCON. Getting to the AFCON final did not convince him that we would qualify. Which coach doesn't want to be at the WC? If he thought he could get Nigeria there, he would have stayed.Goalgetter wrote: ↑Mon Jun 10, 2024 7:39 pm I told you guys that Perseiro knew this team will not qualify for the worldcup from a group that has SA after AFCON - he almost had a heart attack. The guy realized that these payers are crap and ran away.
The players are lazy and uninterested. Only one that is willing to put his heart and body on the line is Osimhen. This team needs a massive overhaul.
hmm no be me open this game thread ooo..

- COOKING SPOON
WHAT DOES BONIFACE HAVE TO DO WITH THIS?Siddonlook11 wrote: ↑Mon Jun 10, 2024 6:54 pmAh but you wanted Boniface - Hope you saw why he was not played ..Anyway i don still blame finidi why he would invite all these players that were unfit and not hungry tire person.
THE BOTTOM LINE IS THAT FINIDI IS A COMPLETE WASHOUT.
TWO PLAYERS IN OUR BACK LINE WERE PLAYED OUT OF POSITION.
THE FORMATION WAS TOTALLY WRONG FOR THE PLAYERS THAT WE HAD AVAILABLE.
LOOK AT THE PLAYERS HE INVITED IN THE FIRST PLACE, THE TEAM WAS COMPLETELY UNBALANCED.
FINIDI MUST GO
They seek him here.
They seek him there.
Moderators seek him everywhere.
They seek him at night
And even at noon
That damn elusive cooking spoon
They seek him there.
Moderators seek him everywhere.
They seek him at night
And even at noon
That damn elusive cooking spoon
If you pay attention to his early days (Perseiro), he was so convinced that he will hammer teams playing his favored high-intensity total dominance attacking football with the players he has. But dude realized that they’re are crap and switched tactics at AFCON to avoid getting knocked-out in the group phase.bret- hart wrote: ↑Mon Jun 10, 2024 7:51 pmOrion wrote: ↑Mon Jun 10, 2024 7:45 pmIMO, Peseiro already knew this even before the AFCON. Getting to the AFCON final did not convince him that we would qualify. Which coach doesn't want to be at the WC? If he thought he could get Nigeria there, he would have stayed.Goalgetter wrote: ↑Mon Jun 10, 2024 7:39 pm I told you guys that Perseiro knew this team will not qualify for the worldcup from a group that has SA after AFCON - he almost had a heart attack. The guy realized that these payers are crap and ran away.
The players are lazy and uninterested. Only one that is willing to put his heart and body on the line is Osimhen. This team needs a massive overhaul.
Are you saying that things you do not know, do not exist, just because you do not know that they exist?
So what happened to the two friendlies in March that Finidi oversaw?Striker wrote: ↑Mon Jun 10, 2024 7:04 pm It is not the coach. The blame goes to NFF first, and then the players. The NFF lack organizational skill. Cannot organize friendlies, lack ability to plan ahead. They know that the contract for the former coach was approaching and yet did not make decision to retain or look for a future coach if they decided not to keep him. The players were so relaxed as if there were playing pickup games. And again, those long balls are annoying, could it be that they think they know better than the coach. Do they trust their tactics going into the game. Do they have sense of playing for one another. They supposed to be playing for Nigeria not self, cover for each other and do whatever is necessary to win a game. Do they watch the time while playing. It is a Nigerian problem; we think we know better than the next guy and always trying to bully our way through. It does not work when it matters. Someone said we should look in the mirror and agree to that.
When some of us were shouting that Finidi messed up those two friendlies, the “local coach” brigade” were saying it’s only friendlies. I quickly figured out that Finidi would self destruct and I was right. He just wanted to change things for change purpose, ignoring the dangers of some of his strange decisions. His squad selection was criminal especially in defence and his replacements even more criminal.
It’s funny how people are blaming the NFF after we all forced the NFF to appoint one of our legends to satisfy the thirst for a local coach. The same legend now comes in and starts messing about with the squad and making strange decisions on the pitch and the bench. The NFF have not done anything wrong here. The blame lies solely with the coach.
And it must be said that injuries depleted the team but he has been around the team for 2 years and should have managed the reserves better. He waisted those 2 friendlies.