Euro 2024
Re: Euro 2024
This Netherlands team is 10 times better than the unimaginative one that played at the 2022 WC
Being a Man Utd legend does not make someone bullet proof or immune from criticism. Constructive criticism exists. Failure to praise someone when he is behaving selfishly, to the detriment of the team, and putting his individual goals above those of the other 25 members of the team, does not make me a “hater”. It makes me an objective fan.
Even if the referee made a mistake, it does not justify dissent. Players get unjust yellow and red cards every week - however, the ref’s decision is final (unless overturned by the VAR). Please note that Ronaldo started his histrionics and dissent to the ref before that penalty decision.
Portugal
does have better options than him at present: they are called Diogo Jota and Gonçalo Ramos (both of whom are lethal finishers). With Ronaldo in the team, Portugal
has to play a style that does not suit its players’ talents, and mimic 1980s era Wimbledon. It is embarrassing to watch skillful playmakers like Bernardo Silva and Bruno Fernandes fire crosses into the box because that is the most likely way that Ronaldo can score. They cannot play slide rule passes in behind opposition defenders like they do every game at their clubs because Ronaldo is no longer mobile or fast enough to outpace defenders.
His presence in the team is actually holding Portugal back because the team has to completely reorientate its tactics to accommodate him.
Even if the referee made a mistake, it does not justify dissent. Players get unjust yellow and red cards every week - however, the ref’s decision is final (unless overturned by the VAR). Please note that Ronaldo started his histrionics and dissent to the ref before that penalty decision.
Portugal
His presence in the team is actually holding Portugal back because the team has to completely reorientate its tactics to accommodate him.
felarey wrote: ↑Wed Jul 03, 2024 5:13 pm
Why this attack on a Man Utd legend?? That excerpt reads like something from a hater. Sent off??? Really?? His shirt was clearly pulled which if reviewed would 100% be a penalty. Instead the ref bottled it and when he protested he was unjustly carded. Sending him off would have been insane! I'm surprised anyone would talk about easy goals....really?? Is that how easy this game is?? I'd rather see a player on the pitch for his commitment. Portugal doesn't have a better option than him in that position currently.
Per him crying after the penalty miss, I didn't like that, but it also shows he cares, more so, he still went and picked up the ball for the first penalty kick. Ronaldo is a hardworking dude, he's worked for every bit of achievement he has. There's no arrogance in hardwork. No doubt, like every player, he wants to play. It's still up to his coach.
wiseone wrote: ↑Wed Jul 03, 2024 6:53 pm Mate, the trouble is that the nearly 40yo Ronaldo wants to be treated the same way as the 30 yo Ronaldo and be the center of everything. He did NOT accept being sub or subbed off. He no longer speaks to former Portugalmanager Fernando Santos who had the temerity to put Ronaldo on the bench (after an outburst of dissent when Santos subbed him off) and instead play the 21yo Gonçalo Ramos who scored a hat trick on his debut. Only an egomaniac would fail to understand that a football coach cannot play an out of form striker pushing 40 and drop a 21yo striker who scored a hat trick in the prior game!
In response, Ronaldo refused to speak to Santos (who is so fond of Ronaldo that he described him as being like his “son”) for the next 2 years.
https://bolavip.com/en/amp/soccer/ferna ... 83978.html
mate wrote: ↑Wed Jul 03, 2024 4:31 pm
I go easier on CR these days. He's given us a lot across his career. I've been listening to his podcasts a lot more and he seems like a genuinely good guy...not perfect mind you, who really is?
I also think he's been humble in accepting his role after WC 2022, which was a disaster. He accepts being subbed. He plays deep up front, not being a defensive liability, maximizing what he has at this age.
My understanding is he still got put in his place in that 2022 WC. He indeed let ego get the better of him, hurt the atmosphere. And cost Portugal in that WC.
But he corrected himself. He's listening and obeying. Those were genuine tears when he missed the PK.
Again, I could be wrong. But he's grown on me. He's a mortal like you and me, showed some flaws, but seems to be course correcting.
Most of all, as we keep discussing, he's entertained and enriched my social life, as I LOVE players like him. Give me more Diego, Messi, CR, Pele, Modric, Xavi, Iniesta, ZZ, Kroos, Neymar, Suarez...even with rogue personalities. Some ego is needed to be so good.
BTW: I think we're in a down cycle of great players. We will see who inherits the mantle of greatness. I fear it will take 2-4 years for the next generation of creative and offensive greats to emerge.
They are already here. I give you:
Haaland: scored 66 Premier League goals in his first 2 seasons in English football. Given that he is only 23yo, if he stays in English football, he will threaten Alan Shearer's record of 260 Premier League goals.
Mbappe: played in 2 World Cup finals by the age of 23 and is one of only 2 human beings in history to score a hat trick in a World Cup final. Nuff said.
Lamine Yamal: a 16yo school kid playing for Spain
in the QF of the Euros. The fact he gets into the team ahead of technicians like Olmo and Oyarzabal shows how good he is. Spain is not exactly short of technically equipped attackers.
Gavi: already has nearly 30 caps for Spain even though he is only 19yo and spent most of the last season injured.
Vinicius and Rodrygo: how many Champions League titles have they won before the age of 24?
Honourable mentions: Endrick, Foden, Zaire-Emery, Barcola, Isak.
Haaland: scored 66 Premier League goals in his first 2 seasons in English football. Given that he is only 23yo, if he stays in English football, he will threaten Alan Shearer's record of 260 Premier League goals.
Mbappe: played in 2 World Cup finals by the age of 23 and is one of only 2 human beings in history to score a hat trick in a World Cup final. Nuff said.
Lamine Yamal: a 16yo school kid playing for Spain
Gavi: already has nearly 30 caps for Spain even though he is only 19yo and spent most of the last season injured.
Vinicius and Rodrygo: how many Champions League titles have they won before the age of 24?
Last edited by wiseone on Thu Jul 04, 2024 8:14 am, edited 3 times in total.
wiseone wrote: ↑Wed Jul 03, 2024 9:39 pm They are already here. I give you:
Haaland: scored 36 Premier League goals in his first 2 seasons in English football. Given that he is only 23yo, if he stays in English football l, he will threaten Alan Shearer's record of 260 Premier League goals.
Lamine Yamal: a 16yo school kid playing for Spainin the QF of the Euros. The fact he gets into the team ahead of technicians like Olmo and Oyarzabal sbows how good he is. Spain is not exactly short of technically equipped attackers.
Metrics are relative.
Some of those achievements are by being there.
Rodrygo is not a top midfielder.
I still think Haaland is overrated.
Tomorrow na tomorrow. Or for some of una, today na today. The most explosive games will happen--Spain v Germany, and France v Portugal. Akatakpo! Igirigi!
I don warn my Madam already. I own the TV room from noon ET to maybe 6pm. Absolutely no entrance or disturbance. Much yelling and abuse will emerge from said room--no cause for alarm. Just stay away.

Go forth brave defenders of the faith. No retreat, no relent…UntIl we build Jerusalem in Munich’s plain and placid hills.
- Scipio Africanus
ohsee wrote: ↑Fri Jul 05, 2024 5:09 am Tomorrow na tomorrow. Or for some of una, today na today. The most explosive games will happen--Spain v Germany, and France v Portugal. Akatakpo! Igirigi!I don warn my Madam already. I own the TV room from noon ET to maybe 6pm. Absolutely no entrance or disturbance. Much yelling and abuse will emerge from said room--no cause for alarm. Just stay away.

Ex nihilo nihil fit
Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection:

ohsee wrote: ↑Fri Jul 05, 2024 5:09 am Tomorrow na tomorrow. Or for some of una, today na today. The most explosive games will happen--Spain v Germany, and France v Portugal. Akatakpo! Igirigi!I don warn my Madam already. I own the TV room from noon ET to maybe 6pm. Absolutely no entrance or disturbance. Much yelling and abuse will emerge from said room--no cause for alarm. Just stay away.
SMDH

@Cellular: Pls keep RnR peeps where they belong...
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Scipio Africanus wrote: ↑Fri Jul 05, 2024 2:01 pmohsee wrote: ↑Fri Jul 05, 2024 5:09 am Tomorrow na tomorrow. Or for some of una, today na today. The most explosive games will happen--Spain v Germany, and France v Portugal. Akatakpo! Igirigi!I don warn my Madam already. I own the TV room from noon ET to maybe 6pm. Absolutely no entrance or disturbance. Much yelling and abuse will emerge from said room--no cause for alarm. Just stay away.
Germany have tried. Their tournament ends today against Spain. France will sadly also go home today. Their okirika football will be finally exposed by the fleet footed Portuguese forwards.

For Spain v Germany, I don't care who wins, I just want good football to win.

txj wrote: ↑Fri Jul 05, 2024 2:29 pmohsee wrote: ↑Fri Jul 05, 2024 5:09 am Tomorrow na tomorrow. Or for some of una, today na today. The most explosive games will happen--Spain v Germany, and France v Portugal. Akatakpo! Igirigi!I don warn my Madam already. I own the TV room from noon ET to maybe 6pm. Absolutely no entrance or disturbance. Much yelling and abuse will emerge from said room--no cause for alarm. Just stay away.
SMDH![]()
@Cellular: Pls keep RnR peeps where they belong...

That's how I feel when you show up in RnR like a bunny rabbit trying to hunt with lions.

- Site Admin
don't hedge clay, its not like you to not give your opinion even when no one asked. what is your official prediction for both games, thanks in advance.ohsee wrote: ↑Fri Jul 05, 2024 3:03 pmScipio Africanus wrote: ↑Fri Jul 05, 2024 2:01 pmohsee wrote: ↑Fri Jul 05, 2024 5:09 am Tomorrow na tomorrow. Or for some of una, today na today. The most explosive games will happen--Spain v Germany, and France v Portugal. Akatakpo! Igirigi!I don warn my Madam already. I own the TV room from noon ET to maybe 6pm. Absolutely no entrance or disturbance. Much yelling and abuse will emerge from said room--no cause for alarm. Just stay away.
Germany have tried. Their tournament ends today against Spain. France will sadly also go home today. Their okirika football will be finally exposed by the fleet footed Portuguese forwards.
For Spain v Germany, I don't care who wins, I just want good football to win.I want to see a cracker, a thrilla, a chilla!
As for Africa United v Portugal, make we see. Fleet-footed forwards against that French defence? I no know oh. Let's see how Raphael Leao will do against the toughest and fastest full back he would have faced in the tourney, Jules Kounde. Apart from making the odd mistake, Upper mechanic is no slouch either. Let us not talk about the magnificent Saliba who is as fleet footed as anybody. And Kante.
And Tchouameni.
France has been shitty Okrika wakeup, true, but their defence has been solid. If it goes to penarities though, Portokiri will win.
Germany vs Spain.
Notable lineup change for Germany.
Emre Can on for Andrich. A choice between game reading and control over pure ball winning...And the flexibility to switch to a back 3 to offer better protection for the fullbacks.
Key for me is Ilkay. Will he find the spaces between the lines? Can he give Germany the "calm" and control in the third phase for the team to be decisive?
Notable lineup change for Germany.
Emre Can on for Andrich. A choice between game reading and control over pure ball winning...And the flexibility to switch to a back 3 to offer better protection for the fullbacks.
Key for me is Ilkay. Will he find the spaces between the lines? Can he give Germany the "calm" and control in the third phase for the team to be decisive?
Last edited by txj on Fri Jul 05, 2024 4:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
For Spain, will not surprise me if the gave up dominant possession for the counterattack, like they did vs Croatia.
ohsee wrote: ↑Fri Jul 05, 2024 3:06 pmtxj wrote: ↑Fri Jul 05, 2024 2:29 pmohsee wrote: ↑Fri Jul 05, 2024 5:09 am Tomorrow na tomorrow. Or for some of una, today na today. The most explosive games will happen--Spain v Germany, and France v Portugal. Akatakpo! Igirigi!I don warn my Madam already. I own the TV room from noon ET to maybe 6pm. Absolutely no entrance or disturbance. Much yelling and abuse will emerge from said room--no cause for alarm. Just stay away.
SMDH![]()
@Cellular: Pls keep RnR peeps where they belong...![]()
That's how I feel when you show up in RnR like a bunny rabbit trying to hunt with lions.![]()
Just stay quiet in the corner...

King Futcha wrote: ↑Fri Jul 05, 2024 3:39 pmdon't hedge clay, its not like you to not give your opinion even when no one asked. what is your official prediction for both games, thanks in advance.ohsee wrote: ↑Fri Jul 05, 2024 3:03 pmScipio Africanus wrote: ↑Fri Jul 05, 2024 2:01 pmohsee wrote: ↑Fri Jul 05, 2024 5:09 am Tomorrow na tomorrow. Or for some of una, today na today. The most explosive games will happen--Spain v Germany, and France v Portugal. Akatakpo! Igirigi!I don warn my Madam already. I own the TV room from noon ET to maybe 6pm. Absolutely no entrance or disturbance. Much yelling and abuse will emerge from said room--no cause for alarm. Just stay away.
For Spain v Germany, I don't care who wins, I just want good football to win.I want to see a cracker, a thrilla, a chilla!
As for Africa United v Portugal, make we see. Fleet-footed forwards against that French defence? I no know oh. Let's see how Raphael Leao will do against the toughest and fastest full back he would have faced in the tourney, Jules Kounde. Apart from making the odd mistake, Upper mechanic is no slouch either. Let us not talk about the magnificent Saliba who is as fleet footed as anybody. And Kante.
And Tchouameni.
France has been shitty Okrika wakeup, true, but their defence has been solid. If it goes to penarities though, Portokiri will win.

What is Futcha da bitcha doing in a "soccer" tournament? Ma fren, this is not that carry the ball in your hands and run game you guys call football, which you don't watch anyway. Go and watch "AmeliKKKa's game" biko. Take me out to the ball game and all that.

txj wrote: ↑Fri Jul 05, 2024 3:50 pmohsee wrote: ↑Fri Jul 05, 2024 3:06 pmtxj wrote: ↑Fri Jul 05, 2024 2:29 pmohsee wrote: ↑Fri Jul 05, 2024 5:09 am Tomorrow na tomorrow. Or for some of una, today na today. The most explosive games will happen--Spain v Germany, and France v Portugal. Akatakpo! Igirigi!I don warn my Madam already. I own the TV room from noon ET to maybe 6pm. Absolutely no entrance or disturbance. Much yelling and abuse will emerge from said room--no cause for alarm. Just stay away.
SMDH![]()
That's how I feel when you show up in RnR like a bunny rabbit trying to hunt with lions.![]()
Just stay quiet in the corner...![]()

Why? Do you stay in the corner when you come to RnR to give we lions your bunny rabbit opinions on how to hunt?

ohsee wrote: ↑Fri Jul 05, 2024 4:07 pm
Just stay quiet in the corner...txj wrote: ↑Fri Jul 05, 2024 3:50 pmohsee wrote: ↑Fri Jul 05, 2024 3:06 pm [quote=txj post_id=5993599 time=1720186196 ufullback.
SMDH![]()

Why? Do you stay in the corner when you come to RnR to give we lions your bunny rabbit opinions on how to hunt?

[/quote]
Unlike you I know when to stay away from that madhouse

Plus I usually know what I'm talking about and I'm not yakking about madam. Next you'll be regalling us of the sexual escapades of Limp Bizkit

- Site Admin
I placed a large bet on France to win if it goes to PK so that's all you're gonna give eh clay, when people show you who they are believe them, i shouldn't be surprised you're not willing to help a brother out.ohsee wrote: ↑Fri Jul 05, 2024 4:04 pmKing Futcha wrote: ↑Fri Jul 05, 2024 3:39 pmdon't hedge clay, its not like you to not give your opinion even when no one asked. what is your official prediction for both games, thanks in advance.ohsee wrote: ↑Fri Jul 05, 2024 3:03 pmScipio Africanus wrote: ↑Fri Jul 05, 2024 2:01 pmohsee wrote: ↑Fri Jul 05, 2024 5:09 am Tomorrow na tomorrow. Or for some of una, today na today. The most explosive games will happen--Spain v Germany, and France v Portugal. Akatakpo! Igirigi!I don warn my Madam already. I own the TV room from noon ET to maybe 6pm. Absolutely no entrance or disturbance. Much yelling and abuse will emerge from said room--no cause for alarm. Just stay away.
And Tchouameni.
What is Futcha da bitcha doing in a "soccer" tournament? Ma fren, this is not that carry the ball in your hands and run game you guys call football, which you don't watch anyway. Go and watch "AmeliKKKa's game" biko. Take me out to the ball game and all that.![]()