Rio Ngumoha

Re: Rio Ngumoha

The YeyeMan wrote: Mon Sep 09, 2024 8:31 pm
Bell wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 1:46 am
Eaglezbeak wrote: Tue Jul 23, 2024 5:49 pm
kbt wrote: Tue Jul 09, 2024 7:57 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Jul 09, 2024 2:07 pm Don’t waste your time folks. We’ve never ever caught a real innit ever.
If he is indeed Nigerian, we cannot let him slip. He's 15 and already played for Chelsea U21 and also trained with the senior team. For Liverpool and other top teams chasing him like that, he must have something.
:rotf: So the English are going to raise and nurture these boys,most of which have never visited Nigeria and they’re just going to yes to Nigeria?
JUST LEAVE THEM ALONE...Putting so much effort and drooling over a player who in all likelihood would choose England over Nigeria instead of focusing internally, ignoring the high probability that there are many other Rio's where the name Ngumoha came from.
What is "so much effort"? The problem with True Believers like yourself is there's only one path to reach salvation.

Meanwhile, your age mates like Morocco are reaching WC semi-finals with squads where more than half the players are born outside the country. But carry on.
Me sef dey wonder…

The YeyeMan wrote: Mon Sep 09, 2024 8:31 pm
Bell wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 1:46 am
Eaglezbeak wrote: Tue Jul 23, 2024 5:49 pm
kbt wrote: Tue Jul 09, 2024 7:57 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Jul 09, 2024 2:07 pm Don’t waste your time folks. We’ve never ever caught a real innit ever.
If he is indeed Nigerian, we cannot let him slip. He's 15 and already played for Chelsea U21 and also trained with the senior team. For Liverpool and other top teams chasing him like that, he must have something.
:rotf: So the English are going to raise and nurture these boys,most of which have never visited Nigeria and they’re just going to yes to Nigeria?
JUST LEAVE THEM ALONE...Putting so much effort and drooling over a player who in all likelihood would choose England over Nigeria instead of focusing internally, ignoring the high probability that there are many other Rio's where the name Ngumoha came from.
What is "so much effort"? The problem with True Believers like yourself is there's only one path to reach salvation.

Meanwhile, your age mates like Morocco are reaching WC semi-finals with squads where more than half the players are born outside the country. But carry on.

I'M NOT A ONE-WAY ADVOCATE...My original post said foreign born kids are welcome but that the internal system ALSO needs to be upgraded at the same time. Beware of using Morocco as an example. For one, they haven't proved that their method promises long-term success. With all their success in the WC, they didn't win the last AFCON. Two, Nigeria and Morocco are different in many ways so what works for Morocco may not work for Nigeria.

I think you're more of a one way track than me because my position is that you can bring in foreign kids at the same time as you're developing internally. And your chances of attracting tier 1 foreign kids (not the tier 2 they are struggling to get) goes up as you improve internal conditions.

I think it's attitude that has Nigeria where it is today because those in charge are looking for quick fixes.

Bell wrote: Mon Sep 09, 2024 10:36 pm I think you're more of a one way track than me because my position is that you can bring in foreign kids at the same time as you're developing internally. And your chances of attracting tier 1 foreign kids (not the tier 2 they are struggling to get) goes up as you improve internal conditions.

I think it's attitude that has Nigeria where it is today because those in charge are looking for quick fixes.
I've long (and I mean, long) held the view that Nigeria should vastly develop their national game and pursue foreign-born players with proven quality or potential.

Not exactly sure what you mean by "improving internal conditions" but the chances of attracting tier 1 foreign kids are largely predicated on the success of the national team. If "improving internal conditions" means running a professional football association then yes that'll play its part.

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16

© The YeyeMan 2025

txj wrote: Mon Sep 09, 2024 8:59 pm
Bell wrote: Mon Sep 09, 2024 5:53 am
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Sep 09, 2024 2:24 am
Bell wrote: Mon Sep 09, 2024 2:09 am
packerland wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 3:13 am
Bell wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 1:53 am
packerland wrote: Wed Jul 10, 2024 8:55 am

Instead of taking useless London trips, can they visit Morocco and figure out how they’re recruiting their dual nationals. I can see Morocco women matching what their men did at the WC in the next 8-16 years.
ALL RESPECT, packerland...no disrespect to Morocco but I hope Nigeria doesn't start treating it as a role model. What about blazing another trail, putting the same effort in unearthing the Rio's left in Nigeria? Why always copying what others are doing?
Bell,

You have to do both. If you recruit foreign born players only snd don’t develop your local league or unearth talents then you’re wasting your time. And at the same time, you have to recruit your dual nationals to plug in holes here and there and also grab world class talents like Saka, Oliseh, Musiala if you can. My issue is that we’re not even getting dual nationals below the ones listed above to play for us. If Eze was from Morocco, he would’ve played for them a long time ago.
packerland...first of all let me make it clear that I welcome anyone who can qualify to receive a Nigerian passport to seek to perticipate in Nigeria's athlectics. They have all legal rights for that and can only be limited by their ability.

As for developing the local league, it's not impossible, requiring only imagination and courage, commodities that seem to be lacking. Avid visitors to this forum know that I have two standing proposals, one for a W. African regional league and an alternative Nigeria-only league.

The irony is that the best way to attract tier 1 players (not the current tier 2 which Nigeria is getting) is to (1) establish an air of professionalism and (2) create a team that's ready to win it all. That will surely attract these foreign born players because most people want to be part of a winning operation. The current shambolic environment of the NFF can only bring in an occasional foreign kid who's very unlikely to be tier-1. Ironically, if/when Nigeria becomes good, it's need for tier-1 players will be minimized.
West African regional league? Yes. Absolutely. :thumb:

Long long overdue and urgently needed. Infact, I don’t see how we can improve without it. Lagos, Accra, Abidjan, Dakar, Banjul, Lome, Younde, Cotonou all should have rivalries and healthy competition. This would do wonders for local hotels, restaurants, transportation, Airlines and more. Unfortunately, I don’t see this been a Nff effort. The stadiums are there already. However you can make it happen, pls do.

PLEASANTLY SURPRISED TO GET YOUR SUPPORT, BUT...thanks. Yes, although this would not be an NFF effort - strictly private - it would require their involvement in some ways. Also, for purposes of a WA league, Nigeria would be the eastmost member, leaving out Cameroon. However, this could be treated as a test case, to be replicated by other regions in Africa and other non-European regions if successful.

Not all countries would necessarily have a team due to economic non-vialibility. Most countries may have two each and Nigeria potentially three. Current clubs will form a Div 2 league. FIFA should be supportive seeing it as a way to revvive soccer in dead regions.

Na by mouth?

Where is the viability of the clubs in the first place?
Where is the viability of the Leagues as we speak?
And I'm not just talking financial viability but especially the viability of management..

Look at the N.American example. Its a step wise process and not something that can emerge in one go..

The MLS has needed more than 2 decades to get on solid footing first. Having gone some ways in ensuring its financial strength its now moving slowly to incorporate Liga MX.

Nigeria needs to focus on building its domestic league, not pursue pipe dreams...

THERE WILL BE VIABILITY BECAUSE...even though I haven't stated it, the plan I'm proposing involves both managerial practices previously unseen in Africa, and unique and promising revenue sources. Both of these are very likely to keep at home those players who currently can't wait to flee to Europe and improve the quality of the league. History shows that there is passion for local competition even if they also want to see foreign leagues.

The plan calls for two (or at most three) franchises in Nigeria. I don't think Lagos and Abuja would have problems attracting sizable home crowds each playing an average of one game every two weeks. I'm sure Ghana and I/Coast could each support two clubs also. Liberia, Sierra Leone et al could each settle for one franchise. You can have a total of about 24 franchises.

Talking about the MLS, the "experts" could not stop trying to discourage the founders - "soccer won't work in America", "Americans don't like soccer", "Not made for tv because there are no timeouts", "not enough scoring for Americans", "kids just prefer [American] football and baseball". Where are those people today as the MLS ignored the naysayers on its way to become one of the best leagues in the world? You know what I told people then? Not only will soccer make it in America, it would, in time, become America's no.1 sport, a bold statement which I made then and still believe.

Every thing requires time, so would this WA regional league. I'm not selling anybody on the idea that it would be in perfect operation in three years. It is rather sad that some Nigerian are quick to pooh pooh any idea, calling them them pie in the sky. The countries people admire today made many bold moves. Some succeeded whle others failed. There are no guarantees of success but not trying guarantees no progress.

I have an alternative for developing the domestic league only but I think the WA regional version has more promise.

The YeyeMan wrote: Mon Sep 09, 2024 11:00 pm
Bell wrote: Mon Sep 09, 2024 10:36 pm I think you're more of a one way track than me because my position is that you can bring in foreign kids at the same time as you're developing internally. And your chances of attracting tier 1 foreign kids (not the tier 2 they are struggling to get) goes up as you improve internal conditions.

I've long (and I mean, long) held the view that Nigeria should vastly develop their national game and pursue foreign-born players with proven quality or potential.

Not exactly sure what you mean by "improving internal conditions" but the chances of attracting tier 1 foreign kids are largely predicated on the success of the national team. If "improving internal conditions" means running a professional football association then yes that'll play its part.
I THINK...most people agree that one way for Nigeria to improve internally is to have a successful league because it could motivate the youths. A successful league would be a private operation supported by the NFF. For that I'm proposing either a WA regional league or a Nigerian league.

The other part to improving Nigerian soccer is to professionalize the NFF and for the NFF to come up with ways to identify, nurture, develop and deploy promising kids when they are really young. That s the role of the NFF, maybe working with LG's, Mins of Educ and Health.

Imagine this: Nigeria could become so good that even some foreign born tier 1 kids would not be guaranteed a starting role.

Bell wrote: Mon Sep 09, 2024 11:29 pmI THINK...most people agree that one way for Nigeria to improve internally is to have a successful league because it could motivate the youths. A successful league would be a private operation supported by the NFF. For that I'm proposing either a WA regional league or a Nigerian league.

The other part to improving Nigerian soccer is to professionalize the NFF and for the NFF to come up with ways to identify, nurture, develop and deploy promising kids when they are really young. That s the role of the NFF, maybe working with LG's, Mins of Educ and Health.

Imagine this: Nigeria could become so good that even some foreign born tier 1 kids would not be guaranteed a starting role.
Somewhat ironic given that despite Nigeria being average, some foreign born tier 1 kids still wouldn't be guaranteed a starting role.

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16

© The YeyeMan 2025

The YeyeMan wrote: Mon Sep 09, 2024 11:52 pm
Bell wrote: Mon Sep 09, 2024 11:29 pmI THINK...most people agree that one way for Nigeria to improve internally is to have a successful league because it could motivate the youths. A successful league would be a private operation supported by the NFF. For that I'm proposing either a WA regional league or a Nigerian league.

Somewhat ironic given that despite Nigeria being average, some foreign born tier 1 kids still wouldn't be guaranteed a starting role.
I WAS ABOUT TO USE "IRONIC" MYSELF, BUT...that's the blessing that comes with building a credible program. For the likes of Spain, Germany, Brazi, Argentina, etc, some tier 1 players born outside their countries may not have guaranteed starting roles.

Bell wrote: Mon Sep 09, 2024 11:15 pm
Bell wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 1:53 am

ALL RESPECT, packerland...no disrespect to Morocco but I hope Nigeria doesn't start treating it as a role model. What about blazing another trail, putting the same effort in unearthing the Rio's left in Nigeria? Why always copying what others are doing?
Bell,

You have to do both. If you recruit foreign born players only snd don’t develop your local league or unearth talents then you’re wasting your time. And at the same time, you have to recruit your dual nationals to plug in holes here and there and also grab world class talents like Saka, Oliseh, Musiala if you can. My issue is that we’re not even getting dual nationals below the ones listed above to play for us. If Eze was from Morocco, he would’ve played for them a long time ago.
packerland...first of all let me make it clear that I welcome anyone who can qualify to receive a Nigerian passport to seek to perticipate in Nigeria's athlectics. They have all legal rights for that and can only be limited by their ability.

As for developing the local league, it's not impossible, requiring only imagination and courage, commodities that seem to be lacking. Avid visitors to this forum know that I have two standing proposals, one for a W. African regional league and an alternative Nigeria-only league.

The irony is that the best way to attract tier 1 players (not the current tier 2 which Nigeria is getting) is to (1) establish an air of professionalism and (2) create a team that's ready to win it all. That will surely attract these foreign born players because most people want to be part of a winning operation. The current shambolic environment of the NFF can only bring in an occasional foreign kid who's very unlikely to be tier-1. Ironically, if/when Nigeria becomes good, it's need for tier-1 players will be minimized.

Long long overdue and urgently needed. Infact, I don’t see how we can improve without it. Lagos, Accra, Abidjan, Dakar, Banjul, Lome, Younde, Cotonou all should have rivalries and healthy competition. This would do wonders for local hotels, restaurants, transportation, Airlines and more. Unfortunately, I don’t see this been a Nff effort. The stadiums are there already. However you can make it happen, pls do.

PLEASANTLY SURPRISED TO GET YOUR SUPPORT, BUT...thanks. Yes, although this would not be an NFF effort - strictly private - it would require their involvement in some ways. Also, for purposes of a WA league, Nigeria would be the eastmost member, leaving out Cameroon. However, this could be treated as a test case, to be replicated by other regions in Africa and other non-European regions if successful.

Not all countries would necessarily have a team due to economic non-vialibility. Most countries may have two each and Nigeria potentially three. Current clubs will form a Div 2 league. FIFA should be supportive seeing it as a way to revvive soccer in dead regions.

Na by mouth?

And I'm not just talking financial viability but especially the viability of management..

Look at the N.American example. Its a step wise process and not something that can emerge in one go..

The MLS has needed more than 2 decades to get on solid footing first. Having gone some ways in ensuring its financial strength its now moving slowly to incorporate Liga MX.

Nigeria needs to focus on building its domestic league, not pursue pipe dreams...

THERE WILL BE VIABILITY BECAUSE...even though I haven't stated it, the plan I'm proposing involves both managerial practices previously unseen in Africa, and unique and promising revenue sources. Both of these are very likely to keep at home those players who currently can't wait to flee to Europe and improve the quality of the league. History shows that there is passion for local competition even if they also want to see foreign leagues.

The plan calls for two (or at most three) franchises in Nigeria. I don't think Lagos and Abuja would have problems attracting sizable home crowds each playing an average of one game every two weeks. I'm sure Ghana and I/Coast could each support two clubs also. Liberia, Sierra Leone et al could each settle for one franchise. You can have a total of about 24 franchises.

Talking about the MLS, the "experts" could not stop trying to discourage the founders - "soccer won't work in America", "Americans don't like soccer", "Not made for tv because there are no timeouts", "not enough scoring for Americans", "kids just prefer [American] football and baseball". Where are those people today as the MLS ignored the naysayers on its way to become one of the best leagues in the world? You know what I told people then? Not only will soccer make it in America, it would, in time, become America's no.1 sport, a bold statement which I made then and still believe.

Every thing requires time, so would this WA regional league. I'm not selling anybody on the idea that it would be in perfect operation in three years. It is rather sad that some Nigerian are quick to pooh pooh any idea, calling them them pie in the sky. The countries people admire today made many bold moves. Some succeeded whle others failed. There are no guarantees of success but not trying guarantees no progress.

I have an alternative for developing the domestic league only but I think the WA regional version has more promise.

The road to a regional league goes through a domestic league comprising viable clubs.

There's a reason why the MLS is following this path.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Tue Sep 10, 2024 12:39 am
Bell wrote: Mon Sep 09, 2024 11:15 pm

Bell,

Na by mouth?

The road to a regional league goes through a domestic league comprising viable clubs.

There's a reason why the MLS is following this path.

GOOD FOR THE MLS, BUT...there can be multiple routes to a destination. Two different circumstances. And if you're referring a possible merger with Mexico, the WA regional is not a merger but a start up. And if I'm not mistaken, the MLS had teams from Canada from the get-go which is closer to the WA regional.

You are actually comparing US/Canada to WA?

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Tue Sep 10, 2024 2:43 pm You are actually comparing US/Canada to WA?
EXACTLY MY POINT...Different in many ways and therefore may call for different approach.That's why the MLS approach may not be appropriate for WA.

Rio has just been called up to first team training...

txj wrote: Wed Sep 11, 2024 12:43 pm Rio has just been called up to first team training...
IF SO...serves right those Nigerians who think they can just wait under the tree for the fruit to fall.

Bell wrote: Wed Sep 11, 2024 2:58 pm
txj wrote: Wed Sep 11, 2024 12:43 pm Rio has just been called up to first team training...
IF SO...serves right those Nigerians who think they can just wait under the tree for the fruit to fall.

:???: :???: :???:

WA REGIONAL LGE: REVENUE SOURCES…It’s fair to say no league can thrive without adequate revenues. The regional league is not an exception so I had ideas before making the proposal:

(1) MARKETING – No need to go into details here but it’s fair to say the current level of marketing is close to zero leaving potential huge revenues from lots of demographics unmined. Selling tickets to groups and on seasonal basis, not only individual match tickets.
a. MATCH DAY TRANSPORTATION – Since many fans do not have own transportation, why not arrange with private operators to provide transportation?
b. SECURITY, BATHROOMS, WIFI – The absence of these may be keeping some away.

(2) SUBSCRIPTION TV – All matches televised and seen across the region to subscribers.

(3) CLUB PARAPHERNALIA – A few clubs may have sponsors in front of their jerseys but what about the back of the jerseys? And even players’ shorts? What about the kinds of merchandising seen in the more advanced countries?

(4) CONCESSIONS – Sale of foods, drinks, etc.

(5) ON-FIELD COMPANY LOGO – As far as I know, nowhere in the world is this done and this regional league would be the first: Get businesses to paint their logo on the field. Potential areas include the center circle, the penalty box (and/or the six yard box), the area behind the goalkeeper. A major source of previously untapped revenue.
kbt

Post by kbt »

Starts for Liverpool in the FA cup today. Live on ITV1 for those in the UK.