Re: Victor Boniface To Saudi?
I hope they sign Jhon Durán,
Let him make his money, he can always come back to Europe. He's still young. And if he doesn't, at least he won't go broke anytime soon.Dammy wrote: ↑Tue Jan 28, 2025 3:43 pmIt would be a shame if this transfer happens. Omar Marmoush an Arab from the same league has transferred to one of the top teams in the world. Just last season, Marmoush couldn’t be mentioned in the same breath as Boniface, yet he has chosen to take the sporting challenge while our boy has prioritised the financial aspect over the sporting challenge. This is a boy that just signed a new contract doubling his wages from 3 million euros to 6 million euros. How much more does a 24 year old need?Lolly wrote: ↑Tue Jan 28, 2025 3:06 pmNot surprised that BL are willing to let him go. If you’ve been watching him play over the last year, you would have noticed that the guy has regressed. He “arrived” too easily and too soon. And he is still only 24 years old.
Apparently West Ham are also looking at Boniface and were willing to pay the €50m valuation but I guess Saudi offers bigger salaries and bonuses.
This is a boy who many view as the next APOY, I just wonder who advises these players?
eyan wrote: ↑Wed Jan 29, 2025 1:53 amLet him make his money, he can always come back to Europe. He's still young. And if he doesn't, at least he won't go broke anytime soon.Dammy wrote: ↑Tue Jan 28, 2025 3:43 pmIt would be a shame if this transfer happens. Omar Marmoush an Arab from the same league has transferred to one of the top teams in the world. Just last season, Marmoush couldn’t be mentioned in the same breath as Boniface, yet he has chosen to take the sporting challenge while our boy has prioritised the financial aspect over the sporting challenge. This is a boy that just signed a new contract doubling his wages from 3 million euros to 6 million euros. How much more does a 24 year old need?Lolly wrote: ↑Tue Jan 28, 2025 3:06 pmNot surprised that BL are willing to let him go. If you’ve been watching him play over the last year, you would have noticed that the guy has regressed. He “arrived” too easily and too soon. And he is still only 24 years old.
Apparently West Ham are also looking at Boniface and were willing to pay the €50m valuation but I guess Saudi offers bigger salaries and bonuses.
This is a boy who many view as the next APOY, I just wonder who advises these players?
Has there ever been any player that transferred to Arab league and returned back to play at the highest level? This is a genuine Question. Usually, once they sign for an Arab league, they never return back to the highest level (I’m not fully convinced)
- bret- hart
Its not just the players and agents. The fans too are part of the problem. Go online and you will see Nigerian fans congratulating him on this rubbish move. These same mumu fans will now wonder why we are struggling to beat teams like Rwanda at home. Honestly at this point at least 60-70% of our players should be foreign born. The innit boys are more ambitious and hungrier for success. The homegrown ones like Boniface and Ihenacho are not serious at all.Tobi17 wrote: ↑Tue Jan 28, 2025 9:15 pm Honestly there has to be something about our players and having sh*t agents...players from other nations with about the same profile and league accomplishments as our players always end up getting better moves and club deals (see Kvara moving from Napoli to PSG, Marmoush from Frankfurt to Man city etc)...these players aren't better than Boniface or Osimhen for crying out loud! how come our supposed best players always get the weirdest deals? At this point I won't be shocked if Lookman also moves to Saudi next when clubs like Real Madrid should be all over him next season.
Best of luck to Boniface but this was a very disappointing move, I guess this is it for him in the NT.

There is always a first time. Never say never. Allow the man to make his money, playing in Europe or for Super Eagle is secondary to him right now. At least he won a cup that even our almighty Jayjay didn't win. He knows why he's accepting the deal. Let's respect that and wish him well.john12 wrote: ↑Wed Jan 29, 2025 1:56 ameyan wrote: ↑Wed Jan 29, 2025 1:53 amLet him make his money, he can always come back to Europe. He's still young. And if he doesn't, at least he won't go broke anytime soon.Dammy wrote: ↑Tue Jan 28, 2025 3:43 pmIt would be a shame if this transfer happens. Omar Marmoush an Arab from the same league has transferred to one of the top teams in the world. Just last season, Marmoush couldn’t be mentioned in the same breath as Boniface, yet he has chosen to take the sporting challenge while our boy has prioritised the financial aspect over the sporting challenge. This is a boy that just signed a new contract doubling his wages from 3 million euros to 6 million euros. How much more does a 24 year old need?Lolly wrote: ↑Tue Jan 28, 2025 3:06 pmNot surprised that BL are willing to let him go. If you’ve been watching him play over the last year, you would have noticed that the guy has regressed. He “arrived” too easily and too soon. And he is still only 24 years old.
Has there ever been any player that transferred to Arab league and returned back to play at the highest level? This is a genuine Question. Usually, once they sign for an Arab league, they never return back to the highest level (I’m not fully convinced)
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
Our players need more ambition. My God.
My only business with Boniface’s career is that of a fan. I’m only interested in the sporting aspect of his life not the financial aspect, and if you call yourself a genuine fan, then the sporting challenge should be your interest, any other thing is not your concern.Babalawo wrote: ↑Wed Jan 29, 2025 12:02 amWhat’s your business with what Boniface decides to do with his career? Are you his father?Dammy wrote: ↑Tue Jan 28, 2025 11:54 pmWhat’s your business with what Boniface is earning? Are you related to him or part of his management?Babalawo wrote: ↑Tue Jan 28, 2025 11:43 pm I wish Victor Boniface well.
£290,000/Week is what the average London bloke earns in 6 years before taxes.
£290,000 is more than what the average physician in the UK or Europe earns per year.
Why am I emphasizing on this? We need to stop being overtly emotional football fans and understand these boys go into football PRIMARILY to earn a living and better their lives!
There’s life after football, and there’s no guarantee that he would get a better paycheck with an EPL or Seria A team in the future. A LOT of footballers took that gamble and it failed!
With a good financial investor/adviser £30M pounds earned over two years is enough to make one a billionaire in 5-10 years if the right investments are made.
Rather than castigate him, we should wish him well.
Talking about “if he goes to Saudi he shouldn’t be invited to the SE”. Who SE help? The same SE that can’t even pay his outstanding match appearance bonus for almost 2-4 years now? The same set of people will call for the SE to dump you at the slightest goal draught in Europe.
Ronaldo is in Saudi Arabia, scoring and still captains Portugal. Afterall isn’t our darling of the moment captain Troost Ekong also playing in the same Saudi League?
If VB goes to Saudi and is banging in goals, he should be in the SE line up period! I will still take him over the likes of Awoniyi, Sadiq, Dressers, Moffi, Iheanacho and other none performing strikers we have that are always smuggled into the SE.
Congrats Boniface, go chase that paper boy!![]()
If NOT, then you are just a fan like others and your only concern should be with the sporting aspect of his career. Genuine fans want to see this talented boy play at the highest levels! They want to see him play in the business end of UCL, and take pride in the fact that a Nigerian player is doing the business in front of the football world! If I have to explain all this to you, then it’s obvious you are not a real fan!
Another question, is he going to be sharing the money with you? If NO, then as a fan it is not your concern!
Comparing Boniface to Ekong or Ronaldo is like comparing apples and oranges. Both Ekong and Ronaldo have paid their dues before going to Saudi Arabia, while Boniface is just 24!
I am a Genuine Fan! As Genuine as they come, but at the same time I don’t see these boys as people who run around the pitch for 90mins 1-2 X/week for my personal entertainment! They have families to take care of, life outside football to plan.
Boniface is 24, but are you in his knees to know if they are still functioning like that of a 24year old? Do you know the toll recurrent knee injuries take on the legs?
If Boniface has chosen money over playing for “your bragging rights as a fan” that’s his business. We don’t set out to live life to please others.
His career his choice, deal with it.
Typical Nigerians always see money and run after it. Boniface has the world at his feet, he just signed a contract extension until 2029 and doubled his wages to 6 million euros a year. That’s 24 million euros without adding bonuses and endorsements. He’s not exactly in the poor house! If you think adding extra zeros will ensure that he’s financially secure, then you’re wrong but I don’t blame you as that’s how most Nigerians reason.
As a genuine fan, I want to see Nigerian players at the highest levels. That’s why we celebrate when players move to the big leagues or better clubs, because we know the added benefit to the SE. How can someone who calls himself a genuine fan of the SE celebrate when one of the best talents to come out of the country in recent years is about to make a move to an obscure league for money???
If you don’t gerrit, forget abourit!
I agree Dammy.Dammy wrote: ↑Wed Jan 29, 2025 9:24 amMy only business with Boniface’s career is that of a fan. I’m only interested in the sporting aspect of his life not the financial aspect, and if you call yourself a genuine fan, then the sporting challenge should be your interest, any other thing is not your concern.Babalawo wrote: ↑Wed Jan 29, 2025 12:02 amWhat’s your business with what Boniface decides to do with his career? Are you his father?Dammy wrote: ↑Tue Jan 28, 2025 11:54 pmWhat’s your business with what Boniface is earning? Are you related to him or part of his management?Babalawo wrote: ↑Tue Jan 28, 2025 11:43 pm I wish Victor Boniface well.
£290,000 is more than what the average physician in the UK or Europe earns per year.
Why am I emphasizing on this? We need to stop being overtly emotional football fans and understand these boys go into football PRIMARILY to earn a living and better their lives!
There’s life after football, and there’s no guarantee that he would get a better paycheck with an EPL or Seria A team in the future. A LOT of footballers took that gamble and it failed!
With a good financial investor/adviser £30M pounds earned over two years is enough to make one a billionaire in 5-10 years if the right investments are made.
Talking about “if he goes to Saudi he shouldn’t be invited to the SE”. Who SE help? The same SE that can’t even pay his outstanding match appearance bonus for almost 2-4 years now? The same set of people will call for the SE to dump you at the slightest goal draught in Europe.
Ronaldo is in Saudi Arabia, scoring and still captains Portugal. Afterall isn’t our darling of the moment captain Troost Ekong also playing in the same Saudi League?
If VB goes to Saudi and is banging in goals, he should be in the SE line up period! I will still take him over the likes of Awoniyi, Sadiq, Dressers, Moffi, Iheanacho and other none performing strikers we have that are always smuggled into the SE.
If NOT, then you are just a fan like others and your only concern should be with the sporting aspect of his career. Genuine fans want to see this talented boy play at the highest levels! They want to see him play in the business end of UCL, and take pride in the fact that a Nigerian player is doing the business in front of the football world! If I have to explain all this to you, then it’s obvious you are not a real fan!
Another question, is he going to be sharing the money with you? If NO, then as a fan it is not your concern!
Comparing Boniface to Ekong or Ronaldo is like comparing apples and oranges. Both Ekong and Ronaldo have paid their dues before going to Saudi Arabia, while Boniface is just 24!
I am a Genuine Fan! As Genuine as they come, but at the same time I don’t see these boys as people who run around the pitch for 90mins 1-2 X/week for my personal entertainment! They have families to take care of, life outside football to plan.
Boniface is 24, but are you in his knees to know if they are still functioning like that of a 24year old? Do you know the toll recurrent knee injuries take on the legs?
If Boniface has chosen money over playing for “your bragging rights as a fan” that’s his business. We don’t set out to live life to please others.
Typical Nigerians always see money and run after it. Boniface has the world at his feet, he just signed a contract extension until 2029 and doubled his wages to 6 million euros a year. That’s 24 million euros without adding bonuses and endorsements. He’s not exactly in the poor house! If you think adding extra zeros will ensure that he’s financially secure, then you’re wrong but I don’t blame you as that’s how most Nigerians reason.
As a genuine fan, I want to see Nigerian players at the highest levels. That’s why we celebrate when players move to the big leagues or better clubs, because we know the added benefit to the SE. How can someone who calls himself a genuine fan of the SE celebrate when one of the best talents to come out of the country in recent years is about to make a move to an obscure league for money???
Excellently put.
I’m a fan first and foremost.
I had this same discussion with Prof last year when rumours were rife that Osimhen was about making the same move.
Mega respect for Osimhen for putting his career first.
Like I said, and what you’ve repeated here, our people and our society have elevated money to the highest level. Nothing comes above it.
It can be argued that for too many of us, it even comes before God.
I wish him the very best though.
It comes down to motivations and one’s stance on the brevity or longevity of fame vs fortune. The bar of excellence was been set by Messi and Ronaldo, there are those in hot pursuit and others who know they’re neither in the race or amongst the also-rans. What’s the point of Boniface making lateral movements like the preferred pass of John Obi and Jorginho?
He’s a Bundesliga winner and a Europa League runner-up. That alone is an accomplishment. With all the clubs in need of a centre-forward, none have looked at Boniface. This move makes sense from the most common-sensical perspective. Why move sidewards for a slight pay rise when one can step a few tiers down and amass a fortune.
10 years from now, who outside of Leverkusen will recall Boniface’s exploits? Why pursue temporal bragging rights for Cyberian fans when one can guarantee coffers filled to the rafters with enough Johnny cash to last a lifetime? A few seasons in Saudi then a couple more in Istanbul. Go well.
He’s a Bundesliga winner and a Europa League runner-up. That alone is an accomplishment. With all the clubs in need of a centre-forward, none have looked at Boniface. This move makes sense from the most common-sensical perspective. Why move sidewards for a slight pay rise when one can step a few tiers down and amass a fortune.
10 years from now, who outside of Leverkusen will recall Boniface’s exploits? Why pursue temporal bragging rights for Cyberian fans when one can guarantee coffers filled to the rafters with enough Johnny cash to last a lifetime? A few seasons in Saudi then a couple more in Istanbul. Go well.
We respect it. We just don’t like it, as fans of his.eyan wrote: ↑Wed Jan 29, 2025 2:10 amThere is always a first time. Never say never. Allow the man to make his money, playing in Europe or for Super Eagle is secondary to him right now. At least he won a cup that even our almighty Jayjay didn't win. He knows why he's accepting the deal. Let's respect that and wish him well.john12 wrote: ↑Wed Jan 29, 2025 1:56 ameyan wrote: ↑Wed Jan 29, 2025 1:53 amLet him make his money, he can always come back to Europe. He's still young. And if he doesn't, at least he won't go broke anytime soon.Dammy wrote: ↑Tue Jan 28, 2025 3:43 pmIt would be a shame if this transfer happens. Omar Marmoush an Arab from the same league has transferred to one of the top teams in the world. Just last season, Marmoush couldn’t be mentioned in the same breath as Boniface, yet he has chosen to take the sporting challenge while our boy has prioritised the financial aspect over the sporting challenge. This is a boy that just signed a new contract doubling his wages from 3 million euros to 6 million euros. How much more does a 24 year old need?Lolly wrote: ↑Tue Jan 28, 2025 3:06 pmNot surprised that BL are willing to let him go. If you’ve been watching him play over the last year, you would have noticed that the guy has regressed. He “arrived” too easily and too soon. And he is still only 24 years old.
It’s not as if we can do anything about it.
Remember, we are only fans of his because he is a top footballer. If not for that, we probably wouldn’t even know him, or care.
If it was all about the money, we might as well be fans of Dangote, Otedola and Tinubu.
But no.
We love Boni because of his football and we don’t think he is making the best move for his football career at this stage.
He can always prove us wrong.
And just in case it needs repeating, we are not wishing him bad. It’s his choice.
While I won’t blame Boniface, if I were him I would stay at BL and get my €6m per year and run down my contract (runs out in 2029) if no top 5 league club comes calling. That is enough to set him and his family up for life. And at the end of his current BL contract, he can then move on a FREE to any club and still command a decent pay for another 2-3 years. He just needs to be playing top level football and playing for the national team.
But I won’t be surprised if he feels BL are trying to cash out on him and are not fighting to keep him. So why shouldn’t he take the crazy money with what could be his last major move. West Ham were reportedly looking at him as well but they appear to have cooled down on their interest.
Initially, I thought BL were trying to cash out on him but later after reviewing his situation, I concluded that it was Boni who wanted to cash out. A club that wants to sell a player will not give the player an improved contract like BL have done with Boni. Also the comments by Patrik Schick, during the UCL presser where he had a dig at Boni moving to SA at 24, with Xabi Alonso seating next to him is indicative of the fact that it’s Boni pushing for the move and not the club.Lolly wrote: ↑Wed Jan 29, 2025 10:51 am While I won’t blame Boniface, if I were him I would stay at BL and get my €6m per year and run down my contract (runs out in 2029) if no top 5 league club comes calling. That is enough to set him and his family up for life. And at the end of his current BL contract, he can then move on a FREE to any club and still command a decent pay for another 2-3 years. He just needs to be playing top level football and playing for the national team.
They are making a huge profit on him (€30m) in just 20 months. And would easily get a cheaper replacement now that Schick is firing on all cylinders. Not to say Boniface isn’t encouraging them.Dammy wrote: ↑Wed Jan 29, 2025 11:40 amInitially, I thought BL were trying to cash out on him but later after reviewing his situation, I concluded that it was Boni who wanted to cash out. A club that wants to sell a player will not give the player an improved contract like BL have done with Boni. Also the comments by Patrik Schick, during the UCL presser where he had a dig at Boni moving to SA at 24, with Xabi Alonso seating next to him is indicative of the fact that it’s Boni pushing for the move and not the club.Lolly wrote: ↑Wed Jan 29, 2025 10:51 am While I won’t blame Boniface, if I were him I would stay at BL and get my €6m per year and run down my contract (runs out in 2029) if no top 5 league club comes calling. That is enough to set him and his family up for life. And at the end of his current BL contract, he can then move on a FREE to any club and still command a decent pay for another 2-3 years. He just needs to be playing top level football and playing for the national team.
It is not a first time. Brazil in a previous World Cup had a player in the Saudi league. If a guy is good, yhe league ought to be irrelevant.eyan wrote: ↑Wed Jan 29, 2025 2:10 amThere is always a first time. Never say never. Allow the man to make his money, playing in Europe or for Super Eagle is secondary to him right now. At least he won a cup that even our almighty Jayjay didn't win. He knows why he's accepting the deal. Let's respect that and wish him well.john12 wrote: ↑Wed Jan 29, 2025 1:56 ameyan wrote: ↑Wed Jan 29, 2025 1:53 amLet him make his money, he can always come back to Europe. He's still young. And if he doesn't, at least he won't go broke anytime soon.Dammy wrote: ↑Tue Jan 28, 2025 3:43 pmIt would be a shame if this transfer happens. Omar Marmoush an Arab from the same league has transferred to one of the top teams in the world. Just last season, Marmoush couldn’t be mentioned in the same breath as Boniface, yet he has chosen to take the sporting challenge while our boy has prioritised the financial aspect over the sporting challenge. This is a boy that just signed a new contract doubling his wages from 3 million euros to 6 million euros. How much more does a 24 year old need?Lolly wrote: ↑Tue Jan 28, 2025 3:06 pmNot surprised that BL are willing to let him go. If you’ve been watching him play over the last year, you would have noticed that the guy has regressed. He “arrived” too easily and too soon. And he is still only 24 years old.
A player should focus on how much he should accumulate in an extremely short career. For me, it should be immaterial what fans think. The focus should be the player's calculation of his and his family's well being and his future post-football.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
“I am only interested in his sporting aspect and not his financial aspect”Dammy wrote: ↑Wed Jan 29, 2025 9:24 amMy only business with Boniface’s career is that of a fan. I’m only interested in the sporting aspect of his life not the financial aspect, and if you call yourself a genuine fan, then the sporting challenge should be your interest, any other thing is not your concern.Babalawo wrote: ↑Wed Jan 29, 2025 12:02 amWhat’s your business with what Boniface decides to do with his career? Are you his father?Dammy wrote: ↑Tue Jan 28, 2025 11:54 pmWhat’s your business with what Boniface is earning? Are you related to him or part of his management?Babalawo wrote: ↑Tue Jan 28, 2025 11:43 pm I wish Victor Boniface well.
My brother once again, players play football to earn a LIVING and not for the bragging rights of you and I. What we think is inconsequential! Boniface doesn’t owe you and I jack shidt! Neither should his life revolve around playing for the SE or not. Playing for your country is an option not an obligation.
He has a contract earning €6M/year and has gotten another offer to almost triple that/year and you are saying No he should wait for a phantom offer from RM, Barcelona or chelsea? Lmao! Do you realize some AFRICAN players never earn close to £30M in their entire playing career? How much are top players in Mancity, chelsea and co earning today? Some are not even close to £290k/week! So what’s the fuss? Isn’t the goal about earning a bigger paycheck by moving to these big name teams?
Some of you are moved by “name & position” I am only impressed by your earning power and financial security.
Passion without securing your financial future is grade A stupidity! The average playing span of the African footballer in Europe is 10-15 years. If you don’t secure your financial future within this time frame then you aren’t serious.
I am a FAN, yes, but I don’t over project on how another man should earn his wages.
His life, his choices, as a fellow Nigerian I wish him well and look forward to seeing him play against Rwanda in Kigali.
Last edited by Babalawo on Wed Jan 29, 2025 12:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Nigeria Must Be Great Again
Of course a player should focus on himself and himself alone. The fans are not his priority. But he should not complain if he is overlooked by the national team handlers. That’s what most of his fans are more concerned about.Enugu II wrote: ↑Wed Jan 29, 2025 12:04 pmIt is not a first time. Brazil in a previous World Cup had a player in the Saudi league. If a guy is good, yhe league ought to be irrelevant.eyan wrote: ↑Wed Jan 29, 2025 2:10 amThere is always a first time. Never say never. Allow the man to make his money, playing in Europe or for Super Eagle is secondary to him right now. At least he won a cup that even our almighty Jayjay didn't win. He knows why he's accepting the deal. Let's respect that and wish him well.john12 wrote: ↑Wed Jan 29, 2025 1:56 ameyan wrote: ↑Wed Jan 29, 2025 1:53 amLet him make his money, he can always come back to Europe. He's still young. And if he doesn't, at least he won't go broke anytime soon.Dammy wrote: ↑Tue Jan 28, 2025 3:43 pmIt would be a shame if this transfer happens. Omar Marmoush an Arab from the same league has transferred to one of the top teams in the world. Just last season, Marmoush couldn’t be mentioned in the same breath as Boniface, yet he has chosen to take the sporting challenge while our boy has prioritised the financial aspect over the sporting challenge. This is a boy that just signed a new contract doubling his wages from 3 million euros to 6 million euros. How much more does a 24 year old need?Lolly wrote: ↑Tue Jan 28, 2025 3:06 pmNot surprised that BL are willing to let him go. If you’ve been watching him play over the last year, you would have noticed that the guy has regressed. He “arrived” too easily and too soon. And he is still only 24 years old.
A player should focus on how much he should accumulate in an extremely short career. For me, it should be immaterial what fans think. The focus should be the player's calculation of his and his family's well being and his future post-football.
Chief, we all know how that move went.
Today who really cares if Odion played for ManU or not?
How many people actually remember him as a ManU payer?
That ManU move was more like fulfilling a childhood dream for Odion and less of a professional development move with financial gain.
In the circle of Ex/retired SE players, Odion, Emenike, Martins and to some extent Kanu are regarded as the former SE players who are “doing well” post retirement. These are the players who made “smart money moves” at their peak.
Last edited by Babalawo on Wed Jan 29, 2025 12:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Lolly wrote: ↑Wed Jan 29, 2025 12:11 pmOf course a player should focus on himself and himself alone. The fans are not his priority. But he should not complain if he is overlooked by the national team handlers. That’s what most of his fans are more concerned about.Enugu II wrote: ↑Wed Jan 29, 2025 12:04 pmIt is not a first time. Brazil in a previous World Cup had a player in the Saudi league. If a guy is good, yhe league ought to be irrelevant.eyan wrote: ↑Wed Jan 29, 2025 2:10 amThere is always a first time. Never say never. Allow the man to make his money, playing in Europe or for Super Eagle is secondary to him right now. At least he won a cup that even our almighty Jayjay didn't win. He knows why he's accepting the deal. Let's respect that and wish him well.john12 wrote: ↑Wed Jan 29, 2025 1:56 ameyan wrote: ↑Wed Jan 29, 2025 1:53 amLet him make his money, he can always come back to Europe. He's still young. And if he doesn't, at least he won't go broke anytime soon.Dammy wrote: ↑Tue Jan 28, 2025 3:43 pmIt would be a shame if this transfer happens. Omar Marmoush an Arab from the same league has transferred to one of the top teams in the world. Just last season, Marmoush couldn’t be mentioned in the same breath as Boniface, yet he has chosen to take the sporting challenge while our boy has prioritised the financial aspect over the sporting challenge. This is a boy that just signed a new contract doubling his wages from 3 million euros to 6 million euros. How much more does a 24 year old need?Lolly wrote: ↑Tue Jan 28, 2025 3:06 pm
Not surprised that BL are willing to let him go. If you’ve been watching him play over the last year, you would have noticed that the guy has regressed. He “arrived” too easily and too soon. And he is still only 24 years old.
Lolly,
If Boniface moves to S.Arabia & is scoring goals every other week for fun, you cannot deny him a national team call up because he plays in Saudi Arabia! Who will you skip him for? Unproven Akor Adams? Dressers or Sadiq? You guys sound like we have a plethora of top strikers out there.
Aren’t we the same people pushing a South African based goal keeper ahead of the other playing in the Seria A? So is the South African league better than the Saudi pro league?
Boniface and the rest of you all will be alright.
...abi our captain Ekong no dey play for Saudi?
C. Ronaldo play in Saudi and he is the most influential player in his country.
MBS is sharing the wealth. His papa papa did the same when we helped fend of Saddam.
In this world of today, money talks.
C. Ronaldo play in Saudi and he is the most influential player in his country.
MBS is sharing the wealth. His papa papa did the same when we helped fend of Saddam.
In this world of today, money talks.
- packerland
Babalawo,Babalawo wrote: ↑Tue Jan 28, 2025 11:43 pm I wish Victor Boniface well.
Ronaldo is in Saudi Arabia, scoring and still captains Portugal.
Isn’t our darling of the moment captain Troost Ekong also playing in the same Saudi League? So why are we not asking that Troost not be invited to the SE because of the league he plays in?
If VB goes to Saudi and is banging in goals, he should be in the SE line up period! I will still take him over the likes of Awoniyi, Sadiq, Dressers, Moffi, Iheanacho and other none performing strikers we have that are always smuggled into the SE, or isn’t the criteria for a SE invite no longer strong club performance?
You are missing the point. The question we should be asking is how the heck is Omar Marmoush getting paid the same amount to play for Man City? Prior to this last two seasons, the guy had a poor goal scoring record. Is it the agents Or are our players quick to accept the first offer they receive?
You can’t compare Ronaldo and Ekong to Boniface. Ekong couldn’t cut it at Spurs but the guy found a way through hard work to continue to punch above his weight. He plays in an area of need and has always been good for us. Boniface on the other hand has not been good for us and plays in a position we have an abundance of good players.
Secondly, Boniface can’t touch Ronaldo’s work ethics, drive and dedication. Heck, he can’t even handle his diet. Patrice Evra once told a story when Ronaldo invited him to his house for lunch and served him salad with white chicken and water. Messi quit eating his favorite food, pasta. We’ve all heard stories of Kobe Bryant, Derrick Henry, & Tom Brady’s (keto diet). Even Floyd Mayweather doesn’t eat fried chicken or drink alcohol. These guys are the best in what they do. Do you think Boniface or Kele has the discipline to stay away from ‘swallow’? I don’t think so. Ronaldo playing in Saudi & Messi in the MLS & still getting NT call up does not surprise anyone.
@ packerland
...every player to his own need, styles and likes.
Boniface has not been good lately at the NT, and his stock is dropping at club with recent injuries and bad publicity from SE engagements. I am not surprised his club will want to off load him, and he is lucky to get such lucrative deal.
Players, at any sport, earn their money and retire early to other ventures.
...every player to his own need, styles and likes.
Boniface has not been good lately at the NT, and his stock is dropping at club with recent injuries and bad publicity from SE engagements. I am not surprised his club will want to off load him, and he is lucky to get such lucrative deal.
Players, at any sport, earn their money and retire early to other ventures.