STARTING LINEUP VS RWANDA
- theDunamis
Re: STARTING LINEUP VS RWANDA
danfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:52 pm![]()
Chelle was twiddling his thumb, while Lolly, a fan, was watching the past games. Our fans are both toxic and funny.
And they also think football is 2+2 = 4. Just because his team sheet is showing 2 CMs, does not mean the game plan is that way. Lets wait to see the game plan unfold first and we will see/know who will dominate the midfield.
Exactly that. But people continually fail to understand the wisdom of getting all the information you possibly can before making an informed decision or in this case, taking an informed position.
No, I ask relevant questions that some can't see. Didn't a popular national coach who has many fans on this forum tell us how he pencilled in a player for selection for the SE based on recommendation from his assistants because he couldn't travel down from Abuja to Beni to watch him play? I wonder if some of you pay attention to what is going on? I doubt it.theDunamis wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:50 pmLolly wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:44 pmI was apprehensive before but this line up has made it worse. Rwanda dominated us in the midfield when we've played against them with 3 in the middle. Now we are going 2 in the middle with a very slow Ndidi. I wonder if Chelle watched the videos of our previous games against them.
Make I just enjoy match.
You wonder if the new manager of a national team watched the previous games against the opponent he is going to face first??? Do you also wonder if the sun rises in the east and sets in the west?![]()
Make we watch game and we can continue this debate afterwards. I will make a prediction though. Watch us revert to 3 in the middle later in the game when thinks are not working. Na me talk am.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
Actually, a few have.vancity eagle wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:23 pm Again if you must play 442 these are the players to do it.
I like how Chelle is playing Aina at leftback. I've wondered why other coaches never did this.
So far Chelle is a good coach based on these decisions.
He is versatile, but I'd rather have him on the right if Zaidu is around.
Chai.
I forgot that 5pm Naija time na 4pm here.
Wahala!
I forgot that 5pm Naija time na 4pm here.
Wahala!

- theDunamis
Lolly wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 4:02 pmNo, I ask relevant questions that some can't see. Didn't a popular national coach who has many fans on this forum tell us how he pencilled in a player for selection for the SE based on recommendation from his assistants because he couldn't travel down from Abuja to Beni to watch him play? I wonder if some of you pay attention to what is going on? I doubt it.
Make we watch game and we can continue this debate afterwards. I will make a prediction though. Watch us revert to 3 in the middle later in the game when thinks are not working. Na me talk am.![]()
Strawman much. Traveling to watch a game and watching the video of a previous game are two completely different things from both effort and resource considerations. Stop digging.

- green4life
This lineup can work so long as Lookman helps out with ball recovery centrally. You already know that Simon is a workhorse on the wing.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:50 pmLolly,Lolly wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:44 pmI was apprehensive before but this line up has made it worse. Rwanda dominated us in the midfield when we've played against them with 3 in the middle. Now we are going 2 in the middle with a very slow Ndidi. I wonder if Chelle watched the videos of our previous games against them.anointed wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:39 pm We are back to 4-4-2 vs Rwanda
Are these players used to it? Has anyone of them played 4-4-2 before?
I know it's attacking and we need it but the midfield, eh
................Lookman..............Osimhen............
Chukwueze...........Ndidi........Iwobi..........Simon.......
.....Aina.......Ekong.....Bassey..........Osayi-Samuel...........
................................Nwabali...................................
Make I just enjoy match.
I feel the same way, including misgivings about the personnel. I was hoping for 3 center backs. However, I am not the manager nor have I watched the team train together. I was hoping for an entirely different set up.
G4Lgreen4life wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 4:07 pmThis lineup can work so long as Lookman helps out with ball recovery centrally. You already know that Simon is a workhorse on the wing.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:50 pmLolly,Lolly wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:44 pmI was apprehensive before but this line up has made it worse. Rwanda dominated us in the midfield when we've played against them with 3 in the middle. Now we are going 2 in the middle with a very slow Ndidi. I wonder if Chelle watched the videos of our previous games against them.anointed wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:39 pm We are back to 4-4-2 vs Rwanda
Make I just enjoy match.
I feel the same way, including misgivings about the personnel. I was hoping for 3 center backs. However, I am not the manager nor have I watched the team train together. I was hoping for an entirely different set up.
Lookman does a lot of that and I have no doubt on that. My concern is the ability to lay siege on the opponents without having a safety mechanism with 3 CDs.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
How can you look at this list and say it's 4-4-2.
It's 4-2-4 that can switch to 4-2-3-1
You really think it's about effort and resources? No vex.theDunamis wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 4:07 pmLolly wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 4:02 pmNo, I ask relevant questions that some can't see. Didn't a popular national coach who has many fans on this forum tell us how he pencilled in a player for selection for the SE based on recommendation from his assistants because he couldn't travel down from Abuja to Beni to watch him play? I wonder if some of you pay attention to what is going on? I doubt it.
Make we watch game and we can continue this debate afterwards. I will make a prediction though. Watch us revert to 3 in the middle later in the game when thinks are not working. Na me talk am.![]()
Strawman much. Traveling to watch a game and watching the video of a previous game are two completely different things from both effort and resource considerations. Stop digging.![]()

One recognized DM??
Only two CBs??
In a MUST WIN away game in Africa under harsh weather conditions??
Rwanda dominated the midfield last time we met and are playing at home
This has heartache written all over it folks……if Finidi chose this lineup we would be all over him calling him naive
It is well……IJN
Only two CBs??
In a MUST WIN away game in Africa under harsh weather conditions??
Rwanda dominated the midfield last time we met and are playing at home
This has heartache written all over it folks……if Finidi chose this lineup we would be all over him calling him naive
It is well……IJN
vancity eagle wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:21 pm GK: NWABALI
RB: SAMUEL
CB: TROOST
CB: BASSEY
LB: AINA
CM: IWOBI
CM: NDIDI
RW: CHUKWUEZE
LW: SIMON
SS: LOOKMAN
ST: OSIMEHN
Last edited by tedder89 on Fri Mar 21, 2025 4:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
IN OUR CASE, THERE IS NO TIME. NO SERIOUS COACH WILL TAKE THIS JOB
Pasamu on Monday Feb 22nd 2010 post ANC- I will repeat again, the problem with our team was never ability or personnel or even tactics . It was confidence pure and simple confidence. Amodus team had been spat upon, anything they did was dismissed as insignificant To see the team going from playing brilliant football against Egypt in the first half of their ANC group game to the cautious fear laden play against Zambia was sad.
- green4life
Prof, We don't need 3 CDs especially with Ndidi at CDM. Positional discipline, defensive organization and midfield anticipation to fill gaps will balance the flow of the team.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 4:11 pmG4Lgreen4life wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 4:07 pmThis lineup can work so long as Lookman helps out with ball recovery centrally. You already know that Simon is a workhorse on the wing.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:50 pmLolly,Lolly wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:44 pmI was apprehensive before but this line up has made it worse. Rwanda dominated us in the midfield when we've played against them with 3 in the middle. Now we are going 2 in the middle with a very slow Ndidi. I wonder if Chelle watched the videos of our previous games against them.anointed wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:39 pm We are back to 4-4-2 vs Rwanda
Make I just enjoy match.
Lookman does a lot of that and I have no doubt on that. My concern is the ability to lay siege on the opponents without having a safety mechanism with 3 CDs.
I would have loved the 3-5-2 for this game as well. Not sure why we are suddenly thin in Central Defence but the likes of Ndah and Agu getting in the mix and possibly Ajayi's return should help. Aina's value is enhanced when he is able to push forward from the right.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 4:11 pmG4Lgreen4life wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 4:07 pmThis lineup can work so long as Lookman helps out with ball recovery centrally. You already know that Simon is a workhorse on the wing.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:50 pmLolly,Lolly wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:44 pmI was apprehensive before but this line up has made it worse. Rwanda dominated us in the midfield when we've played against them with 3 in the middle. Now we are going 2 in the middle with a very slow Ndidi. I wonder if Chelle watched the videos of our previous games against them.anointed wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:39 pm We are back to 4-4-2 vs Rwanda
Make I just enjoy match.
Looks like we will attack slightly more from the left in this game, with Aina on the left and Simon and Lookman both favouring that wing.
Hopefully, Chukwueze comes good today. He can be costly over the course of 90 minutes sometimes.
Last edited by truetalk on Fri Mar 21, 2025 4:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- theDunamis
I addressed the false equivalence and strawman you tried to introduce instead of simply accepting that you made no sense in your initial post.

So how do you know it's not 424? You know the match has not started, right?anointed wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:39 pm We are back to 4-4-2 vs Rwanda
Last edited by gochino on Fri Mar 21, 2025 4:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Rohr did it for a brief period then stopped.truetalk wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 4:03 pmActually, a few have.vancity eagle wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:23 pm Again if you must play 442 these are the players to do it.
I like how Chelle is playing Aina at leftback. I've wondered why other coaches never did this.
So far Chelle is a good coach based on these decisions.
He is versatile, but I'd rather have him on the right if Zaidu is around.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Good luck to the lads.
I hope they play with a sense of urgency.
Wishing the SE the very best.
Personally think the line-up looks like something from the 90s. Even when he had legs, this would have a tall task for Ndidi. I feel desperately for Iwobi and the horrible role SE coaches ask him to play. Naija has so many energetic midfielders but we're stick in 2019. Even in 2019, at least Etebo brought some hustle in the middle.
I'm expecting a tough afternoon, but I desperately hope I'm wrong.
Personally think the line-up looks like something from the 90s. Even when he had legs, this would have a tall task for Ndidi. I feel desperately for Iwobi and the horrible role SE coaches ask him to play. Naija has so many energetic midfielders but we're stick in 2019. Even in 2019, at least Etebo brought some hustle in the middle.
I'm expecting a tough afternoon, but I desperately hope I'm wrong.
The setup is intriguing. It is almost like Chelle is challenging the team to win individual matches over the course of the game, with a mindset of 'You are better than this team in every position and at every matchup'.green4life wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 4:14 pmProf, We don't need 3 CDs especially with Ndidi at CDM. Positional discipline, defensive organization and midfield anticipation to fill gaps will balance the flow of the team.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 4:11 pmG4Lgreen4life wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 4:07 pmThis lineup can work so long as Lookman helps out with ball recovery centrally. You already know that Simon is a workhorse on the wing.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:50 pmLolly,Lolly wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:44 pmI was apprehensive before but this line up has made it worse. Rwanda dominated us in the midfield when we've played against them with 3 in the middle. Now we are going 2 in the middle with a very slow Ndidi. I wonder if Chelle watched the videos of our previous games against them.anointed wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:39 pm We are back to 4-4-2 vs Rwanda
Make I just enjoy match.
Troost and Bassey have zero margin for error. Not sure how much I trust Osayi Samuel to stay solid for 90 minutes, especially with Chukwueze in front of him.
Hopefully, these Eagles wearing green come good like the Eagles that wore green in the Superbowl a few weeks back. Different sport but similar strategy of several players just individually dominating the opponent. No blitzes, but 6 sacks with the front four dominating KC's O'Line. 2 guys making key picks (with one pick 6), and on the offense, the QB and WRs making big plays in the first 3 quarters.
The SE must play as a team with no lapses, but several players need big moments with this formation.
Ok mr. tactician, what would you do if Simon and Chukwueze need to be subbed out?danfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:39 pmIs there a FIFA rule that says you are only permitted to bring in wingers from the bench?Synopsis wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:30 pmYou act like injuries don’t happen. What happens when it’s 0-0 late in the game and our players are tired? Who would you bring in?danfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:27 pmwhy do you want a winger on the bench? do we get extra points for that?
Do you know that in football, some coaches play multiple formation in one match?
Do you know that in football, a coach can decide he doesnt want/need certain profile on the bench?
- danfo driver
i can change tactics and bring in a striker, or I can move Iwobi to wing - Iwobi has been one of the best wingers in the EPL this season - outperforming Chukwueze and Simon.Synopsis wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 4:31 pmOk mr. tactician, what would you do if Simon and Chukwueze need to be subbed out?danfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:39 pmIs there a FIFA rule that says you are only permitted to bring in wingers from the bench?Synopsis wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:30 pmYou act like injuries don’t happen. What happens when it’s 0-0 late in the game and our players are tired? Who would you bring in?danfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:27 pmwhy do you want a winger on the bench? do we get extra points for that?
Do you know that in football, some coaches play multiple formation in one match?
Do you know that in football, a coach can decide he doesnt want/need certain profile on the bench?
- danfo driver
GOOOOALLLLLLL VICTORRRR!!! 

4-4-2 and 4-2-4 are football semantics. It's basically the same thing.gochino wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 4:18 pmSo how do you know it's not 424? You know the match has not started, right?anointed wrote: ↑Fri Mar 21, 2025 3:39 pm We are back to 4-4-2 vs Rwanda
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe