Nigeria has won 4 of her last 12 competitive home games across 4 coaches & 3 stadia.
Re: Nigeria has won 4 of her last 12 competitive home games across 4 coaches & 3 stadia.
Distractions from content creators and family members?Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 3:59 pmWhat possibly is a reason for poor results at home? It surely cannot be the skill level of our players if they are doing the business away from home. Is it the "home environment" ? What is it?Orion wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 12:35 pm Last 14 competitive away games (excluding the AFCON tournament):
27/03/21 Benin 0-1 Nigeria
07/09/21 Cabo Verde 1 -2 Nigeria
10/10/21 CAR 0-2 Nigeria
13/11/21 Liberia 0-2 Nigeria
25/03/22 Ghana 0-0 Nigeria
13/06/22 São Tomé e Príncipe 0-10 Nigeria
19/11/23 Zimbabwe 1 -1 Nigeria
27/03/23 Guinea-Bissau 0-1 Nigeria
18/06/23 Sierra Leone 2-3 Nigeria
10/06/24 Benin 2-1 Nigeria
10/09/24 Rwanda 0-0 Nigeria
15/10/24 Libya 0-3 Nigeria* (Libya penalised)
14/11/24 Benin 1 -1 Nigeria
21/03/25 Rwanda 0-2 Nigeria
9 wins, 4 draws, 1 loss
The stats suggest we have a decent team, but our home results are letting us down.
Build a world-class stadium in one of the coldest regions of Taraba or Plateau state. Ensure there is an international airstrip nearby and nice hotels. Then make that the home of the Super Eagles. In the meantime move our home games to Morocco. Playing at home is worse than playing away at this point.

But the truth is we've never been outplayed in the games we didn't win and even the ones we lost. We just can't get goals when we are the ones doing the attacking while the visiting teams are sitting back hoping to hit us on the break. Our 3rd half play has been really poor in recent years and I am thinking we haven't found the right combination of attackers and midfielders. Nigerian must be one of the few teams that its midfielders rarely get goals. Its either Osimhen, Lookman or a defender.
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
- danfo driver
Re: Nigeria has won 4 of her last 12 competitive home games across 4 coaches & 3 stadia.
You should check the definition of "excuse"vancity eagle wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:37 pmIt's not an excuse.danfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 1:28 pmAnother excuse don landGoalgetter wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 1:21 pm If they must play in Uyo, why don’t they schedule the matches for late evening kickoff to help mitigate the effect of heat/humidity? They should not be kicking of earlier than 7pm local time. Stupid bunch.![]()
Morocco, Senegal, CIV, Ghana, Algeria all played their home matches at least 2 hours later than we did.
Why do you think that is ?
The main reason we drew Zimbabwe was because our players were tired. So if we played later in the day could that not have helped ?
This is the same NFF who once scheduled a critical match in the North in the middle of the day. They are truly incompetent to go along with their criminality.
We played 2 hours earlier, but dominated and should have scored 4 goals. I guess it is the sun that entered Ndidi's head that caused him to miss a sitter. it is the sun that fried Lookman's and Simon's head that they refused to pass simple balls to Osimhen. it is the sun that burned Opioror Mango's brain that he shat the bed and cost us 3 points.
I will say it again, when you guys decide to face the truth, you will be successful. But you are Nigerians - the truth terifies you, so you'll rather blame your "mother in law" and "the village people" and the "witches and wizard in your compound."

- danfo driver
One of them is getting closer to the truth.Lolly wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:47 pmDistractions from content creators and family members?Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 3:59 pmWhat possibly is a reason for poor results at home? It surely cannot be the skill level of our players if they are doing the business away from home. Is it the "home environment" ? What is it?Orion wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 12:35 pm Last 14 competitive away games (excluding the AFCON tournament):
10/10/21 CAR 0-2 Nigeria
9 wins, 4 draws, 1 loss
The stats suggest we have a decent team, but our home results are letting us down.
Build a world-class stadium in one of the coldest regions of Taraba or Plateau state. Ensure there is an international airstrip nearby and nice hotels. Then make that the home of the Super Eagles. In the meantime move our home games to Morocco. Playing at home is worse than playing away at this point.![]()
But the truth is we've never been outplayed in the games we didn't win and even the ones we lost. We just can't get goals when we are the ones doing the attacking while the visiting teams are sitting back hoping to hit us on the break. Our 3rd half play has been really poor in recent years and I am thinking we haven't found the right combination of attackers and midfielders. Nigerian must be one of the few teams that its midfielders rarely get goals. Its either Osimhen, Lookman or a defender.

Next question, why do our midfielders NOT score goals, when the likes of Chrisantus and Dele-Bashiru score in La Liga and Serie A?
Last edited by danfo driver on Fri Mar 28, 2025 5:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- danfo driver
vancity eagle wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:37 pmIt's not an excuse.danfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 1:28 pmAnother excuse don landGoalgetter wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 1:21 pm If they must play in Uyo, why don’t they schedule the matches for late evening kickoff to help mitigate the effect of heat/humidity? They should not be kicking of earlier than 7pm local time. Stupid bunch.![]()
Morocco, Senegal, CIV, Ghana, Algeria all played their home matches at least 2 hours later than we did.
Why do you think that is ?
The main reason we drew Zimbabwe was because our players were tired. So if we played later in the day could that not have helped ?
This is the same NFF who once scheduled a critical match in the North in the middle of the day. They are truly incompetent to go along with their criminality.

Not the fact that we should have scored 4 goals and killed the opposition completely! or he fact that opioror mango shat the bed, but because our players were tired... the only players on the pitch that day were our players and they were tired. Zim players were in the dressingv room all game and the sun did not touch them... awwww.. booo hooo hoooo

comedy
Have yall noticed Iwobi cannot shoot the ball with his instep?
The answer is in the highlighted text. Those guys scoring in La Liga and Serie A have the right combination players alongside them. That’s why a good goal scoring striker or midfielder moves to a new club and then the goal dry up. While some move clubs and their goal count increases e.g. Lookman.danfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 5:01 pmOne of them is getting closer to the truth.Lolly wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:47 pmDistractions from content creators and family members?Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 3:59 pmWhat possibly is a reason for poor results at home? It surely cannot be the skill level of our players if they are doing the business away from home. Is it the "home environment" ? What is it?Orion wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 12:35 pm Last 14 competitive away games (excluding the AFCON tournament):
10/10/21 CAR 0-2 Nigeria
9 wins, 4 draws, 1 loss
Build a world-class stadium in one of the coldest regions of Taraba or Plateau state. Ensure there is an international airstrip nearby and nice hotels. Then make that the home of the Super Eagles. In the meantime move our home games to Morocco. Playing at home is worse than playing away at this point.![]()
But the truth is we've never been outplayed in the games we didn't win and even the ones we lost. We just can't get goals when we are the ones doing the attacking while the visiting teams are sitting back hoping to hit us on the break. Our 3rd half play has been really poor in recent years and I am thinking we haven't found the right combination of attackers and midfielders. Nigerian must be one of the few teams that its midfielders rarely get goals. Its either Osimhen, Lookman or a defender.Small small . . .
Next question, why do our midfielders NOT score goals, when the likes of Chrisantus and Dele-Bashiru score in La Liga and Serie A?
So the players are not poor, the coaches have not found the right combination amongst the ones he has chosen to invite. That’s why I get really pissed off when they overlook some good players for some slot players who don’t have anything to offer. We waste opportunities to test combinations.
I made this same comment on the Zimbabwe game thread. That why he hasn’t been scoring much lately.Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 5:10 pm Have yall noticed Iwobi cannot shoot the ball with his instep?
He has only scored one goal in his last 40 matches for the SE. That is really poor. Meanwhile, he scored 9 in his previous 40 matches. Why was he scoring more in his first 40 matches? The answer lies in the players around him.
- danfo driver
Those who watched both games saw fantastic combinations. I posted the miss from Ndidi. Feel free to press play and enjoy the combination.Lolly wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 6:28 pmThe answer is in the highlighted text. Those guys scoring in La Liga and Serie A have the right combination players alongside them. That’s why a good goal scoring striker or midfielder moves to a new club and then the goal dry up. While some move clubs and their goal count increases e.g. Lookman.danfo driver wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 5:01 pmOne of them is getting closer to the truth.Lolly wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:47 pmDistractions from content creators and family members?Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 3:59 pmWhat possibly is a reason for poor results at home? It surely cannot be the skill level of our players if they are doing the business away from home. Is it the "home environment" ? What is it?Orion wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 12:35 pm Last 14 competitive away games (excluding the AFCON tournament):
10/10/21 CAR 0-2 Nigeria
9 wins, 4 draws, 1 loss
But the truth is we've never been outplayed in the games we didn't win and even the ones we lost. We just can't get goals when we are the ones doing the attacking while the visiting teams are sitting back hoping to hit us on the break. Our 3rd half play has been really poor in recent years and I am thinking we haven't found the right combination of attackers and midfielders. Nigerian must be one of the few teams that its midfielders rarely get goals. Its either Osimhen, Lookman or a defender.Small small . . .
So the players are not poor, the coaches have not found the right combination amongst the ones he has chosen to invite. That’s why I get really pissed off when they overlook some good players for some slot players who don’t have anything to offer. We waste opportunities to test combinations.
The fact is that goalscoring is a skill. Some players like Ndidi are just poor goalscorers and you cant change that. Then there are others who know how to hit the ball and score goals.
You will admit this very soon, dont worry. Chelle almost collapsing after the Zim match means that he would have learned his lesson and his next list will be closer to merit-based. And then, you will see and admit it.
You're onto something here, bro. We don’t have midfielders who can shoot and score from outside the box, even when our opponents give us the space and opportunity to do so! As a result, we make the job easier for the oppositions, they can simply focus on our strikers, knowing that’s our only real threat. I miss the days of Okocha and Oliseh’s long-range rockets!Lolly wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:47 pmDistractions from content creators and family members?Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 3:59 pmWhat possibly is a reason for poor results at home? It surely cannot be the skill level of our players if they are doing the business away from home. Is it the "home environment" ? What is it?Orion wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 12:35 pm Last 14 competitive away games (excluding the AFCON tournament):
10/10/21 CAR 0-2 Nigeria
9 wins, 4 draws, 1 loss
Oliseh didn’t score that many goals. See stats of matches played and goals scored for the 1996-2000 squad and the current 2021-2025 squad.iworo wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 6:58 pmYou're onto something here, bro. We don’t have midfielders who can shoot and score from outside the box, even when our opponents give us the space and opportunity to do so! As a result, we make the job easier for the oppositions, they can simply focus on our strikers, knowing that’s our only real threat. I miss the days of Okocha and Oliseh’s long-range rockets!Lolly wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 4:47 pmDistractions from content creators and family members?Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 3:59 pmWhat possibly is a reason for poor results at home? It surely cannot be the skill level of our players if they are doing the business away from home. Is it the "home environment" ? What is it?Orion wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 12:35 pm Last 14 competitive away games (excluding the AFCON tournament):
10/10/21 CAR 0-2 Nigeria
9 wins, 4 draws, 1 loss
Okocha 73,14
Amokachi 44,13
Kanu 86,12
Amuneke 28,10
Ikpeba 31,7
Mutiu 48, 6
Garba Lawal 57,6
Finidi 62,6
Babangida 36,5
Oliseh 55,4
Ahmed Musa 110,18
Iheanacho 57,15
Iwobi 85,10
Lookman 29,8
Moses Simon 79,8
Chukwueze 44,6
Aribo 34,2
Onyeka 29,1
Ndidi 64,0
Notice how many goals our central and defensive midfielders (minus Iwobi) have between them. And Iwobi‘s goals have dried out, with one goal in his last 40 appearances. Same with Iheanacho who sadly has lost form. He was a big contributor of goals and bailed us out a few times.
We need to scout for goal scoring CMs.
Oliseh may not have scored a lot of goals but his powerful long-range shots/efforts led directly to rebound or tap-in goals by strikers. What I meant to convey is that Oliseh and Okocha's renowned shooting prowess undoubtedly created opportunities for their teammates.
Ok. Fair point.iworo wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 8:53 pm Oliseh may not have scored a lot of goals but his powerful long-range shots/efforts led directly to rebound or tap-in goals by strikers. What I meant to convey is that Oliseh and Okocha's renowned shooting prowess undoubtedly created opportunities for their teammates.
The only midfielder we have today who appears to hit the ball well is Fisayo.
But I have noticed Nigerian players from our youth teams to the SE are very poor at shooting with accuracy. It must have something to do with not playing on the right surfaces and with the right footwear. I have also watched a lot of academy players in recent years and they play on very poor pitches. And most of them are being trained for trials abroad. Not surprised a lot of them fail to impress.
its not we didn't lose. we won every match at home.gochino wrote: ↑Fri Mar 28, 2025 8:26 am Think of it, from 80s till 2000 we went close to 20 years without losing a game at home, in fact our first loss was the Afcon final against Cameroon which ended in penalties. Keep in mind that in this space we hosted 2 Afcons, it wasn't as if we weren't playing enough games. So what exactly changed?
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.