AFCON U20 Semifinal: South Africa 1 Nigeria 0 FT
Re: AFCON U20 Semifinal: South Africa v Nigeria
I suspect all those foreign based players that were invited came from agents.Sunset wrote: ↑Thu May 15, 2025 6:12 pmI wouldn't say that, on paper he would look like a decent addition at the U20 level (Even the main SE a couple years ago) but with a bit of scouting its quite clear he's a shaky GK to say the least and this is despite the professional experience he has over the other two. Zubairu only has himself to blame with his haphazard recruitment.
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
Re: AFCON U20 Semifinal: South Africa v Nigeria
That is the koko of the matter. We have too many of these type of players- head down and force it in. It doesn't work at the elite levels because you get found out too easily.Cellular wrote: ↑Thu May 15, 2025 6:40 pmThank you.
I was wondering if it was the revelation of the tournament was the one culpable in the goal.
I think even with our Senior Team, we need to work on being a bit more composed in the final 3rd. Sometimes, an extra pass could unlock a defense. I hope they give them ample time to camp for the World Cup.
"We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope" (Martin Luther King, Jr)
Re: AFCON U20 Semifinal: South Africa 1 Nigeria 0 FT
The goalkeeper messed up. RSA got a scalp there, but I expect them to lose in the final to Morocco.
Amochach Daniel meanwhile does this https://www.instagram.com/reel/DJrz2jhs ... Iya3N1dA==
"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."
Naija Try
Hope the boys are really young
I can help but note sports/football ITKs commenting as if our victory is written in stone.
First we need to compete beyond simply showing up and trying to out-hustle the opposition.
I keep saying that our game at the developmental stage is crap. What with coaches focused
on fitness instead of talent and team cohesion? Losing aside, if we cannot mold our talents to
play a disciplined and focused game, we will continue to be just rans. In short our coaching
approach needs to be re-examined and approached with philosophical clarity.
Anyone that wants to counter my submission should first start by informing on what our football
philosophy is. At this time I just can't decipher what that is.
First we need to compete beyond simply showing up and trying to out-hustle the opposition.
I keep saying that our game at the developmental stage is crap. What with coaches focused
on fitness instead of talent and team cohesion? Losing aside, if we cannot mold our talents to
play a disciplined and focused game, we will continue to be just rans. In short our coaching
approach needs to be re-examined and approached with philosophical clarity.
Anyone that wants to counter my submission should first start by informing on what our football
philosophy is. At this time I just can't decipher what that is.
This is a lazy approach to a complex problembret- hart wrote: ↑Thu May 15, 2025 5:36 pm 2 games 0 goals. Disgrace. This is what happens when you select players based on quota system not merit. Imagine losting to an Average South African team. bull$^&^
Sure if gives you comfort but it doesnt address the core issues
This is like Deja vu, Im having the same conversation about South African youth Rugby with some Afrikaaners who bring up quota (read black and colored players) as a reaoson for the team losing (notwithstanding their recent success)
You better not waste your time debating with him. You can’t reason with Bigotry.akamoke wrote: ↑Thu May 15, 2025 11:16 pmThis is a lazy approach to a complex problembret- hart wrote: ↑Thu May 15, 2025 5:36 pm 2 games 0 goals. Disgrace. This is what happens when you select players based on quota system not merit. Imagine losting to an Average South African team. bull$^&^
This is like Deja vu, Im having the same conversation about South African youth Rugby with some Afrikaaners who bring up quota (read black and colored players) as a reaoson for the team losing (notwithstanding their recent success)
- bret- hart
You are typing Nonsense. France knows where to get its ballers from so does Brazil. USA knows where to get basketball players from. Its only in Nigeria where coaches all of a sudden get brain farts when its time to find its ballers. In the 1990s Nigeria was in its golden age because players were picked on merit regardless of which region they came from. Coaches were selected on merit and we got results.akamoke wrote: ↑Thu May 15, 2025 11:16 pmThis is a lazy approach to a complex problembret- hart wrote: ↑Thu May 15, 2025 5:36 pm 2 games 0 goals. Disgrace. This is what happens when you select players based on quota system not merit. Imagine losting to an Average South African team. bull$^&^
Everybody knows deep down our best players comes from the SE, SS, SW, Middle belt, Edo, Delta states and the diaspora. When we stop deceiving ourselves and start concentrating in those regions putting vital infrastructures in place, we will start to win again.
Last edited by bret- hart on Thu May 15, 2025 11:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- bret- hart
A Jihadist calling me a bigot? Thats richLolly wrote: ↑Thu May 15, 2025 11:21 pmYou better not waste your time debating with him. You can’t reason with Bigotry.akamoke wrote: ↑Thu May 15, 2025 11:16 pmThis is a lazy approach to a complex problembret- hart wrote: ↑Thu May 15, 2025 5:36 pm 2 games 0 goals. Disgrace. This is what happens when you select players based on quota system not merit. Imagine losting to an Average South African team. bull$^&^

- bret- hart
In 5 games Nigeria u20 only score 3 goals and yet, some clowns here think this is "ok". Since when did a Nigerian team find it difficult to score goals in Africa?? Instead of asking critical questions like why our football is so sh$%t nowadays, they attack the very people who ask these critical questions.
OK go ahead with your quota nonsesne and see where it gets you,bret- hart wrote: ↑Thu May 15, 2025 11:26 pmYou are typing Nonsense. France knows where to get its ballers from so does Brazil. USA knows where to get basketball players from. Its only in Nigeria where coaches all of a sudden get brain farts when its time to find its ballers. In the 1990s Nigeria was in its golden age because players were picked on merit regardless of which region they came from. Coaches were selected on merit and we got results.akamoke wrote: ↑Thu May 15, 2025 11:16 pmThis is a lazy approach to a complex problembret- hart wrote: ↑Thu May 15, 2025 5:36 pm 2 games 0 goals. Disgrace. This is what happens when you select players based on quota system not merit. Imagine losting to an Average South African team. bull$^&^
Everybody knows deep down our best players comes from the SE, SS, SW, Middle belt, Edo, Delta states and the diaspora. When we stop deceiving ourselves and start concentrating in those regions putting vital infrastructures in place, we will start to win again.
Good thing you ar eno where near administration in NFF,
Im convinced you wont do any better
It's not just the quota system. When was the last time a Nigerian club reached the CAF Champions League final or even the semis? Two South African teams were in the last 4 this year. We used to do better in the continental cups, even with the player drain.bret- hart wrote: ↑Thu May 15, 2025 11:43 pm In 5 games Nigeria u20 only score 3 goals and yet, some clowns here think this is "ok". Since when did a Nigerian team find it difficult to score goals in Africa?? Instead of asking critical questions like why our football is so sh$%t nowadays, they attack the very people who ask these critical questions.
Standards and quality of players have dropped. We get a few glimpses here and there of the old times, like the recent AFCON run, but overall, we've been on a downward slide at all levels of men's football.
My view is that this team will come good with a few changes starting with a finisher. The mistake Nigeria will make is instituting a major overhaul. I do not care if that overhaul is bringing in players from Europe. There needs to be a bit more quickness in defense and a confident midfielder who can hold the ball when necessary. Otherwise, this team will compete.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
My view is that this team will come good with a few changes starting with a finisher. The mistake Nigeria will make is instituting a major overhaul. I do not care if that overhaul is bringing in players from Europe. There needs to be a bit more quickness in defense and a confident midfielder who can hold the ball when necessary. Otherwise, this team will compete.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
The whole attacking players need changing. They were so poor. And I don’t think they can be corrected. Too late for correct the way they have been playing football.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri May 16, 2025 12:33 pm My view is that this team will come good with a few changes starting with a finisher. The mistake Nigeria will make is instituting a major overhaul. I do not care if that overhaul is bringing in players from Europe. There needs to be a bit more quickness in defense and a confident midfielder who can hold the ball when necessary. Otherwise, this team will compete.
That Oliseh boy is skilful and can hustle but he is programmed not to pass to anyone once he sees an opportunity to shine. He was the worst culprit. The main striker Arierhi still plays like he is playing set with his mates. The other midfielders Jephta, Alabi, Maigana can’t even pass the ball properly. I can go on and on. I doubt any of these listed players will make the cut for the WC unless the coach wants to go and embarrass us.
Enugu; really has the soul been sold to the devil when someone else has to be brought in to reap the seed of some else labor. I think Cyber eagles is the only forum where this idea gets thrown around casually as if all that matters is win at all cost irrespective of who you killed en route. Do we have evidence that this is a common practice by all football nations why should this been condoned if at all. I see no moral justification in it especially when bringing in an already privileged player from abroad to snatch food off the mouth of a still developing individual.Lolly wrote: ↑Fri May 16, 2025 6:35 pmThe whole attacking players need changing. They were so poor. And I don’t think they can be corrected. Too late for correct the way they have been playing football.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri May 16, 2025 12:33 pm My view is that this team will come good with a few changes starting with a finisher. The mistake Nigeria will make is instituting a major overhaul. I do not care if that overhaul is bringing in players from Europe. There needs to be a bit more quickness in defense and a confident midfielder who can hold the ball when necessary. Otherwise, this team will compete.
That Oliseh boy is skilful and can hustle but he is programmed not to pass to anyone once he sees an opportunity to shine. He was the worst culprit. The main striker Arierhi still plays like he is playing set with his mates. The other midfielders Jephta, Alabi, Maigana can’t even pass the ball properly. I can go on and on. I doubt any of these listed players will make the cut for the WC unless the coach wants to go and embarrass us.
Jette1jette1 wrote: ↑Fri May 16, 2025 7:29 pmEnugu; really has the soul been sold to the devil when someone else has to be brought in to reap the seed of some else labor. I think Cyber eagles is the only forum where this idea gets thrown around casually as if all that matters is win at all cost irrespective of who you killed en route. Do we have evidence that this is a common practice by all football nations why should this been condoned if at all. I see no moral justification in it especially when bringing in an already privileged player from abroad to snatch food off the mouth of a still developing individual.Lolly wrote: ↑Fri May 16, 2025 6:35 pmThe whole attacking players need changing. They were so poor. And I don’t think they can be corrected. Too late for correct the way they have been playing football.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri May 16, 2025 12:33 pm My view is that this team will come good with a few changes starting with a finisher. The mistake Nigeria will make is instituting a major overhaul. I do not care if that overhaul is bringing in players from Europe. There needs to be a bit more quickness in defense and a confident midfielder who can hold the ball when necessary. Otherwise, this team will compete.
I understand your point but the country's needs outweigh those of the individual, I would argue. In my view, several of these players will still beat out some of the FB that people are banding about as subs. One thing for sure is that chemistry beats putting a bunch of guys hastily together for a tournament. In that regard, most of the guys on this team should meet the test to represent the country at the WYC but there will surely be a few changes in some areas as I have noted already.
I understand where you're coming from and I respect the emotional connection many of us have to homegrown talent and the idea of "rewarding labor". But I think we need to take a step back and consider what the ultimate goal is for a national team.....especially at a major tournament like the U-20 World Cup.jette1 wrote: ↑Fri May 16, 2025 7:29 pmEnugu; really has the soul been sold to the devil when someone else has to be brought in to reap the seed of some else labor. I think Cyber eagles is the only forum where this idea gets thrown around casually as if all that matters is win at all cost irrespective of who you killed en route. Do we have evidence that this is a common practice by all football nations why should this been condoned if at all. I see no moral justification in it especially when bringing in an already privileged player from abroad to snatch food off the mouth of a still developing individual.Lolly wrote: ↑Fri May 16, 2025 6:35 pmThe whole attacking players need changing. They were so poor. And I don’t think they can be corrected. Too late for correct the way they have been playing football.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri May 16, 2025 12:33 pm My view is that this team will come good with a few changes starting with a finisher. The mistake Nigeria will make is instituting a major overhaul. I do not care if that overhaul is bringing in players from Europe. There needs to be a bit more quickness in defense and a confident midfielder who can hold the ball when necessary. Otherwise, this team will compete.
Firstly, this is not about "snatching food" from anyone. National team selection should be based on merit and potential to perform at the highest level, not loyalty to a particular training camp or region. Football is brutally competitive and the World Cup isn't a reward for effort.....it's a test of ability. If a forward line isn't functioning well, we need to fix it, even if it means bringing in new, better players, regardless of where they developed (foreign or local).
Secondly, this isn’t unique to Nigeria. At this level, almost every serious footballing nation incorporates players both foreign- and local-based players or who joined the setup late. It’s not about selling souls or cheating, it’s about raising standards. The duty of the coaching staff is to put the best team on the pitch, period.
Thirdly, if we truly care about the development of homegrown talents, then the focus should be on fixing the domestic pipeline (academies, scouting, coaching), not artificially blocking more capable players because they didn’t “suffer” enough in our flawed system. That mindset might feel moral, but in practice, it honestly holds us back.
In short, calling for changes in the forward line isn’t about win at all costs or undermining anyone’s hustle. It’s about avoiding predictable failure and ensuring we present a competitive, capable, effective side on the global stage. If the team exits in the group stage, no one will remember who trained the original squad, they’ll just say Nigeria failed again.
Let’s push for fairness and excellence, not one at the expense of the other.
I agree with this 100%! Minus Ayuma and maybe Cletus the lack of composure from the CM's has been a common theme with Oliseh being the biggest culprit IMO, I don't think he's good enough for this squad let alone being a starter.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri May 16, 2025 12:33 pm My view is that this team will come good with a few changes starting with a finisher. The mistake Nigeria will make is instituting a major overhaul. I do not care if that overhaul is bringing in players from Europe. There needs to be a bit more quickness in defense and a confident midfielder who can hold the ball when necessary. Otherwise, this team will compete.
The team is far from being complete with such a weak bench, seeing how the injury to our 15 Year Old GK affected our whole gameplan. That's one area that'll hinder any team.
I can't think of any player off the bench whose performance made a case for them to be a starter?
Hopefully Harcourt will be available for the 3rd place match given we'll be missing Odinaka at LB already.
In a rush to make our point we all run into these tendencies to sideline actual point being made hence Im afraid you miss my point or may be not; if any team is good enough to qualify us then with few changes depending on the situation (in this case the back-up keeper who gifted south Africa) same is just as good to go and compete. Its no rocket science that Teams begin to find their feat as competition progresses and we saw that we this team and with our senior team in CIV last year. This last game against South Africa typifies how teams improve never mind that they lost and, we know why.iworo wrote: ↑Fri May 16, 2025 8:49 pmI understand where you're coming from and I respect the emotional connection many of us have to homegrown talent and the idea of "rewarding labor". But I think we need to take a step back and consider what the ultimate goal is for a national team.....especially at a major tournament like the U-20 World Cup.jette1 wrote: ↑Fri May 16, 2025 7:29 pmEnugu; really has the soul been sold to the devil when someone else has to be brought in to reap the seed of some else labor. I think Cyber eagles is the only forum where this idea gets thrown around casually as if all that matters is win at all cost irrespective of who you killed en route. Do we have evidence that this is a common practice by all football nations why should this been condoned if at all. I see no moral justification in it especially when bringing in an already privileged player from abroad to snatch food off the mouth of a still developing individual.Lolly wrote: ↑Fri May 16, 2025 6:35 pmThe whole attacking players need changing. They were so poor. And I don’t think they can be corrected. Too late for correct the way they have been playing football.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri May 16, 2025 12:33 pm My view is that this team will come good with a few changes starting with a finisher. The mistake Nigeria will make is instituting a major overhaul. I do not care if that overhaul is bringing in players from Europe. There needs to be a bit more quickness in defense and a confident midfielder who can hold the ball when necessary. Otherwise, this team will compete.
Firstly, this is not about "snatching food" from anyone. National team selection should be based on merit and potential to perform at the highest level, not loyalty to a particular training camp or region. Football is brutally competitive and the World Cup isn't a reward for effort.....it's a test of ability. If a forward line isn't functioning well, we need to fix it, even if it means bringing in new, better players, regardless of where they developed (foreign or local).
Secondly, this isn’t unique to Nigeria. At this level, almost every serious footballing nation incorporates players both foreign- and local-based players or who joined the setup late. It’s not about selling souls or cheating, it’s about raising standards. The duty of the coaching staff is to put the best team on the pitch, period.
Thirdly, if we truly care about the development of homegrown talents, then the focus should be on fixing the domestic pipeline (academies, scouting, coaching), not artificially blocking more capable players because they didn’t “suffer” enough in our flawed system. That mindset might feel moral, but in practice, it honestly holds us back.
In short, calling for changes in the forward line isn’t about win at all costs or undermining anyone’s hustle. It’s about avoiding predictable failure and ensuring we present a competitive, capable, effective side on the global stage. If the team exits in the group stage, no one will remember who trained the original squad, they’ll just say Nigeria failed again.
My broda, the players themselves know they are just there to do a job and secure qualification. I'm sure they are well aware that they are not the best U20 talent Nigeria has.jette1 wrote: ↑Fri May 16, 2025 9:59 pmIn a rush to make our point we all run into these tendencies to sideline actual point being made hence Im afraid you miss my point or may be not; if any team is good enough to qualify us then with few changes depending on the situation (in this case the back-up keeper who gifted south Africa) same is just as good to go and compete. Its no rocket science that Teams begin to find their feat as competition progresses and we saw that we this team and with our senior team in CIV last year. This last game against South Africa typifies how teams improve never mind that they lost and, we know why.iworo wrote: ↑Fri May 16, 2025 8:49 pmI understand where you're coming from and I respect the emotional connection many of us have to homegrown talent and the idea of "rewarding labor". But I think we need to take a step back and consider what the ultimate goal is for a national team.....especially at a major tournament like the U-20 World Cup.jette1 wrote: ↑Fri May 16, 2025 7:29 pmEnugu; really has the soul been sold to the devil when someone else has to be brought in to reap the seed of some else labor. I think Cyber eagles is the only forum where this idea gets thrown around casually as if all that matters is win at all cost irrespective of who you killed en route. Do we have evidence that this is a common practice by all football nations why should this been condoned if at all. I see no moral justification in it especially when bringing in an already privileged player from abroad to snatch food off the mouth of a still developing individual.Lolly wrote: ↑Fri May 16, 2025 6:35 pmThe whole attacking players need changing. They were so poor. And I don’t think they can be corrected. Too late for correct the way they have been playing football.Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri May 16, 2025 12:33 pm My view is that this team will come good with a few changes starting with a finisher. The mistake Nigeria will make is instituting a major overhaul. I do not care if that overhaul is bringing in players from Europe. There needs to be a bit more quickness in defense and a confident midfielder who can hold the ball when necessary. Otherwise, this team will compete.
This issue is well known that the CAF age grade AFCONS are not held during a FIFA window and it has cost us in the past. We missed out on Olympic football despite having a golden generation in that age group last time because we did not have our best players available to prosecute the qualifying tournament.
The WC is FIFA approved, so there is no doubt better players will be brought in. Nothing wrong with it.
Bushboy's bushmen : 1.Isaac Success 2. Terem Moffi 3. Victor Boniface 4. Samuel Omorodion. 5. Samson Tijani. 6. Rafiu Durosinmi. 7. George Ilenikhena.
Your bias expectations failed you