Which Way Nigeria

Re: Which Way Nigeria

Damunk wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 5:17 pm
joao wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 4:39 pm The thing mostly overlooked in this thread is whether the SE plays as a TEAM.
Senegal played as a focused, coordinated, and disciplined team. Our SE lacks
those qualities and until they get these, a Pele, Maradona, or Ronaldinho on
the team will simply be individuals.
You’ll be surprised the number of neutral observers that totally disagree with you. :D
By nature, we understate our victories and overstate our losses.
It is in line with everything Nigerian we assess.
We understate the good things about us and overemphasize the bad.

So when other people say good things about us, we think they are mad (but we like it). :D
Its good sha, because in a weird kind of way, it keeps pushing us to greater heights. It’s probably what makes us Nigerians, albeit dysfunctional in a sense.

But there’s a psychology behind it.
For me, nothing demonstrates this more than the negative and self-judgemental attitude of Nigerians to the international P&ID scam when the story first broke.
(Not football-related).
When I watch team sports, especially football, my first inclination is to observe how coordinated
and disciplined the individual talents are performing as a unit. We just saw, in the last few weeks
in the CL and Euro League finals how the represented teams played. One can, within the first fifteen
minutes observe what the teams are trying to do, as related to attacking or defending.
When I look at our SE in the last few competitive games, I cannot claim to understand the philosophy
of the team's approach as it seems there is little transitioning of the individual efforts into a team agenda.
This, for me, is why our scoring is limited, and our defending without discipline thus resulting in cheap
goals conceded.

My observations are not about the current coach's efforts but over a long time. In short,
it seems our players leave the mental focus and needed discipline at their respective clubs,
once that get to the SE camp.

sabb

Post by sabb »

joao wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 4:39 pm The thing mostly overlooked in this thread is whether the SE plays as a TEAM.
kpom
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli

sabb wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 8:13 pm
kpom
We can’t play as a team if we are continuously rotating players in and out plus the junks imposed on the team by agents and Godfathers.

Men, I just saw that Chile failed to qualify for the 2026 WC. That’s 3 failed WCQ in a row. We are turning out to be like them. They hanged onto their golden generation for far too long and now they’re paying the price. The Moses Simon, Ekong, Kele, Musa and to some extend Ndidi (mostly due to injuries) should have been phased out before or after the last AFCON.

Cellular wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 4:12 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 3:28 pm
You see your life, this is how your likes were beating and boasting una chest over a 4-2 victory vs Argentina. Well let's just say one of the worst Argetine football team still advanced eliminating that same SE (mind you SE used their first team, whereas we can't say the same for Argentina)

A dead rubber friendly. AFRICANS and over celebrations. When the proper tournament starts. Nah park the bus and find out. We all saw England woop the African Champs 3 kondo at the last world cup
Complete drivel.

Senegal went to England and beat England.

The English team didn't allow them to win. Senegal beat them.

Now, you can continue with your jagbajantis tok about 'over celebrating'.

It is you that is projecting.
Yeap, enjoy and celebrate the "we beat England trophy"

packerland wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 8:29 pm Men, I just saw that Chile failed to qualify for the 2026 WC. That’s 3 failed WCQ in a row. We are turning out to be like them. They hanged onto their golden generation for far too long and now they’re paying the price. The Moses Simon, Ekong, Kele, Musa and to some extend Ndidi (mostly due to injuries) should have been phased out before or after the last AFCON.
I won't even dare consider this present crop of our players as a golden generation, Senegal's recent team is their golden generation cause they've actually won something and have remained consistent in being the best in Africa for years now, and they are maintaining the core of their BEST veteran players while complimenting the team with young and exciting talents.

Nigeria just has a decent team by African standards, we're several miles off from a golden generation cause most of our A level players are already in their late 20's and haven't won zilch (except you count a silver medal as a trophy), we're potentially about to miss out on 2 world cups back to back for the first time in our football history... I say we press the reset button after the AFCON and just take the risk by rebuilding with players from 18-22yrs we can get from the academies and U20 core, keep Osimhen and Lookman as the leaders and shining hopes like Onyedika, Benjamin Federick etc

Tobi17 wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 9:17 pm
packerland wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 8:29 pm Men, I just saw that Chile failed to qualify for the 2026 WC. That’s 3 failed WCQ in a row. We are turning out to be like them. They hanged onto their golden generation for far too long and now they’re paying the price. The Moses Simon, Ekong, Kele, Musa and to some extend Ndidi (mostly due to injuries) should have been phased out before or after the last AFCON.
I won't even dare consider this present crop of our players as a golden generation, Senegal's recent team is their golden generation cause they've actually won something and have remained consistent in being the best in Africa for years now, and they are maintaining the core of their BEST veteran players while complimenting the team with young and exciting talents.

Nigeria just has a decent team by African standards, we're several miles off from a golden generation cause most of our A level players are already in their late 20's and haven't won zilch (except you count a silver medal as a trophy), we're potentially about to miss out on 2 world cups back to back for the first time in our football history... I say we press the reset button after the AFCON and just take the risk by rebuilding with players from 18-22yrs we can get from the academies and U20 core, keep Osimhen and Lookman as the leaders and shining hopes like Onyedika, Benjamin Federick etc
You obviously have a lot of confidence in our current crop of youth players and their ability to compete on the world stage.

The African stage should NOT be our benchmark.
We need to evaluate our players’ ability to stand toe-to-toe with some of the best IN THE WORLD.

AFCON is great but we need to shoot beyond that.
They say ‘Shoot for the stars and you’ll at least hit the sky’. :idea:

Even the Fredericks you mentioned is only at the start of his journey. Hopefully it will be a long stint at the very top.

Finidi really set us back. He should have built on the team that got to the AFCON final instead of trying to build "his own" team. That was the only reason I wanted him to get the job him since he was already part of the set up. But he goofed men.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Who are these 18-22 years old that will form a super symbiote when brought together? The truth is, the game has gone, aliens have landed, deflowered maidens and sired extraterrestrials in distant lands.

Lamine Yamal, 100 appearances for Barcelona before he’s old enough to grow a goatee. Desire Doue destroying seasoned campaigners at 19 in a Champions League final. Dean Huijsen, turned 20 in April, having Rolls Royced a full Premier League campaign as a teenager. Rayan Cherki, now of City, had over 100 Ligue 1 games for Lyon and appeared in both the Champions and Europa league before leaving his teens. Joao Neves, barely old enough to buy a cocktail at Dirty Martini. The list is endless.

Which 18-22 year olds can be the backbone of anything other than an invertebrate by comparison? Nigeria failed to do as others did, invest from grassroots through to the tip of the treetop. If they make it to the World Cup to make up the numbers, brilliant. Will they make it beyond their usual drop off point? Unlikely. Nigh on impossible. Nowhere near good enough. By choice.

Yup! I saw it and I just rolled my eyes and scrolled down. When they kept inviting the same 37 year olds, they thought they were doing someone else and not themselves. Here they are! This is the same imbec1l1ty we have in our fanbase where you have people calling for the return of Balogun and hanging on to a 33 year old failed footballer like Ekong and a clubless Ajayi! Continue! You think you are doing me abi? Dont worry, the rain will flog all of us together.

The thing I hate more than corrupt and incompetent people are those who make excuses for them and enable them. Shege Barawo Banza! :-x

Chile should suffer the consequence of their stupidity and soon Nigeria will join them. :roll: :-x

The use of the highlighted word was kind of a shock.
Golden? There is nothing in any of the recent generation of SE teams that can be classified as golden generation. Absolutely, nothing!
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

danfo driver wrote: Thu Jun 12, 2025 12:48 am
Yup! I saw it and I just rolled my eyes and scrolled down. When they kept inviting the same 37 year olds, they thought they were doing someone else and not themselves. Here they are! This is the same imbec1l1ty we have in our fanbase where you have people calling for the return of Balogun and hanging on to a 33 year old failed footballer like Ekong and a clubless Ajayi! Continue! You think you are doing me abi? Dont worry, the rain will flog all of us together.

The thing I hate more than corrupt and incompetent people are those who make excuses for them and enable them. Shege Barawo Banza! :-x

Chile should suffer the consequence of their stupidity and soon Nigeria will join them. :roll: :-x
Why are you such a toxic person? Dem swear for you? Can’t make your points without insults?
You need spiritual deliverance as you are obviously not in a good place and it’s obvious from your comments that you need help!
Let people make their comments without crying all over the forum and trolling!
Stop insulting forum members because of their opinions! That appears to be too much for you!

Dammy wrote: Thu Jun 12, 2025 4:39 am

Why are you such a toxic person? Dem swear for you? Can’t make your points without insults?
You need spiritual deliverance as you are obviously not in a good place and it’s obvious from your comments that you need help!
Stop insulting forum members because of their opinions! That appears to be too much for you!
which forum member did I insult?

Did you call for the return of Balogun? :D

Bigpokey24 wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 6:53 pm
Sunset wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 6:46 pm All this over a friendly? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: you dey mind them
Because these Africans with low self esteem could hardly believe their fellow Africans beat England

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

jette1 wrote: Thu Jun 12, 2025 5:08 am
Sunset wrote: Wed Jun 11, 2025 6:46 pm All this over a friendly? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Because these Africans with low self esteem could hardly believe their fellow Africans beat England
Because they have never beaten England, not one single African nation. We are still shocked.

Lest we forget, no African nation has won the World Cup. So we low self esteem Africans will celebrate naked the day we finally win it.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

danfo driver wrote: Thu Jun 12, 2025 4:47 am

Whether I support Balogun’s recall or not is not the issue. You are not as clever as you think you are! You are hyping Akinsanmiro on the forum but have kept quiet after he played a role in Sampdoria’s relegation from division two to division three!
Imagine if it was someone else who hyped the boy, you would have trolled them since you troll players who are relegated from division one to two. No one is trolling you because they know that Akinsanmiro is a good player and not solely responsible for Sampdoria’s relegation! ( Thank God for Brescia’s cock-up!)
No one has used derogatory language on you because of your support for a player relegated to division three, so if there are people supporting other players on the forum, let them be!

Lol England has been poor recently. Nigerian team will beat them at this moment.

Lolly wrote: Thu Jun 12, 2025 6:59 am
jette1 wrote: Thu Jun 12, 2025 5:08 am
Because they have never beaten England, not one single African nation. We are still shocked.

Lest we forget, no African nation has won the World Cup. So we low self esteem Africans will celebrate naked the day we finally win it.
One of the staff in the hotel, I am staying in Marrakesh, rubbed in Senegal victory over England this morning. When I said, I was from England. I might just stick to Wales or Scotland

Dammy wrote: Thu Jun 12, 2025 7:13 am

Whether I support Balogun’s recall or not is not the issue. You are not as clever as you think you are! You are hyping Akinsanmiro on the forum but have kept quiet after he played a role in Sampdoria’s relegation from division two to division three!
Imagine if it was someone else who hyped the boy, you would have trolled them since you troll players who are relegated from division one to two. No one is trolling you because they know that Akinsanmiro is a good player and not solely responsible for Sampdoria’s relegation! ( Thank God for Brescia’s cock-up!)
No one has used derogatory language on you because of your support for a player relegated to division three, so if there are people supporting other players on the forum, let them be!
You seem to be crying a lot these days. Is the clublessness of Balogun affecting your monthly income? :lol:

naijaguy wrote: Thu Jun 12, 2025 7:58 am Lol England has been poor recently. Nigerian team will beat them at this moment.
Some of you people like to make mouth. When was the last time we beat a team worth a salt? We are the draw specialist. Even in ‘95 when we thoroughly outplayed them with our team from the World Cup, they stole victory from us. Don’t forget that England had a poor team back then and didn’t make the ‘94 WC.
You have to be mentally tough and composed like Senegal to beat even a poor England team and we don’t have those attributes at this time.
Last edited by packerland on Thu Jun 12, 2025 2:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

I get your point but “Golden” doesn’t necessarily mean you have to win something. See Belgium and Netherlands had their golden generation and didn’t win squat. It’s just a collection of good players that have been together for a long time that either won or failed to meet expectations. Players like ekong, Musa, Iwobi, Kele, Simon, Omerua etc. have been with the team for a very long time with not much to show for. We need to retool or we’ll end up like Chile is my point. We are about to miss 2 WCs in a row which is unusual for us. Once we hit 3, that will become our norm.

danfo driver wrote: Thu Jun 12, 2025 1:45 pm

You seem to be crying a lot these days. Is the clublessness of Balogun affecting your monthly income? :lol:
How much you dey collect from Osimhen’s people for the follow follow boy boy you dey do on CE?
Stop projecting yourself onto others! I’m aware of all the screenshots that you are sending to Osimhen’s people for the “work” you are doing on CE and asking to be settled! :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Dammy wrote: Thu Jun 12, 2025 7:47 pm
danfo driver wrote: Thu Jun 12, 2025 1:45 pm

Speak for yourself! Thief and a liar! :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
How much you dey collect from Osimhen’s people for the follow follow boy boy you dey do on CE?
Hang in there, Uncle. He is about to sign with a Cypriot club. Lets just pray this deal goes through before the end of the month, because council flats are unforgiving. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: