Nigeria vs Egypt 1-0

Re: Nigeria vs Egypt Live! 1-0

Simon needs to do better. Needs to slow down a little to ensure better end product...Good game though...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

If Ejuke will look up.....he will be one hell of a player

airwolex wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 7:08 pm For me, it's a toss up between Chukwueze and Ejuke, what a problem to have.

Hope Omeruo is not badly hurt
Hope so too.

peppersoup
Re: Nigeria vs Egypt 1-0

Post by peppersoup »

and no single yellow card in the game. The players played a clean game. Very professional on both sides
"His Excellency President for Life, Field Marshal Al Hadji Doctor Idi Amin, VC, DSO, MC, Lord of All the Beasts of the Earth and Fishes of the Sea, and Conqueror of the British Empire in Africa in General and Uganda in Particular."

My only disappointment today was Chukwueze. Hope he starts the next match and Egu doesn't replace him with Ejuke.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Dang. Missed the game.

Enyi wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 7:15 pm If Ejuke will look up.....he will be one hell of a player
Difficult to train that out of him now. Old habits die hard.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Massive room for improvement in this team having successfully navigated the first game.

With those two towers in central midfield we should've severely punished Egypt on the counter, with more composed play...

Only team I've seen with comparable power so far is Cameroon.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

That was an excellent game from the SE. it was a tactically disciplined performance. This was no shaky performance in Rohr style. The lads played with experience and confidence. The entire team played very well.

txj wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 7:19 pm Massive room for improvement in this team having successfully navigated the first game.

With those two towers in central midfield we should've severely punished Egypt on the counter, with more composed play...

Their fitness/availability will be crucial to how far Nigeria progresses...

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16

© The YeyeMan 2025

Robbynice wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 7:13 pm Senior Man the MOTM :clap: :clap: :clap:
Moses in my book.

Lolly wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 7:17 pm My only disappointment today was Chukwueze. Hope he starts the next match and Egu doesn't replace him with Ejuke.

I thought he had a really good game, esp in first half. With better movement from Awoniyi, he would've been more impactful...

Goalgetter

Post by Goalgetter »

Kudos to Eguavoen. He made timely substitutions to keep the pressure on Egypt as soon as he saw they weee getting into the game. Rhor never did that throughout his tenure.
Are you saying that things you do not know, do not exist, just because you do not know that they exist?
smallpikin

Post by smallpikin »

txj wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 7:19 pm Massive room for improvement in this team having successfully navigated the first game.

Way better than Cameroon. They could barely beat Burkina.
"If you aren't keeping the score
you're only practising". Hugh Collum, Finance Director, SmithKline Beecham.

balo wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 7:18 pm Dang. Missed the game.
For real?!? Please make sure you miss the rest of the SE games too. I see a correlation hia :laugh:
Ex nihilo nihil fit

Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection:

I think that will give them immense confidence whilst scaring the hell out of our opponents.
They just need to keep their heads down and not get carried away.

For me the key was Simon. When things were tight in the first half, he was the only one that could open the game. They had to make a lot of adjustments for him and that opened things for others. That is the best I have seen him play for us.
sabb

Post by sabb »

Super Eagles
my boys soar high
una do well
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli

The YeyeMan wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 7:21 pm

We were 'allowed' a lot of liberties by how Egypt opted to play. But I think we did not do enough in the final third to severely punish them as they deserved to...

As well as our wide players performed, it was based on overcoming in 1v1 situations and not the use of space and movement. I worry a deep seating team may present problems

txj wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 7:26 pm
The YeyeMan wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 7:21 pm

We were 'allowed' a lot of liberties by how Egypt opted to play. But I think we did not do enough in the final third to severely punish them as they deserved to...

As well as our wide players performed, it was based on overcoming in 1v1 situations and not the use of space and movement. I worry a deep seating team may present problems
Enter Iwobi...

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16

© The YeyeMan 2025

Damunk wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 7:24 pm

I think that will give them immense confidence whilst scaring the hell out of our opponents.
They just need to keep their heads down and not get carried away.
I don't think Coach Eguavoen will let them. He seems like the coach for the moment. He did well today. More of the same moving forward

Our guys played like they were tired of hearing Salah this, Salah that...
mapet

Post by mapet »

Cellular wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 7:07 pm
txj wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 6:58 pm Aribo my MOM by a country mile...
With many to choose from... he is mine too!
Moses Simon is mine