OFFICIAL SQUAD AGAINST GHANA RELEASED

Re: OFFICIAL SQUAD AGAINST GHANA RELEASED

naijaguy wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 10:09 pm
bret- hart wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 8:09 pm
Tobi17 wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:20 pm
bret- hart wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:10 pm Tobi stop this nonsence new faces talk. Other countries are bringing in reinforcements. Mali with Dacore Congo with Nkunku and Bisakka etc. If Ghana could the likes of Lamptey and CHO would be in their squad today. There is no reason why Yusuf Nwadike Adeleye Nwobodo etc should not be in the squad including the standby list. WTF is Onazi & Abdulahi doing there?
You don't get it, I'm not arguing against the fact that all these guys you listed don't deserve to be invited, but do they really stand out so prominently that they would make any significant difference in that team- especially in the midfield compared to the players we currently have? Nwobodo plays in a position Etebo effectively thrives in, even Bassey who is very versatile can play as a defensive-mid; ditto Ajayi... Yusuf and Nwadike are satellite players who aren't any different from Innocent Bonke (whom I actually prefer over those players) cause he plays in a better league at least... This team remains the best we could have had and I trust Egu/Amunike to handle the business!
You can invite Nwobodo Yusuf and Nwadike and still have Etebo in the squad. I hope you guys know who we are playing agaisnt. Ghana is a midfield heavy team. If they lock up the middle we are screwed. What happens if God forbid Ndidi gets injured?
Same midfield over ran by Comoros? :lol:
We will beat Ghana home and away. It will be our easiest win in the 2022 world cup qualifying series.
Una don start again. Tunisia should have taught us a thing or two about this attitude

I was one of Onazi’s biggest fans, but he’s playing the Saudi 2nd division…Common eguavoen…Please don’t fall my hand. Let your selections be above board…PLEASE. Don’t force us back to foreign coaches.

I like Onazi and I hope he can get out of his career funk, but the SE shouldn’t be calling up someone that has been in the football wilderness for 3 years

Colin Udoh said on his Twitter space today that there are 2/3 names on the list that the coaches had nothing to do with. They came from above.

Sad and pathetic but not surprising

The YeyeMan wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 8:39 pm
maceo4 wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 8:02 pm
The YeyeMan wrote: Sat Mar 05, 2022 4:31 pm
Enugu II wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:52 pm
Sabb.

It is time we call a spade a SPADE. You are really writing about central midfielders and not midfielders in general. Let that be clear. There is a decided difference.

Are there midfielders on that list. Yes. A TON OF THEM are listed. Many are widefielders and for areason because Egu chooses to use the wide areas. Moses Simon is a wide midfielder. Chukwueze is and there are others.

Let that be clear.

Now if you choose to write on CENTRAL midfielders then perhaps you have a debate. But there is none to be had if you are writing about midfielders in general. There are a ton of them listed.
Moses Simon is a forward in the modern game. It'd be passé to consider him a midfielder.

The squad has 4 midfielders. The likes of Musa, Amoo, Chukwueze, Simon are wide forwards.
5 with Shehu…
Four.

Shehu is a back up to Aina.

Four specialist midfielders.

Four for 2 central midfield positions.

Etebo should have been on the standby list after such a long term injury...

Bonke and Onyedika...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Ugbowo wrote: Sun Mar 06, 2022 3:31 am Colin Udoh said on his Twitter space today that there are 2/3 names on the list that the coaches had nothing to do with. They came from above.

Nothing surprises anymore when it comes to our corrupt and rotten "Ogas" at the federation... May God help them if we fail to qualify for the WC, that's when the lynch mob will locate them to start giving explanations...

Sabb.

It is time we call a spade a SPADE. You are really writing about central midfielders and not midfielders in general. Let that be clear. There is a decided difference.

Are there midfielders on that list. Yes. A TON OF THEM are listed. Many are widefielders and for areason because Egu chooses to use the wide areas. Moses Simon is a wide midfielder. Chukwueze is and there are others.

Let that be clear.

Now if you choose to write on CENTRAL midfielders then perhaps you have a debate. But there is none to be had if you are writing about midfielders in general. There are a ton of them listed.
Moses Simon is a forward in the modern game. It'd be passé to consider him a midfielder.

The squad has 4 midfielders. The likes of Musa, Amoo, Chukwueze, Simon are wide forwards.
5 with Shehu…
Four.

I’m not sure I get your point, Shehu is a central midfielder for his club and utility player for SE, so is an extra midfielder when required. I agree we are thin in CMs and should try others, but I’m not sure it’s this kind of game where we should be giving trials…that’s probably the coaches mindset as well. But trust and believe if we need a midfielder and Aina is also out, it would be Awaziem stepping in for Aina and Shehu stepping into midfield. His versatility is probably why he gets selected so often.

Tobi17 wrote: Sun Mar 06, 2022 4:17 am
Ugbowo wrote: Sun Mar 06, 2022 3:31 am Colin Udoh said on his Twitter space today that there are 2/3 names on the list that the coaches had nothing to do with. They came from above.

Nothing surprises anymore when it comes to our corrupt and rotten "Ogas" at the federation... May God help them if we fail to qualify for the WC, that's when the lynch mob will locate them to start giving explanations...
Hmm that explains the likes of Onazis on the standby list, a very odd call. So sad to be using such a crucial game for this nonsense.

Now this the reason why ppl will call for a foreign coach with backbone….

Shehu, Musa(thought he retired), Ighalo, Onazi has no business with the SE….

Not with the likes of Ejuke, Awoniyi, Onuachu, Ebuehi Awaziem around….

Until this rubbish stops….the SE is going nowhere

To be honest. It starts with a strong and honest leader or head….Pinnick is a self centered egomaniac….

Won’t be surprised if we don’t qualify….

Expect more of these type of selections when we qualify for the world cup because that is where the real money will be made.
It's so sad that we cannot rise above this and we have a complacent sporting press that cannot ask serious questions. Where's their oversight responsibilities when they're all running after media officer appointments to the various national teams.

Dammy wrote: Sun Mar 06, 2022 9:32 am

Expect more of these type of selections when we qualify for the world cup because that is where the real money will be made.
It's so sad that we cannot rise above this and we have a complacent sporting press that cannot ask serious questions. Where's their oversight responsibilities when they're all running after media officer appointments to the various national teams.
The whole thing is rotten…..

The leaders, the Coaches and the journalists that should hold them accountable…..

Even the fans….ppl are talking about Northerners and co…who cares what part of NIGERIA they are from….

Also why are we hell bent on having a dribbler as a number 10? Amoo…should have waited till the friendlies that follow qualifications….if he had any chance, the pressure of a big game like this could scupper it for him.

Also, someone sensible needs to call Akpoguma and talk to him. Yes he said he won’t honor call ups post Rohr but that’s sentiments….someone needs to sit him down and convince him of the project…

A we have a pool of talent that is going to be wasted on Egu, Pinnick and co….

It is so unfortunate…..

This why our journalists are never respected.
One of the first questions they need to be asking the coaches and administrators is their thinking behind their call-ups - especially the more controversial ones.

maceo4 wrote: Sun Mar 06, 2022 4:35 am
Sabb.

Let that be clear.

5 with Shehu…
Four.

I’m not sure I get your point, Shehu is a central midfielder for his club and utility player for SE, so is an extra midfielder when required. I agree we are thin in CMs and should try others, but I’m not sure it’s this kind of game where we should be giving trials…that’s probably the coaches mindset as well. But trust and believe if we need a midfielder and Aina is also out, it would be Awaziem stepping in for Aina and Shehu stepping into midfield. His versatility is probably why he gets selected so often.
Shehu has played once at central midfield for his club this season, and about 20 times at RB.

If Ejaria was fit and in form I'd like to see him in the squad. Certainly one of the midfielders I mentioned earlier could have made the squad.

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16

© The YeyeMan 2025

Enyi wrote: Sun Mar 06, 2022 9:52 am Also, someone sensible needs to call Akpoguma and talk to him. Yes he said he won’t honor call ups post Rohr but that’s sentiments….someone needs to sit him down and convince him of the project…
Wow.
Did he actually say this? 😳

Damunk wrote: Sun Mar 06, 2022 10:32 am This why our journalists are never respected.
One of the first questions they need to be asking the coaches and administrators is their thinking behind their call-ups - especially the more controversial ones.
I guess our Journalists suddenly lost their respect.... cos, I remember such questioning during Rohr 5 years.

txj wrote: Sun Mar 06, 2022 3:33 am
Sabb.

Let that be clear.

5 with Shehu…
Four.

Four for 2 central midfield positions.

Etebo should have been on the standby list after such a long term injury...

Bonke and Onyedika...
So Eguavoen will continue his Sir Stanley Matthews experiment. Good luck to that!

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25

© The YeyeMan 2025

Dammy wrote: Sun Mar 06, 2022 9:32 am

Excuse Sir, Please what serious questions did sporting press ask Rohr or evidence of their oversight responsibilities under Rohr! Suddenly, they are now running after media officer appointments to the various national teams, they did not do it during Rohr.

There's a surprise. :roll: Pinnick is in the dressing room so he may as well coach the team at this point.

Bigpokey24 quote:

© The YeyeMan 2025

fabio wrote: Sun Mar 06, 2022 11:30 am
Damunk wrote: Sun Mar 06, 2022 10:32 am This why our journalists are never respected.
I guess our Journalists suddenly lost their respect.... cos, I remember such questioning during Rohr 5 years.
So what's your problem with the suggestion - which you confirm is not a new one?
Your point is obscure.
If they were asking these Qs during the Rohr era they were not asking enough. Becos the recurring query was mainly about Musa's inclusion - and Rohr's responses were not satisfactory.
KIZONZO

Post by KIZONZO »

What channel is showing the CAF World Cup qualifying playoffs in the US? The games while listed on the ESPN website doesn't show they will broadcast it.
You never realize what you have till you lose it.

Enyi wrote: Sun Mar 06, 2022 9:27 am Now this the reason why ppl will call for a foreign coach with backbone….

Shehu, Musa(thought he retired), Ighalo, Onazi has no business with the SE….

Not with the likes of Ejuke, Awoniyi, Onuachu, Ebuehi Awaziem around….

Until this rubbish stops….the SE is going nowhere

To be honest. It starts with a strong and honest leader or head….Pinnick is a self centered egomaniac….

Won’t be surprised if we don’t qualify….
They were even bragging about imposing Musa on our last FC so I doubt that’s the answer. Issue is the NFF period.

Someone said the comtunous invitation of Musa etc had little to do with his supposed "commitment and passion" which were never in doubt, BUT it's clear the handprints of quota system politics and man-know-man are the main reasons we won't stop seeing the likes of Musa anytime soon... Even more decorated players like Mikel who did far more for Nigeria weren't given such preferential treatment.

Damunk wrote: Sun Mar 06, 2022 12:35 pm
fabio wrote: Sun Mar 06, 2022 11:30 am
So what's your problem with the suggestion - which you confirm is not a new one?
Your point is obscure.
If they were asking these Qs during the Rohr era they were not asking enough. Becos the recurring query was mainly about Musa's inclusion - and Rohr's responses were not satisfactory.
You get time, there are times the guy needs to be ignored because he's not making any sense. He must come up with a response no matter how it comes across!
sabb

Post by sabb »

sabb wrote: Fri Mar 04, 2022 5:43 pm 8 defenders 9 forwards and 4 midfielders wow. Amoo is not a midfielder, more like a forward ala Moses
as usual we ignore midfield and flight balls to strikers until we get found out and confusion starts
all the best to the SE, hoping they find a way to qualify for the big dance
Sabb.

Let that be clear.

If you think the FW are midfielders then nothing more to say, all those forward guys can deputise as strikers and have at some point be it for club or country, their game play shows they are FW rather than midfielders and they play in the final 3rd closer to the strikers rather than in the middle
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli